We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous art deco home”
Review of Casa Mer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mer
Ranked #38 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
684 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“gorgeous art deco home”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay at Casa Mer was organised by Horacio at Casa Antigua down the road and glad we trusted him again as it was a great stay.
Our room was large with beautiful high ceilings, private bathroom, big bed (slightly hard mattress).
Breakfast was the best we had in Cuba, with eggs, ham, fruit juice, fruit, great coffee and more.
Our hosts were very friendly and polite and even let us use their kitchen when it was convenient (rare in Cuba).
Some will feel this location is too far out of the centre but as with our previous stay at Casa Antigua we like it, much quieter than Centro and the old town and always enjoyable to grab one of the old american collectivo's and enjoy the sights of Havana. For those who like walking its an hour to the old town and 30 mins to Centro.
Nice stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
24
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed twice at Casa Mer - the first time on arrival for 4 nights and when we returned to Havana after our travels through Cuba. It is a magnificent 1940s house designed along classic Art Deco lines - wide corridors, funky bathrooms and the most wonderful hosts. Wilfredo, Alexandro and the beautiful character of Mercedes - mum to all who live and stay at Casa Mer. The warmth and hospitality our family were shown by this family set the benchmark for our stays in Cuba. By the time we left we felt to be part of the family. As hosts they go out of their way to help you - including some early morning calls, unfriendly hours on going to the airport and holding some of our luggage for us while we toured. Brekky is a delight and the bottomless espresso cups kept us charged all day! Havana is a busy and at times overwhelming city to sightsee - and as it is often toured through a haze of exhausting salsa, rumba and rum cocktails having a haven away from the tourist clamour of the inner city is a welcome respite. Catching taxis home late at night to Casa Mer was like coming home. We would highly recommend this casa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieL200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Mer is one of my best memories of Cuba. The colonial house is absolutely beautiful, very clean, with a lovely terrace and lovely owners that took care of us during our trip. They helped greatly to arrange for a car Trinidad, they went out of their way to find us accommodation in Trinidad and Santiago de Cuba and they even offered to take us by car to the city centre (for a cost of course, but its easier to have the taxi next to you then to start looking for one). I really got a bit of Cuban life through our stay at this casa and Mercedes is such a lovely lady with whom we had nice conversations. We celebrated the NYE in Havana and they recommended us a local restaurant, drove there and book the table for us. Absolutely great. Vedado is the best part of Havana where anyone should stay. Its quiet and full of colonial houses. Most of the embassies are there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaB181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klostar Ivanic, Zagrebacka, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in casa mer 8 days and it was perfect. Family is very dear and good. We went to Cayo Largo, so we left some things out there and return to pick them up and everything was fine. Aleksandar (living at home) he can tell you of some good restaurants, he has led us, and the food was excellent and cheap. Food and hygiene in the house are excellent. If we ever go back to Cuba, we will stay in a casa mer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinazea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Casa Mer for three nights in January. Wilfredo and his family, especially grandma, took good care of us. Nice big house and rooms and great breakfast. It's located in a quiet neighbourhood with good restaurants nearby. They took us to Habana Vieja in an nice old Lada for a few CUC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed 6 night (30 CUC/room/night) in this casa particular with a friend at the end of January 2013, beginning of February. We simply loved it!!! The location, the hosts, the atmosphere, the coziness and comfort! Excellent choice!

Senora Mercedes, her son Wilfredo and the nephew Alejandro are great hosts and their home offers an oasis of green tranquility in Vedado. The location is excellent because it allows a better picture of the city itself. I highly recommend travelers to try and discover the other parts of the city, not just Habana Vieja, and the best way to explore the very pretty and leafy Vedado is to choose to stay there. Taxis are about 5 CUC in and out of the historic center and the ride is worthy, Alejandro has a car and takes guests every morning to the city center. There are also nice venues to dine out in Vedado, as well as some landmark places one must visit in Havana (Hotel Nacional, Fresa y Chocolate for jazz, Plaza de la revolucion, el Malecon, etc.).

The house is very beautiful, pre-revolution architecture, very spacious, nice garden, big and comfortable rooms, well equipped bathrooms and all the comfort one might need,The beds are very good!! (during our trip through Cuba we encountered some dramatically bad beds:-)) A special mention to the cleanliness of the house, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless and elegantly furnished, bedsheets smell great, so much better than some hotels we have seen in Varadero! Breakfast is excellent (5 CUC per person) and the hosts have always good advise to offer and a solution for any kind of issues concerning planning trips around the island.

I highly recommend this casa particular for those who travel to Havana for leisure as well as business. We had an excellent time there. Many thanks again to Mercedes, Wilfredo and Alejandro!

Room Tip: You can ask for double beds room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank narcisvlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Casa mer on our first few nights in havana, and then again on the last 2, before heading out of the country.
I cannot recommend this place enough.
First: if you re trying to pick between staying in vedado or havana vieja, I strongly recommend picking the former. its more airy, open, residential, a break from the hustle and bustle of Old havana, the noise, the crowds. after you spend your days roaming old havana, its so nice to go back to vedado, for some down time.
Second, many of Havana's must see sights are actually in vedado, so you re not at all far away from where you wanna be.
this casa has it all: friendly and knowledgable owners, real people, a real family, that is eager to help and advice you on your trip, but is not in your face in a touristy sort of way. they re wonderful people, educated, well mannered, and best of all,kind. their casa is immaculately clean and comfortable, its rooms spacious, high ceilinged, comfortable, the breakfast wonderful, their backyard amazing for making you feel like you re really on holiday.
After having spent 8 days in cuba, and a few nights in other casas, in cienfuegos, trinidad etc, I can honestly say that this was the best place we stayed at. and i cant imagine it getting any better.
if you have to choose, please choose this one. Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
9.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,300 reviews
6.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
6.6 mi away
Casa Particular de la Dra Flora Roca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
5.8 mi away
Casa Buena Vista
Casa Buena Vista
#121 of 686 in Havana
99 reviews
4.5 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mer

Property: Casa Mer
Address: Calle 28 # 206 | e/21 y 19, Vedado, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing