We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing city beach - expensive Transtur bus

Within 30 min at some of the nicest „city“ beaches by bus from Parque Central in Havana. Very busy... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2024
Onthewalkway
,
Bangkok
Sunday beach time with the locals

We went to Playa Santa Maria del Mar which is very popular among locals. We purposely picked a... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2023
John E
Read all 2,467 reviews
  
Reviews (2,467)
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveler rating
1,273
826
257
61
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,273
826
257
61
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach santa maria closest beach tourist bus havana city taxi locals varadero pesos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2017

The water was warm and clear and beautiful. On a hot Havana day, it was the perfect escape! There are food and drink vendors in the parking area but I would recommend bringing your own picnic lunch if you have the ability. We were able to rent an umbrella for 5CUC and chairs for 2CUC each. Again I would say if you have your own, bring them

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank KathleenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

There are many beaches but I prefer Guanabo because there are more choices for food and drink as well as banks and ATMs.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Water was warm and beautiful. Locals very friendly. Beach chairs and umbrellas available at a reasonable price for the day. 6 CUC. Only problem I had was no place to change. However I vendor was kind enough to take us to a shack to change.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank drpod100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

the waters was very clean and warm. the water was not aggressive. I went to a resort in varadero. very good staff

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We chose Playas de Este simply because it was closest to Havana where we were staying. We didn't want to spend most of our time in a cab. Once we got there, everyone was (as usual) friendly and helpful. Renting two chairs and an umbrella for the day was 6 CUC! The Pina colada we ordered was hands down the best drink, though the actual coconut cut open and filled with rum in front of you was a perfect mood setter. The water, though not crystal clear and had a lot of up and down ridges and the occasional rock to watch out for, was the perfect temperature and temperament. We even had a semi-passing lightning storm that we waited out under our umbrella watching plenty of people not get out....locals perhaps? once the storm was over it was back to beautiful beach-y goodness :)

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews