We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B&B Central Havana(Havana)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
CasavanaCuba(Havana)
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Melia Habana(Havana)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveler rating
138
346
240
106
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
346
240
106
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsernest hemingwayrooftop barsmall museumotis elevatorold havanaplaying the pianofifth floorpineappleflights of stairscalle obispohigh ceilingshistoric hotelhabana viejamojitotypewriterhistorymemorabilia
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 930 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017

There is a bit of a melancholic atmosphere reigning with the ageing paino player in the lobby. However, once you reach the roof top terrace on the antique elevator you will have a great view and might be lucky to actually see one of the big cruise ships passing through the narrow passage to the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ambos Mundos, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your opinion. It is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed your stay in the Hotel. Your opinions will be taken into account, because we want our customers to feel satisfied with our services. We hope you return soon.

Have a nice day.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

The rooftop bar has an amazing view! The drinks were really good but inexpensive. The worse part came while I was in the restroom. My server was in there as well and did not wash her hands after using the restroom. Needless to say, I will probably not go back. I understand the cultural differences. I also understand that this could happen anywhere, but seeing it with my own eyes was a bit much for me.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank PittPanther93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ambos Mundos, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your opinion. We are very sorry for these inconveniences. Your opinions will be taken into account, because we want our customers to feel satisfied with our services. We hope you visit us again, because it is our desire to change your opinion about the hotel.
Your satisfaction is our priority.

Have a nice day.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Great rooftop bar and views- a beautiful place to visit but do not recommend staying here. The rooms very small and dark, but clean. There is one old small elevator with a lift operator and there are hordes of tourists coming to see Hemingway's Room (he wrote 3 books from here) and visit the rooftop, which means long lines to get to/from your room and stairs are steep and crowded. Hotel is also not accessible by car as it's in the heart of old town so you must drag suitcases through cobblestone square - about 2 city blocks - not too bad because a great location but just a heads up. The worst part for us was NO WATER. We had water the first morning when we arrived, returned that night to no water. When we called they assured us it would be back on in morning. That morning still no water so we walked around all day and returned around 5pm. We asked at front desk if it was on yet, they said yes of course but in fact it was not on. Thank goodness our tour guide was there to help - we moved to a new hotel. The staff was not very friendly about water issue either - we were trying to be understanding first morning and said as long as hot coffee we could be fine for awhile. They said of course it will be hot then we got to roof where they served very cold coffee. It is quite expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Interior rooms very dark but rooms facing square loud
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ambos Mundos, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your opinion. We are very sorry for these inconveniences. Your opinions will be taken into account, because we want our customers to feel satisfied with our services. We hope you visit us again, because it is our desire to change your opinion about the hotel.
Your satisfaction is our priority.

Have a nice day.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

This was our third visit to Cuba and our second stay in Havana. We have had mojitos in the terrace bar here before so we thought it might be a good place to stay when we went with friends earlier this month.
As the hotel is in the old town and there is no bus / taxi access we had to drag our cases along cobbled streets to get to the hotel. About 500 meters. After a 10 hour flight and a couple of hours waiting for all the passengers to get on to the bus from the airport we were not in the best of moods when we arrived. Shame our tour operator never made this clear - not a fault of the hotel.
The hotel is on Obispo, so is very well located for walking trips around the city. Room was fine - bit dated, but it did have the feel of an old colonial building. We really enjoyed our stay. Buffet breakfast in the morning was good.
The only two problems - first, as there are lots of works underway, the hotel was running out of water some nights, flushing toilets etc.. The tanks were re-filled by 6.30 in the morning. Maybe because the hotel was full while we were there we were aware of the water running out. Second problem is that it fills with tourists going to the terrace bar.
Overall, we were glad we stayed there - and I said in my title - a bit quirky.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ambos Mundos, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your opinion. It is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed your stay in the Hotel. Your opinions will be taken into account, because we want our customers to feel satisfied with our services. We hope you return soon.

Have a nice day.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

While we did not stay at this hotel, we did visit the roof top bar twice during our week long stay in Cuba. We enjoyed the fantastic views and amazing Pina Coladas. Served in Coconut Shells, and only $5 CUC, they were the best that we found in the city!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabel G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ambos Mundos, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your opinion. It is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed your stay in the Hotel. We hope you return soon.

Have a nice day.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews