We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical clean hotel but too old, much refurbishment is needed”
Review of Hotel Ambos Mundos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a very charming historical hotel. Good for a visit to the hotel lobby, check out the Hemingway's room and a drink at the hotel bar or roof top terrace (when it is open, currently it is closed for some repair). Avoid staying here for all causes. I stayed here for 3 nights in mid of Sept 2013. 1st night everything was fine. 2nd night, the hot shower was not working because apparently, the construction worker at the roof top accidentally broke the hot water pipe. Although much promise was given that the hot water will be restored within 1 day but until the day I checked out, there was still no hot shower! And the air conditioner started to break down after the 2nd night. The room is clean but everything looks old. Towel, tiles in the bathroom, stain on the sheets. There was even water leaking into my room on my last night which I suspect was due to the construction work. Bellboy or doormen were friendly but the front desk staff was not very friendly or helpful. What they cared is about making money from the tourists! The free breakfast was good. Something for a consolation for the money you paid. You can get a much better deal at local homestay (Casa de Particulares) in Old Havana than staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 861 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went with a tour party of 15. My twin room smelt musty and one pillow had a large boot print on it, I would have preferred the room maids to have spent more time cleaning rather than writing elaborate notes wishing me well for my stay. The work that is being undertaken on the roof terrace and the alleged room in which Hemingway stayed often started at 5am. I was fortunate as others in my group had water pouring into their room, filthy sheets and only cold water showers. Location is in the centre of old Havana, but women should not venture out alone unless you want constant hassle. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair; little to excite the palate and every day one had to ask for spoons to be made available. This hotel has rested for too long on the fact that Hemingway stayed there, and needs serious updating and it is unlikely to tempt one for a return visit

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed two nights in august. the location absolutely cannot be beat. the roof deck was unfortunately closed for repairs. the staff were pleasant and helpful if you needed them. they speak english, but of course brush up and try to use all the espanol you can muster. breakfast is included. its sad, but ok, so you wont starve. the towels and linen were very old and worn, but clean. note this hotel, like many in cuba (all?), is run by habaguanex, the corrupt gov agency, so you might think twice about that issue. if you can arrange to stay in a home in old habana it would more directly support the people, or so i heard. there is an nice outdoor restaurant we liked right on the malecon nearby, its the one furthest from plaza de armas. there are cabs at the corner of that square for the airport or to easily arrange a visit to hemingway's la finca vigia, cojimar or other sites.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meesalikeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

For those that want to visit a little of history, stop at this hotel and visit one of the rooms that Hemmingway stayed in during his satay in Havana. It is presently looking at the time of his drinking and has a few artifacts relating to his boat, daiquiri drinking and some writing. There is a small charge to view the room but the lady who was looking after visitors there was very knowledgeable and helpful. We did not have time to spend travelling to his house whch we will visit next time in cuba but this provided a small insight into Hemmingway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The best of this Hotel ist the roof terrace, which right now is under construction, so till End Of November 2013 not worth to check in this Hotel. Its very much visited by large group of tourists, due to the the room that was habited by Ernest Hemingway, but nothing really special.
Rather recoemnd other Hotels in Old Habana such as Santa Isabel or Saratoga.

Room Tip: Upstairs, in the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our two stays here and loved the huge foyer and bar, dripping with atmosphere, its open windows letting in the light, music and bustle of Havana's streets. Our room wasn't great and the water never hot but the piano player was fun, the bar comfortable and the people- watching fantastic. Don't expect western comfort and luxury - do soak up the place and its history, including Hemingway's room (wonder if his shower worked, not that he'd have complained about cold water ...).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is not worth you money. Our first room here smelled of mold, and the air-condition rained in the bathroom. We were then moved to a smaller room with no window, this room did not smell. But the ac in here also leaked. The bedlinen did not look clean. And I was glad we only had to stay there for one night.
The whole place is in need of a renovation. The only thing that sells this place is the fact that Hemingway has stayed here.

Go there for a drink, but don't stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-I_OSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 80 in Havana
763 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#19 of 80 in Havana
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
7.4 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambos Mundos

Address: Calle Obispo No 153, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $187 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambos Mundos 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Gaviota Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambos Mundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambos Mundos Hotel
Ambos Mundos Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing