We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic start to a great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Havana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to a great trip”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Taxi from the airport 25 CUC, rooms were large and housekeeping eventually got the kids shower to work properly.
Dinner under the moon in the garden restaurant - just what we needed after 10 hungry hours on Virgin Atlantic. The barman kindly made cocktails and explained the different qualities of rum, we listened to the band outside - perfect start to a great stay.
Excellent breakfast on 6th floor in the morning: I've never seen such choice.
And the coffee were okay!

Room Tip: Get a view of the Malecon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVE2EAT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    2,110
    983
    356
    193
See reviews for
750
2,399
323
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are better and more modern places to stay but screw them. You have to stay even for a couple of nights to get a glimpse of the old glory, wealth, and history of Havana.

The location is prime, the staff is friendly, even the basic rooms are big, and very clean with most of the amenities, the pool(s) are great, the all night bar behind the lobby fantastic for a cigar and some rum, and its a general must stay.

History is present around you, there are numerous suits named after famous people of the 1920s and onwards era, and you get a very nice, cosy and nostalgic feeling.

2-3 nights max is fine but make sure you stay there even for a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kleisthenis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, went to Cienfuegos for 2 nights, then back to Hotel Nacional for 4 more nights. Ended up in the same room. The hotel itself is a beautiful, stately place. History in abundance. The murals and memorabilia highlight the public areas of the hotel. Rooms are large and clean. Food is average, the drinks great and plentiful. Sitting outside, listening to the band at night with a cigar and mojito is quintessential Havana. Things, i.e. services, do move at their own pace, usually not yours, especially the money exchange. Avoid the bank if you can, its slower than the hotel. The Nacional is a busy place, but, you must stay here at least a couple of nights if ever in Havana. The architecture and decor are not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or ocean are the best. The front of the hotel can get busy/noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h20act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hotel Nacional de Cuba is a great location for any trip to Cuba. History is all around you whether it's the tunnels used during the Cuban missile crisis or the rooms where Royalty, the rich and famous or the mafia stayed.

It's a great location just off the seafront with fantastic views over the bay. You can walk into the centre of Havana (c30mins) or take one of the many cabs always available.

The food in the hotel is good, great choice at breakfast and surprisingly there is little difference between hotel prices and local restaurants.

It's always busy but the rooms are a good size and kept spotlessly clean - just remember to leave the daily tip for your maid. It is a destination spot with regular tours coming in to look around. If you're a fan of salsa there's music and dancing most nights. If you get the chance take one of the free tours the hotel runs - it's well worth it to get an insider view of the past 50 years of history.

Definitely one of the best places to stay in Havana.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

the building looks amazing from the outside but closer look reveals that the standard is rather "Cuban". large rooms, functional but not comfy. pool area ok, nice view of the sea and Malecon. food is a disaster as pretty much everywhere in Cuba. service also rather "Cuban". I recommend max 2-3 nights and then off to some other Carribean destination

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridtjofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Havana two different times during our stay. The first time we stayed our room was nicer than our second stay. The first room had a spacious bathroom but the room was dated. We like more modern hotel rooms but understand the circumstances.
The grounds outside of the hotel is lovely. There are many places to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. There are two swimming pools and many places to sit and listen to musica.
This is a very busy hotel and it has a lot of movement. We enjoyed our stay and did walk around the area. We felt safe and was soaking up Cuba.
We did eat at the restaurant and the food was just average. There are so many places to eat with absolutely delicious food for very reasonable prices. So don't be afraid to explore.
There is a place to exchange money at the hotel. It was very convenient. It was also nice that we did not need a converter for our electronics.
Now, the terrible, their internet is almost non-existent. You must buy an internet card although they do have computers you can pay to use. Many locals come to the hotel and buy the internet cards. Therefore the business center is always crowded. Since there are so many people on the internet the connection is so slowwwwww. It kicks you off and you eventually give up.
Besides that we had a good stay and loved Cuba.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydtayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 3 Nights at the Hotel Nacional De Cuba in December. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Havana. The rooms are large and clean, the views are amazing, the pools were great and the drinks were not too expensive. The band's playing in the evening provided a great backdrop to a relaxed cigar or mojito and the little pictures of famous guests outside of the rooms they had stayed in was also a nice touch. The only downside to this hotel is its distance from Havana Vieja, though taxis aren't overly expensive and the walk down the Malecon is also quite pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing