We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of el81 Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
el81 Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 726 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A great place to stay in Havana Centro. We stayed here for a week last October. Alberto and Melba are very good hosts. Best view of the old city from the balcony. Comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfasts by Melba.Truly, a home away from home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 489 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a great welcome to Cuba. Alberto and Melba couldn't be more welcoming. And a wonderful central apartment. The front double room has a wonderful high balcony with views over most of the city and the bay, a perfect place for a beer and a cigar. The next time I find myself in Cuba I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Melba y alberto have everything You want in Habana as a tourist. Wiew of the sea, of the city and of a street full of action. Breakfast filled with tropical fruits, omelet, bread and strong cuban coffee!!!! Perfect location between the Malecon and Casa de la musica. Close to a shop that actually keeps Pringles. This is a good place to stay in centro habana. (not far from the old town -if You want to walk by foot)(You Will always find Bicitaxi or regular taxi outside the front door if You dont)
We stayed 12 days and enjoyed every twelve of them. We ate dinner 3 times- had ropa vieja, fish and lobster. Woooow..... Melba is the perfect cook!!!
We stayed in both of the rooms but prefered the room with the balcony. This because of the street wiew.
I became ill while staying but felt perfectly safe, Melba know's exactly what to do with ill touristes;)
When we left we went to one of habanas best hotels, but honestly- we missed the breakfast and the balcony;)
I cannot find guava in Norway!!!!
Love Karen& George

Room Tip: Both rooms have good beds but the room with the balcony have better street wiew:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norvergiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is my second time staying with Melba y Alberto and it is like staying with old friends. The apartment is on the 8th floor with views of the city, malecon and ocean with ocean breezes. The bedrooms are comfortable with A/C and private bathrooms. The front room has a balcony with a view of the city. Melba's cooking is great. I had to ask for medio platos as she serves big portions. They will help you find guides, dance instructors, language instructors and more. The location is great, right in the center of town, easy access to anywhere with taxis right down stairs.
I can't say enough wonderful things about this family and home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We traveled to Cuba with our 7 month old son and stayed 2 weeks at Alberto and Melbas casa. From the very first minute we felt welcome and after a few days we felt like family. Alberto, Melba and their grown-up son and daughter (home for the Christmas holiday) did everything to make it a perfect holiday and even help out with our son. They played with him during meals, enabling us to eat in peace, and offered to babysit so we could go out and experience Havana.

This is the best place to stay; the family is warm and welcoming, the food is delicious (we ate breakfast and dinner there for two weeks) and the rooms are very nice; one of them is with a balcony, the other with an extra bed. The casa is located in centro Habana, this is the real Habana and is the place to stay. We miss the family a lot and is constantly day-dreaming about a new visit.
Casa Alberto & Melba is highly recommended. You won't regret a stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

For location, value for money and overall friendliness it is very unlikely that you could find anywhere better than casa Alberto & Melba. Don´t miss out on the great breakfast and Melba will make an evening meal of traditional Cuban dishes which should also be taken advantage of.
We can´t really reccommend these appartments highly enough. Just stay there !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is AWSOME!
You are in a appartement Buiding and you have a superb view on Havana.
If you are lucky you will hear some local music playing somewhere around.
From a locatition point you have to walk to go the Center (10 minutes) This gives you the opportunity to walk and to discover Havana Centro. Either you go through the City or you are following the Malecon.
We have done both.
We have enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace that Melba has prepared.
Hmmmmmm delicious fruit juices and eggs.
A really good breakfast for starting the day!
We stayed there in total for a week.
Always with a warm welcome that makes you feel at home when coming back there.
It is really a nice place to stay that I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antiti0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,559 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,873 reviews
1.8 mi away
CasavanaCuba
CasavanaCuba
#11 of 726 in Havana
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el81 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el81 Guesthouse

Address: 115 Italia Ave. Apt. 81 | Btw. Trocadero St. And Animas St, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 726 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a privileged location in Centro Habana (Central Havana), on Italia Avenue (also known as Galiano). Very close to Old Havana (10 minute walk) and the very popular Malecón seafront. Our flat is a beautifully renovated modern duplex on the eighth floor of a building developed in the fifties. From the flat, you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the sea and the city. By staying in our house, you will benefit from one of the highest levels of privacy, security and featured services, in a family-friendly environment. We recommend our accommodation for vacation or business trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Alberto And Melba
Casa Alberto & Melba Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing