We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to see again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Inverurie Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good to see again”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel three previous times we found that nothing had changed, still like living in a time warp which is what we hoped for. We had a room on the third floor, a large room with a good view. Clean except for the carpets which were stained and in need of a clean as was the case with the corridor lots of water stains with a damp smell.
The hotel although not changed gives you the feeling that it is fast becoming a transit hotel catering for the one night stoppers.
The staff are great we found the concierge extremely helpful, not keen on the maids that follow you to your room just to remind me it is their day off when you leave this has happened on all our stays (you will get your tip!!!!).

The small bar that is tucked away on the side does the best mojito's in the hotel and has an wonderful 30's feel to it.

Would we go back again, yes we would just to walk down to look at the sea and people watch.

One tip to watch. Check the contents of you fridge mini bar against the inventory, we placed our own bottles of water in to cool upon leaving the hotel we were asked to pay for our own water, then write and sign a letter to say we had not used theirs. As we stayed there at the start and end of holiday this happened both times. I do not know if this is a scam or has happened to other guests but we refused to pay for what we did not use. Some other guests told us they just pay as can not be bothered to argue, just beware of this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks for sharing your comments about your third stay at the Hotel Nacional de Cuba, you have been faithful to our Hotel, thank you very much.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed in the Hall of Fame the Best mojito.
The average stay at the hotel is about 3 days and the Hotel has been busy over the first 4 months of the year.
In the Minibar inside de room we offer bottled water, if you keep there another bottled water equal maybe the housekeeper can be confused. However, you could see that during the check out the drawback is solved.

We expect to receive you in the Hotel again.

Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    2,148
    996
    360
    194
See reviews for
771
2,427
326
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

First experience of Havana and this hotel but what a wow. I can see why all the great celebrities have stayed in this hotel. Stayed in a suite which was amazing with an amazing balcony and views. My girls and I felt like princess's. only stayed overnight but wished it had been longer, nothing was too much bother. Was good to have wifi which was very strong and good value for money. Breakfast in the money was fantastic with lots of choice from omelettes, bacon bread, pastries, cereal and fruit and all at a high standard. Staff were helpful and polite and made our short stay so nice.
It amazed me walking outside this splendour to a large city struggling with derelict and rundown areas

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyWaverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments on stay in the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.
Alejo Carpentier, a prominent Cuban writer, baptized the Hotel as Enchanted Castle, there live the princesses . Is Good to know that you and your daughters traveled through time and enjoyed the friendly staff and our services.

We hope you and your family return to the hotel during your next trip to Havana.

Best Regards,
Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I spent here only 2 nights ,but during my stay at Havana I visited it for many times,coming to drink coffe or enjoy at sea view at theirs wonderful garden,Stuff which works at bar is not the best,they are very slow and it is normal to wait for drink 30 minutes or more which is disaster for 5 star hotel.This doesnt happened one time,this happened almost always when I was there( 15-20 times).Beside that they are arrogant and sometimes happened that they did not give you back money refund,acting they forget it.I was very dissapointed with this,it is unbeliveable.Hotel facilities are great ,it is amazing building,I was very happy with cleanless and food.Swimming pool is also very nice,you do not need to stay inside hotel to use it,I cant remember the price of entrance ,something like 10-15 cuc ,but with meal included in the price.There is Internet corner inside hotel with slow Internet speed but it is better then Wi-Fi.Do not buy Wi-Fi card valid for 24 hour inside hotel!!!!I think it was about 20 cuc but I cant get connection with my tablet in that 24 hours ,I tried it several times and I was crazy. Cabaret Parisien inside hotel you must visit ,like Cubans said it is best cabaret after Tropicana with great dancers,book on time to have better table,most of them you need to share with another people.Any way this hotel has his soul,I like to visit it always,it is part of Cuban history and one of my my favourite places in Habana.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croato_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Havana
We are glad that you enjoyed the garden and the view from there, the story, the spectacle of the Cabaret Parisien and the pool.
Sorry for the inconvenience occurred, each will be analyzed immediately with the staff..
We hope to welcome you again when you make your next trip to Cuba. We wait for you in your favorite place in Havana.

Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

March 31 - April 01 2014, one night. Superb room with views of the Malecon, the sea, and the castle and lighthouse in the distance. 24-hour cafeteria downstairs was not crowded and a great place for a late-night snack. Internet expensive but wi-fi worked in the room and best speed of my entire Cuba trip (9 days). Iconic, historic building... don't miss the galleries downstairs. Nice comfortable shower with good water pressure (somewhat of a rarity in Cuba). Currency exchange rate for guests is better than street rate. Breakfast a bit crowded with long queues but still tolerable.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view room if you like a fresh breeze and a dramatic backdrop to your stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldperksForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest.

Thanks for sharing your positive comments about the Hotel Nacional de Cuba through Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed the room, architecture, the views and Cafeteria. We have made ​​significant improvements in the internet which has allowed greater speed .
We hope to welcome you in the Hotel again when you make your next trip to La Habana.
Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm cleveland uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel like many others in Cuba could do with some work done on the building. Our suite ( Jean Paul Satre) was very nice until a storm proved that the windows leaked badly. We moved to another that was dry. Having had an accident on our tour of the island it was fantastic to have an in house doctor and nurse. The medical care was superb. Food was excellent and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If the room has a slightly damp smell move to another
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviaann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest.

Thanks for sharing with the community of Trip Advisor, your comments about your stay at the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.
Good to know that you felt satisfied with the staff and excellent medical care at the office of the Hotel, we will give your opinion to the staff of Health.
We hope to welcome you again when you come back to havana.
Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My first experience of Cuba. I was quite shocked on the drive from the airport to Havana, whilst I knew that the buildings probably hadn't changed much since the fifties, I hadn't expected the buildings to be in such a poor condition, however the Hotel Nacional stood out as retaining the splendour and glamour of that time, whilst having been maintained to a good standard. Our room was clean and more spacious than I had anticipated, with the addition of some modern facilities in keeping with its history and decor. I was pleasantly surprised for example, by the flat screen TV, showing a variety of channels - being a huge golf nut I was delighted to be able to keep in touch with the US Masters!
We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday and she was delighted with the bottle of champagnes that the hotel had left in our room, we usually spend her birthday whilst on holiday, normally in top quality hotels around the world and this was the first time that any hotel had made such a gesture. What great service, attention to detail and thoughtfulness!
The hotel simply oozed history, the staff were friendly yet dignified and respectful, eager to please and professional. Sipping a mojito in the garden overlooking the sea was truly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCardiff_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel.
The Hotel Nacional de Cuba is a historic hotel, is a living museum.
Thank you for choosing to celebrate the 50th birthday of his wife, we're glad you surprised with the detail in the room and you enjoyed your stay.
On behalf of the staff thank you very much, congratulations and we hope you and your wife come back to the hotel.

Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hotel was very good but you do pay for what you get, we stayed in an executive room on the 6th floor room 613, which has sea and terrace views, with two 3/4 beds.

On the 6th floor you have your own services with money change and breakfast on the 6th floor. Dinner is buffet style in the basement, chicken, pork and a fish is the main meat every night.

You can eat in the main dinning room at a cost of 25 CUC (Cuban Convertibles) about £17 for a three course meal. Wine is expensive in Cuba.

Pleased with what we got for our money but the food is basic and make sure you take snacks with you like crisps, peanuts and biscuits etc.

On the down side we paid extra with Virgin Holidays for an American style car for our airport transfer, we had a new Audi 4 series! Nice but no what we planned for our 35th wedding anniversary.

The Hotel overlooking the pool had a work cradle which was for the workmen blasting the paint of the wall, this was all day while we were around the pool, not nice. The next day they were painting plus shouting down to ground level, we did not go to the poolside again after that.

Overall a very good hotel but out side the centre of Havana which can be a good thing. 5 Cuban Convertibles ( £3.50) by taxi plus tip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay on the 6th floor of the Hotel Nacional de Cuba (Executive Floor) during your stay in the Hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience we caused you during the restoration of the facade of the Hotel, we will take action.
Happy Wedding Anniversary! We hope you to return to the hotel during your next trip to Havana.

Best Regards,

Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Director-General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,300 reviews
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,606 reviews
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
991 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing