We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
el81 Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$298
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$182
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$241
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$208
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
$273
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$97
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$443
$257
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
463
48
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
48
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomgreat hostshabana viejaold havanawonderful familybig balconynice apartmenthost familywithin walking distancetwo nightsrooms are spacious and cleanbreakfast and dinnerstayed longerwalking tourperfect casafresh juicewe loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 512 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A great place to stay in Havana Centro. We stayed here for a week last October. Alberto and Melba are very good hosts. Best view of the old city from the balcony. Comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfasts by Melba.Truly, a home away from home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a great welcome to Cuba. Alberto and Melba couldn't be more welcoming. And a wonderful central apartment. The front double room has a wonderful high balcony with views over most of the city and the bay, a perfect place for a beer and a cigar. The next time I find myself in Cuba I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Melba y alberto have everything You want in Habana as a tourist. Wiew of the sea, of the city and of a street full of action. Breakfast filled with tropical fruits, omelet, bread and strong cuban coffee!!!! Perfect location between the Malecon and Casa de la musica. Close to a shop that actually keeps Pringles. This is a good place to stay in centro habana. (not far from the old town -if You want to walk by foot)(You Will always find Bicitaxi or regular taxi outside the front door if You dont)
We stayed 12 days and enjoyed every twelve of them. We ate dinner 3 times- had ropa vieja, fish and lobster. Woooow..... Melba is the perfect cook!!!
We stayed in both of the rooms but prefered the room with the balcony. This because of the street wiew.
I became ill while staying but felt perfectly safe, Melba know's exactly what to do with ill touristes;)
When we left we went to one of habanas best hotels, but honestly- we missed the breakfast and the balcony;)
I cannot find guava in Norway!!!!
Love Karen& George

Room Tip: Both rooms have good beds but the room with the balcony have better street wiew:)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norvergiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is my second time staying with Melba y Alberto and it is like staying with old friends. The apartment is on the 8th floor with views of the city, malecon and ocean with ocean breezes. The bedrooms are comfortable with A/C and private bathrooms. The front room has a balcony with a view of the city. Melba's cooking is great. I had to ask for medio platos as she serves big portions. They will help you find guides, dance instructors, language instructors and more. The location is great, right in the center of town, easy access to anywhere with taxis right down stairs.
I can't say enough wonderful things about this family and home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We traveled to Cuba with our 7 month old son and stayed 2 weeks at Alberto and Melbas casa. From the very first minute we felt welcome and after a few days we felt like family. Alberto, Melba and their grown-up son and daughter (home for the Christmas holiday) did everything to make it a perfect holiday and even help out with our son. They played with him during meals, enabling us to eat in peace, and offered to babysit so we could go out and experience Havana.

This is the best place to stay; the family is warm and welcoming, the food is delicious (we ate breakfast and dinner there for two weeks) and the rooms are very nice; one of them is with a balcony, the other with an extra bed. The casa is located in centro Habana, this is the real Habana and is the place to stay. We miss the family a lot and is constantly day-dreaming about a new visit.
Casa Alberto & Melba is highly recommended. You won't regret a stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews