We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel - superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Santa Isabel
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Old fashion building and decoration in a very good condition with exceptional staff. Just feel yourself in the 30's.
The location is superb, everitying at a walking distance.
Rooms very large with view on the square, with minibar and TV showing many foreign TV channels.,
Bathrooms modern with all the accessories of a 5star hotel.
Breakfast is also very nice but very slow in serving, you should consider 1hr for finishing breakfast.
Evening dinner, still very slow service and not one of the best food you can get in Havana, it would be preferrable to have dinner out, it's much better.
Generally, I have been very happy in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasselmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    167
    65
    44
    33
See reviews for
61
204
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We walked everywhere in the old city as Santa Isobel is so perfectly placed in Plaza Armas. The hotel provides a genuine experience of old Havana and is very comfortable at the same time. The staff were extremely helpful with all our queries including exchanging money at a very reasonable rate. It's great to be there on a Sunday as many people stroll around the square for the book fair and there is plenty of music and street theatre. You can stroll with the people or watch from the hotel balcony. Try and get a balcony room as they are gorgeous and the view from the roof is magnificent also.

Room Tip: A balcony room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caymancaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent our last night in Havana at the Hotel Santa Isabel and loved our stay at this boutiwue hotel. At the start of our trip, we had stayed at the Hotel Mercure Sevilla for 3 nights - the Santa Isabel was so much more luxurious and well run in comparison. Got a great rate on the internet and it was quite reasonable. The hotel is a beautiful old building overlooking the Plaza and is stunning inside and out. The rooms are enormous, clean and full of antique furniture and old world charm, Best bathroom in Cuba - again with antique fittings - in great condition and an amazing shower. Our room opened up through french doors onto a private terrace area overlooking the plaza - it was stunning. The location is fabulous - in the heart of Havana Vieja - it is easy to get around on foot, and there are loads of restaurants, bars and sights nearby. The staff here were very welcoming and friendly explaining how everything works and showing us around the hotel and room. Breakfast is served outside on the groundfloor on a balcony overlooking the Plaza - it is such a beautiful outlook and the food was good. Would highly recommend the Santa Isabel and would definately stay here if coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NgocHa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crafers, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great hotel in an excellent location in Old Havana. Opposite the Plaza de Armas so no cars out the front so quiet and yet 1 minute away from the waterfront. On the opposite side of the Plaza is the walking street with all the bars, resturants and music, misic, music. Large rooms with all the facilities inc free mini bar (soft drinks only) No wifi though Breakfast outside on the terrace. Great place to stay but a bit expensive. If looking for something a bit cheaper try their sister property the Hotel Florida just up the road.

Room Tip: Book in advance as all hotels in Havana fill up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel while taking a Cuba Education Tour. It was at the final leg of our journey and it was a true gem! The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is well designed with a very Cuban feel to it. We had 2 rooms and they were both exceptionally clean, cool AC, and well designed. My kids really lucked out, however, because they were upgraded to an amazing 2 room suite! It was a corner room with 2 large balconies overlooking the park. When they opened the doors to the balcony, musicians would run up to serenade them. It was very sweet. When we left very early to go to the airport (before restaurant opened) they prepared beverages and breakfast for us at the bar. The rooftop restaurant/bar has stunning views of the Malecon, Fort and Havana. I would definitely stay her again! Jimmy Carter has stayed here in the past, and I can understand why!

Room Tip: Suite 214 is pretty sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanche&milver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

It resides in the old colonial heart of Havanna, at the end of the O'Reilly street; there remain a lot of small shops and a market, restaurants etc. It's always busy in whole Cuba also here, a lot of people stay at the street. It's safe and it feels safe. It's strange, we'd never seen/felt a culture like this one. There's a lot of poverty; but people enjoy the small things of life, such as dancing in the street when they hear Salsa music. They aren't anoying, they are friendly. And there's a lot of music, after a few weeks Cuba you can't stand the Buena Vista Social Club songs anymore... but's it's nice. The Santa Isabel hotel is nice, the breakfast is choosable a la carte and is good. It's a luxury to stay in this hotel, that's for sure. It's not noisy, it's nice restored. It has a nice roof with views over the city. There's one minor and honestly it's a plus too; you don't have mosquitoes, that's because of the awfull smell of the toxic... it's everywhere in Cuba.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBraakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights before our return to the UK. The building isi very historic and was originally a palace. We had a junior suite overlooking the Square. It was a fantastic location as there was no traffic but we could watch the booksellers setting up their stalls in the morning and the street entertainers from our balcony. There was fabulous stained glass panel above the shutters and the sun streamed through into our room in the morning. It was magical. The room was furnished with some attractive antique furniture and also had a seating area. The bathroom was also antique but functional. There was a slight leak from under the sink which flooded the floor a bit. The toilet cistern also let out a disturbing noise when refilling - but it was actually part of its charm, It was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The reception and lounge areas of the hotel were very comfortable and attractive. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Like many old hotels in Havana, there was a lovely internal courtyard with a bar, tables and chairs and settees. It was open to the sky, had loads of plants and was very attractive. However, at some times during the day there seemed to be a smell of drains which I found unpleasant. We used the rooftop terrace which had a small bar and restaurant and the views were fantastic. It was lovely to sit there with a drink in the evening. Breakfast was served on the ground floor on the edge of the Square - a lovely location but the breakfast itself and the service were disappointing. We would stay at this hotel again as it was charming and located in the most beautiful part of Havana with many restaurants only 75 yards away. However, we would probably skip breakfast. If you want 5 star modern then choose the Parque Central where we also spent two nights. However, we liked the antiquated charm of this hotel which seemed to suit the overall ambience of Havana.

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite on the first floor overlooking the Square - ours was 206. It has shutters and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
6.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Property: Hotel Santa Isabel
Address: Calle Baratillo 9, entre Obispo y Narciso Lopez | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Havana
Santa Isabel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing