We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good music, convenient location relative to our hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Ranked #196 of 775 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good music, convenient location relative to our hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We opted for a night out at Cafe Taberna cos truth be told, we were on our second last night in Cuba and by that time, we had already run out of mostly cash / CUCs. Seeing as we would not have to spend on taxi fare going out to casa de la musica (we could walk to Cafe Taberna from Iberostar Parque Central where we were staying) we opted to buy ourselves tickets to the Buena Vista Social Club music performance night at Cafe Taberna. The tickets entitled us to several mojitos each. As it would turn out, it was an enjoyable night out for Cuban music, some dancing, the band was excellent and the crowd (all tourists) was lively and participatory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldivaritagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    104
    43
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but don't bother with the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and music here, although once away from Havana felt we got more authentic atmosphere elsewhere. I really enjoyed it but the food was very poor given we had paid 50CUC per person (which did include 3 mohitos). No need to dine so I would suggest you just go and dance and drink and skip the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieLou1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Buena Vista Social Club Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and a great show, loved the older members particularly. Drinks were fine as was food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank GillyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Good, Expensive but Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here the first night in havana and we saw Buena Vista Social Club. The live was great and the lobster also. The price was about 50 $ but havana is expensive anyway so it worth it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a night!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is a gem! It was recommended to us by a local taxi driver who drove us into town. It was 30 CUC each for entry and we got 3 cocktails included. The venue was absolutely buzzing, everyone was up clapping and dancing Salsa down the aisles. Absolutely fantastic. The music was incredible!! Exceptional Cuban experience!!! A*****

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa_hudson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing