We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Havana

Ranked #1 of 228 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bohemian, rhythmically Latin, certainly picturesque and, above all, charming.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Old Havana is a must, absolutely unique with stunning buildings which, although many in need of repair and maintenance, are fascinating to look at. Some quite good restaurants and a great atmosphere. Not to be missed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0nathan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,607
    3,768
    714
    129
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“so much to see..so little time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I am so glad that I spent Christmas in Havana; what an amazing place. The architecture is stunning, yet so sad that a lot of buildings have fallen down. Be sure to walk down the Prado from the top to the Capitolio Nacional and around the Plaza de la Catedral. Parque Central is also interesting; I had my Moon Handbook to guide me and I recommend getting one. And ,yes, there are many old cars!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonne306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spend 4 days in Havana and did lots of walking and exploring. Lots of great architecture and side streets with plenty of character. We even explored Havana's Chinatown which is well worth the trip. It is located in the heart of downtown. We had a wonderful Chinese lunch as well at the Lotus Flower Restaurant. We could have spent a week exploring this city!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Havana Vieja is all about the early civil development of Cuba. Worth taking a historical tour. We stayed in this quarter in a casa particular which gave us a good feel for the domestic life which can be difficult but tolerable. Very bustling during the day. Music pours out of the bars during the day and in some of the restaurants in the evening. Havana Vieja is undergoing a historical renewal so many of the streets are under serious upheaval . Check out all the districts. Be wary of a few 'friendly' Cubans who start out very sincerely and only want to hit you up for money. Otherwise people are very friendly. It is very safe to explore.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SIDSKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Walk around the streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The architecture is brilliant. Sit on a bench on the Prado and watch the locals sell or buy homes. Bring your camera it is a photographer's paradise.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_S18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Havana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Old Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing