We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting sight!

I learned a lot about American author, Ernest Hemingway, as we visited his Havana residence. It is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Linda M
,
West Palm Beach, Florida
A beautiful getaway from the city

The house and gardens are amazing. Any student of Hemingway must make the trip out to his home... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
tbacus
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 1,788 reviews
  
Reviews (1,788)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
678
397
104
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
397
104
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doors and windows old man and the sea his life hunting trophies bathroom wall animal heads pet cemetery ava gardner sugar cane cuban home worth the trip take pictures on display cuban government central havana walk around old havana
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This gives an interesting insight to Hemingway's life in Cuba, with some original rooms with original photos etc. But, in typical Cuban fashion it is not maintained well and you are not allowed in to the master bedroom or kitchen. Worth half an hour but not much more.

Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I learned a lot about American author, Ernest Hemingway, as we visited his Havana residence. It is only possible to look from outside into the residence but well worth a stop.

Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The house and gardens are amazing. Any student of Hemingway must make the trip out to his home. Make sure to walk down to the tennis court and check out his old boat on display there.

Thank tbacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only negative thing I can say is that we could not go in, reason being is at some point someone stole a book from there, so now nobody goes in, you can only look through the windows. Otherwise, Breathtaking.. I learned so much more about Hemmingway. Beautiful, Relaxing

Thank Ambassador84442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were surprised to find out that you can't actually go into the house, but all the windows are open so that you can see the rooms as they were when Hemingway lived there. In most areas of the house you can find a worker that will go into the house and take closer pictures (for a few coins). There is also an original Picasso (looks to be some type of ceramic relief) hanging in one of the rooms. And in the back of the property is the pool and his boat. Also the mojitos outside the gift shop are wonderful. Worth the visit.

Thank 746NatalieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Havana as part of a 5-day cruise on Majesty of the Seas. My husband did his Master's thesis on Hemingway so our 'must see' attractions were Hemingway-related.

After meeting our guide at 9 a.m., we drove about 20 minute to Finca Vieja. The house opens at 10:00 a.m. so we had time to do some souvenir shopping nearby. Plan to arrive early to avoid the large tour buses. We paid 5 CUC for our self-guided tour. We lucked out on the weather on a beautiful sunny day. The house is closed if it is raining since you must look into the house from the exterior windows. The former garage and guest house are adjacent to the home. Restrooms are available. Have small coins available for the attendant.

We were fascinated by the sheer volume of books in every room and mounted hunting game trophies, each with its own story. Memorabilia is everywhere including several large posters of bullfighters who Hemingway knew. The house is airy and welcoming. You can imagine how Papa loved to entertain and welcome every guest when he rang the bell to announce guests' arrival.

The views of Havana from the writing tower are amazing: Mary's gift to ensure a place of solitude. We could imagine him swimming in the huge pool after a morning of writing and prior to lunch, nap and a visit downtown to La Floridita or Hotel Ambos Mundos.

It was interesting to see the burial markers for his dogs but the burial places of the cats was kept a secret. We could not approach the Pilar since the area was under renovation but we could take pictures.

Of special note is the walkway between the trees Hemingway constructed for workers to get access to the property. Also notable is the skin rug he stood on to channel energy for writing. Hemingway stood as he wrote his manuscripts in longhand to be typed by secretaries on a typewriter.

The estate is so peaceful and green as you walk through the gates and up the driveway. It is easy to see why Finca Vieja (Lookout Farm) was a sanctuary for Hemingway. Don't miss it.

4  Thank MarnetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hemingway had a very large estate in Havana. We visited the home, saw his typewriter & best of all the famous beloved Pilar, his boat.
The property was lovely & the views magnificent.

Thank conm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

You simply must go! This is where Hemingway entertained friends [and maybe enemies]! Cool breezes, panoramic views - WOW!! The pool, he watch tower, the house!!

Thank S4025ANdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Fairly interesting with good views but you can only walk around the outside of the house & look trough the windows for photographs and to get an idea of how he lived.

Thank Jules1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This museum is a bit of a trek out of Havana. We visited as part of Hemingway's Havana on a RC Cruise excursion. The guide was charming, but the group was annoying and we wished we'd hired a private tour guide. His residence in Key West was better preserved, but it was still amazing to see his Cuban residence, even if you just peek in the windows. It's worth seeing if you love Hemingway. There isn't an extensive gift shop and bookstore like in Key West, either. However, there is a small bar/restaurant which had nice live music and c very good espresso.

Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews