We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The show is a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil Teniente Rey, Havana, Cuba
5378611637
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 690 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
468 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“The show is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have seen the show four times and everytime was a great experience. The show starts promptly at 9:30pm and ends approximately 11:10pm with non-stop excellent entertainment. Currently priced at 35 CUCs (about US$34) and well worth it. The cost covers two drinks and light snacks. I have not eaten the food here other than the snacks so only commenting on this must-see show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Don_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    81
    33
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you like Buena Vista Social Club, you have to come here. Even though most of the original members had passed away, the spirit and soul are still here, alive!

It's a very big venue, they host big tour groups, for dinner and show. We stopped by in the early afternoon, wanted to get tickets for that night. They told us, it's sold out. But they could put extra two high chairs at the end of the bar.
Okay. We paid USD$35 each, it came with one or two drinks. We didn't want the meal here.

We came by at 9 pm, show starts at 9:30 pm. It was packed. We saw our seats were taken, my boyfriend was upset. I knew they will figure something out. Sure enough, now we had to sit inside the bar at front (the only place they could squeeze couple bar chairs in) which is much better, very close to the stage, great!!

Even better, this beautiful friendly woman sitting on the other side of the bar from us turned out to be the manager of the band, she sings with them too.
Wish I could speak Spanish better to talk to her.

Those old guys put out incredible great show! The youngest member is 79 and oldest one is 84 now. They could still sing and dance perfectly well and have fun. It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform. It's the most unforgettable evening in Havana!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Entertainment Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

(This review is based solely on the entertainment.) The well-known Buena Vista Social Club entertainers perform here almost every night at 9:30--reservations required.Make your reservations upon your arrival because the taverna fills quickly. Occasionally they perform at another club, so check when making reservations. I felt lucky to see these performers in a small venue. Each performer was fantastic, enjoyed performing, and can still "move" on the dance floor.There was also a couple who performed dancing during some of the songs. For 30 CUCs you get 1 mojito and a small plate of cheese and crackers. We didn't eat dinner there, but it looked as though there is a nightly special which I saw on all the plates. But who needs to eat when there is wonderful, must-see entertainment?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepetalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cafe Tebarna + Buenavista Social Club night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a restaurant is nothing special, but if you want some unique, touching feeling, it's worth to choose. It's advised to book it previously ( we did it on the same day in a tourist office in Habana) Price is 50 CUC/person, which contains the dinner and a welcome drink, plus about the 1,5 hour long music show. For dinner you can choose from 2 menu ( with chicken or with langosta). We took the langosta menu, which was ok. The show, with the old gentlemen, really amazing. If you like this old Cubaen music, you will enjoy it. It's a little bit like going back to the past. It is true, there are a lot of bar, with live music in Habana, which are really good too and we spent some time in many of it, enjoying the young music groups as well, but the total effect can not be compared. ( However do not miss those small bars too :)) )

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over-hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was hoping for a great evening of music but I was disappointed. The format was OK - a series of individual performers doing their own thing with the support of some backing musicians. The backing musicians were fine and got a good beat going. However, with one exception the leading performers were very disappointing. Our local tour guide told us that the one exception was the only original member of the Buena Vista Social Club actually there, which I guess explains something. I'm all for some audience participation mixed in with the music, but most of them spent their entire time focused on audience participation with the result that the music suffered. Still, most of the other people present seemed to enjoy themselves, especially the teenagers, so there was certainly an atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing