We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
87
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar meal reservations recommending restaurants small pool arranged everything the entire staff restaurant recommendations vedado neighborhood guest rooms the ground floor every morning stayed here for nights old havana place to stay a great stay short walk concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 92 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

El Candil Hotel was amazing, only 5 rooms so very relaxed atmosphere, one rooftop terrace with bar & swimming pool, a balcony with sofas & armchairs a level below, and the breakfast terrace on the ground floor, very cosy. All the staff members were adorable, always smiling and always helping us at their most. Yanetxy is superb, we stayed 3 nights, and she made our trip absolutely wonderful by giving us her top suggestions, booking everything we needed (restaurants, taxis, evenings), everything was done super fast & efficiently, Yanetxy really is a memorable person of our Cuba trip. She even came on her day off to book us a restaurant and show us by foot where it was! Honestly amazing, she and Rosabel, also very efficient and warming, made a big difference to our stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank af1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanetxy, Manager at El Candil Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, it means a lot to us. I am delighted to know that your journey was peaceful, relaxing with great experiences. There is nothing that makes me and the entire team happier than learning how enjoyable was your stay at El Candil.

The personalized service and warm welcome from your arrival until your departure makes us the most relaxed Boutique Hotel that our guest always miss. Undoubtedly, El Candil is a very exclusive and excellent choice for the guest.

We look forward to your return to our Boutique Hotel for you another beautiful holiday experience!

Yanetxy & Rosabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay at El Candil. We spent 5 nights here. The rooms and property were sparkling clean. The included breakfast and wonderful Cuban coffee with milk was served by the most efficient and nicest people. We loved the roof deck and went there every afternoon to relax before dinner. All the recommendations for dinner were spot on. A special thanks to Sandxy and Rosabel for making our stay amazing! Oh and I had a wonderful 2 hour massage, be sure to book one during your stay. We cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Redsoxfan02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanetxy, Owner at El Candil Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

What a wonderful comment! We are very pleased and satisfied to read your positive review. I am happy that we catered to your needs during your stay in our property. Your kinds word will be shared with all of El Candil staffs

We are glad you were able to relax with the massage!

We truly hope to see you again very soon at El Candil Boutique Hotel.

With my warm regards,

Yanetxy and El Candil Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

The hotel is beautiful and spotless. Our room was large (huge bed with wonderful bedding and pillows) and the furnishings were stunning. The rooftop bar with jacuzzi is a lovely place to sit enjoying a cocktail. Breakfast was included in the price and it was served on the veranda at the front of the property. It's easy to get to the Old Town and the hotel kindly arranged taxis for us. We only stayed 1 night but our flight was very late in the evening and they let us sit and read on the terrace until our taxi arrived. It's a short walk to John Lennon park.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanetxy, Manager at El Candil Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear Sara

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to read your positive comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your great feedback to El Candil team as well. We truly hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rosabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We had four wonderful nights in this hotel, which was in a quiet part of Havana, which did mean we were quite a way from the city centre. The staff, especially the receptionist, Sandxy, who was very engaging and helpful. The rooftop plunge pool was nice in the evening.

The distance from the city centre was not really a problem, a nice walk, of about 45 minutes, or the hotel can call you a car.

We had an evening meal at the hotel, one evening, which was very good.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DavidMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanetxy, Manager at El Candil Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear David

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind review and experience on TripAdvisor.
It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your first stay with us at El Candil Boutique Hotel, from our Rooftop, our Meal and the personalized El Candil service we offer. I will pass on your fantastic feedback to my team and we are looking forward to welcoming you at El Candil BH again for another enjoyable and unforgettable stay.

Best Personal Regard,

Yanetxy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Spectacular boutique hotel, absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. Amazing roof top area with bar and beautiful views was a lovely area to chill out in. The massages there are absolutely wonderful and so reasonably priced - definitely worth experiencing! Really well located with lots of sights nearby. We were so well taken care of - the concierge service is absolutely outstanding. Yanetxy is so knowledgeable, professional, warm, friendly and dedicated. Was such a lovely relaxing treat to finish off our holiday!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanetxy, Manager at El Candil Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emma J

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor.

It was wonderful having your stay with us and we're so pleased to hear that you had a nice experience.
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you found your El Candil experience relaxing, uncomplicated and tailor made for you.

This is the type of experiences that we strive to offer consistently our guests!

We would be thrilled to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable El Candil experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly for any assistance you may need in planning your next luxury vacation.

Best Personal Regard,

Yanetxy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews