We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grand old days”

Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia
Ranked #14 of 241 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the Finca Vigia, this ghost-white Spanish-colonial home was where Papa penned some of his greatest novels.
Banksia Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The grand old days”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wasn't planning on going but we ended up here. Fantastic. You could just imagine the times they had here. The boat was as magnificent as the house. Well worth going out to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thehorrorthehorror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    523
    142
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We rented a classic convertible and headed down the highway to Hemmingway's place.
Greatly preserved, as if the man still lived there.
The staff on site are very knowledgeable and take pride in their role.
On your way back, make sure you stop for a drink at the Terraza restaurant. You get a glimpse of where Hemmingway used to moor his fishing boat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Take a look inside!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Literally, you look into the home from doorways and windows but that is good enough to get a feel for Hemingway and some of his bizarre habits. On a shelf is a bat in a bottle, in the bathroom he keeps daily count of his weight. Check out his boat and see the chair he fished from, he was one big man.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marynaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A must see for Hemingway fans”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hemingway's retreat of twenty years is located about 20-25 minutes south of Havana on a hilltop with a great view of Havana. Initially, I was disappointed to learn that you could not enter the home, but just look into the doors and windows. However, this is really a plus, since you can look in and take pictures of the rooms with no one in the way. The house is just like he left it over 50 years ago. You can climb the tower to see a study and have an attendant take a picture of his typewriter (for a tip). Nearby is his pool (empty) and his boat Pilar. They are currently reconstructing the old garage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“ONLY if you have extra time...”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not what I was expecting...

Hemingway has so much history in Cuba that one would think that the tour would be more personable. We were not allowed inside the home, we had no option but to glimpse here and there through the windows. Not what I call a great experience but nonetheless Hemingway is Hemingway, I am glad we made it!

Don't expect a whole lot ...the grounds were pretty cool to see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing