We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel Nacional de Cuba is like stepping back in time.....a classic hotel from the 1930's to 1959. A beautiful building situated on a manicured garden overlooking the ocean yet located in the center of Havana. Large, cool lobby which is a blessing in Cuba's hot humid weather. Rooms are large but could use some refurbishing. Some people complained about the showers in their rooms (water from showers overflowed onto floor). Swimming pools. The buffet-style breakfast was great. If one is looking for a five-star spa hotel, they will be disappointed in this hotel. However, if one loves historical, well-preserved buildings, this place is the place for them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,638)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nacional de Cuba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,040 - 2,046 of 5,638 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved the National. If you go with the right attitude (wanting to experience a piece of history), then you should too. A beautiful hotel- the lobby is stunning, grounds beautiful, and the tour fascinating: do not miss out on the free tour!!!

Communal areas like corridors are very shabby but we found our room clean and well appointed. We were on the 7th floor and had an amazing sea view. The pool was brilliant for a city hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised by the food- we had breakfast and dinner at the buffet, and were impressed by the variety. Lunch was in the cinema bar, and was good value. I'm a vegetarian and had no issues with finding something to eat.

We went in a tour of Havana in an old car- just approached a taxi driver and he drove us around for an hour for 25CUC. This was the highlight of our stay. We also went to the Parisienne show which is worth a visit.

The only frustration was the money exchange desk- we visited several times and we're told it was closed but 'opening in 10 minutes'. We returned after 10 minutes to be told it was closed but 'opening in 10 minutes'. Also, on our last day, a maid came into our room when we were still in bed asleep and demanded to know when we were leaving. Erm, not yet?!?!?!

Make sure you keep your check out paperwork if you want them to hold your bags after checkout- we weren't told we had to do this and our bags were basically held to ransom while it was confirmed that our account was settled. Very annoying when we weren't told that we had to keep if when we checked out!!

Overall though, we're very pleased with our stay and would return. Special thanks to the lovely lady who have the tour- she is a credit to the hotel. Tipping is not demanded, but the staff genuinely appreciate it when you do.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RebeccaP190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, General Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our facilities and services, specially the unforgettable historical tour. As you said, it is truly worth it. We would like to assure you that we will convey your gratitude to the History office.
Certainly it is appreciated your positive opinion about the buffet variety and your tips about the exchange money.
We hope your next experience in the Hotel Nacional may be soon and pleasant like your stay of the last September.

Best regards,
Antonio Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with my Wife for four nights in September. The Hotel is steeped in history, which they play on if you visit the long bar and see all the pictures and artefacts of all the rich and famous people who have stayed.

The rooms are good. We asked for our room to be upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor for an extra 80 pesos a night which was a bit of a luxury but it was well worth it.

There are plenty of bars which, although the service can be a bit slow, deliver great cocktails.

The food is good quality except most of the hotels seem to use canned potatoes and veg. This is the same for 'Comedor de Aguiar', the posh restaurant in the Hotel which was quite disappointing as the meal was £100.

The 'La Barraca' restaurant is a bit more informal, great food at good prices.

The Hotel is situated 10 minutes taxi from old Havana or a 40 minute stroll along the Malcon.

Well worth a visit if you like historic, characterful places.

We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on upper floors with a sea view. If you want to push the boat out ask for a suite or a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear guest

We appreciate all your opinions and are pleased to know you were impressed about the history of the Hotel, particulary during your Vista al golfo visit.
As you said, our Executive floor (6th) well worth it. The special services for the guest accomodated there include the private breakfast and check-in with an splendid view to the hotel gardens.
We will convey all your impressions to the staff including the observation about the Aguiar.
Also we are happy to know you enjoyed the food in La Barraca which is our traditional restaurant and is one of the perfect choices to taste the Cuban food in Havana.
We share the same desire and will be pleased if you and your wife stay with us again in your next trip to Cuba.

Best regards,
Manager
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

very good hotel to stay, but you need choice the room.. because most of them old repaired , but hotel is fool of history when you read oon the walls of hotel who stayd there you get amazed... its 2 miles from central , but simply reacheble with taxi. if you want central location =then best is hotel TELEGRAFO.

Room Tip: you need to chooice rooom because most of them really old
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor contributor:
We would like to thank you for sharing your objective comments with the Tripadvisor community. Also thanks for having recommended us as a very good hotel to stay in Havana. We will take into consideration all your review.

It is very pleasant to know how amazed you were with part of the history of the Hotel. We suppose you enjoyed one of the most representative places inside the Hotel Nacional that shows the world renowned personalities that have visited us. It is the "Vista al Golfo" Bar also known as Hall of Fame. We hope our guests will visit this place.

Sincerely, we would be pleased if you visited us again.

Best regards,
Manager
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been overwhelmed by this hotel. Don't expect 5 * Luxury by 2013 standards but do expect a bygone era a step back in time with 5* service. It's a truly beautiful hotel steeped in history and ambiance. Our room is lovely and exactly as described. The hotel is a constant hidden secret.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear guest:
We are very grateful for your valuation of the services. We are really happy to know that your expectations were covered.
We hope you have enjoyed the historical tour, if not then we expect you can join us in your next trip to Havana. The Hotel Nacional has more secrets for you to discover.
"Step back in time with 5 stars service" is our goal and if this is one of your phrases to summarize your experience in the hotel then we have nothing more to say than "it was an authentic pleasure".
Kindest regards,
Manager
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here as a couple for four nights at the end of August / beginning of September. It was a bit out of the way and there wasn't much in the area. It took us about 30/40 minutes walking along the sea wall to reach Old Havana, where there seemed to be much more going on. We got ill the night after our arrival and due to this, found it very difficult to find somewhere to eat as we didn't want to travel too much. We weren't big fans of the restaurants in the hotel, so ended up just ordering room service for a couple of nights - this was a plus, as we found this food a bit better and the service was pretty quick, though after already adding a percentage onto the bill as a tip, it was a little off-putting that the people who came to deliver the food would then hover round for yet another tip - as well as the people who then came to collect the plates. However, this is simply part of the culture in Cuba and something we quickly got used to.

The pool was nice and there were always sunbeds free and my boyfriend enjoyed using the gym. The cabaret show they put on there was also really good, though we never got a chance to see the actual Tropicana to compare it to, due to being ill.

Our room was on the third floor. It was nice enough, though I was glad to leave on the last day, as it was that morning that I noticed the ants crawling over everything - mainly the bed. Not sure how, as it was on the third floor, but it happens! We had a nice view seaview and, excluding the ants which aren't really the hotel's fault, the room was clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guest
We appreciate you have shared your comments with the Tripadvisor community. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our Cabaret Show, the pool, the gym and the room with a beautiful view in the third floor. We would like to express there are additional facilities inside the Hotel which hopefully you can enjoy in your next visit to Havana without any sickness. We expect both of you are fine now.
The Hotel location sometimes is considered an additional benefit as it is not so far of the Havana center as you referred and at the same time is situated in a hill just in front of the sea. This privileged view can be enjoyed while sitting in the garden area or during the historical free tour of the Hotel every day except on Sundays. As other Tripadvisor reviewers have commented, only our guests can experience this spectacular scene.
We regret the unusual incident inside your room on the last morning at the Hotel. We can describe it as unusual due to you were satisfied with the cleaning of your room and it only ocurred the last of your 4 nights.
Really we look forward to welcome you to the Hotel anytime soon.

Best regards,
Manager
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Hotel Nacional de Cuba is a great hotel with lots of character. The only place to stay in Havana. The staff are wonderful and really friendly. Sitting on the beautiful veranda overlooking The Malecón, drinking lovely cocktails. but the restaurant Comedor de Aguiar is terrible. I had lobster and prawns which were overcooked.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear guest

We are really thankful for your preference. We would like to express how pleasant is to read that one of our guest share with the Tripadvisor community an opinion about the place to stay in Havana and recommended us.
We really regret the incident in the restaurant and will analyze your comments about it.
At the same time we will convey to all our staff your comments and recognition.
Hopefully you will stay in the Hotel in the next future and enjoy our hospitality enjoying the view to the Malecon.

Kindest regards
Manager
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
4.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $160 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing