We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten path”
Review of Hotel Kohly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kohly
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“off the beaten path”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This used to be a safe and unobtrusive property off the beaten path when we were last there a couple of years ago. The rooms are basic and clean but are in need of an update, but the water pressure is decent and there is hot and cold water. The 24 hour snack bar is basic Cuban fast food but the Pizzeria is really quite good and about the same price as the snack bar. It's popular with locals and tourists. And kitties!

The swimming pool is small but nice especially in the heat and humidity of Havana. Some kind of synchronized swimming team comes to practice there in the evenings and is fun to watch. The pool has music all day, so if you like quiet this is not the hotel for you. The streets around Kohly are residential and and middle-class, kind of different than old Havana. Lots of Cubans come to the hotel store and also to enjoy the facilities on a day pass which is about 15 CUC and can be bought by tourists who are not staying at the hotel as well. It entitles you to some food too.
The front desk is pretty good with questions and money exchange and we booked an excursion from one of the local tour operators to Varadero for a few days.
It costs between 3 and 5 CUC for a taxi to Vedado or Old Havana and you can wait a while for a taxi, so it's always good to give yourself time.
If you want to see a different part of the city or stay away from the nosiy and populated neighbourhood of Old Havana, Kohly can be a basic alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viajeradelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    54
    98
    23
    26
See reviews for
42
68
34
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kohly only for a night while on an excursion to Havana. The tour provider chose this hotel for us. We probably wouldn't have found it otherwise.

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The grounds were well-kept. The rooms were tiny, but really comfortable. Everything was clean, functional, and quiet. This is exactly the kind of gem you hope to find when planning a cheap trip somewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lissy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had read all the reviews before went on vacation, and decided to book this one. For 3 star it is a Ok plus hotel, I had a good time with my kids, it is far from downtown, however you have a turist bus for $5.00 every half an hour, that you can use until 6pm, with In and Off previlege, you just keep the voucher, kids are free. It is very close to "Tropicana" famous show place.

For all the complainers: It is a residencial hotel, with a lot of people there 3 to 5 years taking master degrees etc. etc. The Angolans and Venezuelans over there, are very friendly and they are doctors or militares with high grade " capitan, generals, etc".

I did not hear noise, or desrespect from nobody.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Located next to the Havana's forest, in a spot blessed with privacy, and still just a few minutes away from any point in the city, the Kohly is a hotel where everyone can feel cushy, amused and safe. When visiting Havana, knock on Kohly's door, you will always be welcome. Among the services offered, the hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, a terrace equipped with deck loungers,a bowling alley, a bar, front desk and tourist info and a restaurant.

Locals use the ammenities daily, very loud on Saturday nights...
If you want clean towels and room service please tip the ladies !!
Only one issue the shower drain was blocked :-( at all times!!
It is a brunch buffet ...not bad, lots of eggs in all different ways and fruits and pasta....
Please bargain for a taxi, the distance from the night life it's only 10 minutes ride.

A great Deal we paid $490/per person for this package from Ottawa-Havana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorelei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracadie-Sheila, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

in February 2013 I reserve a vacation a discount to go to Havana. Air, hotel and breakfast. I arrived in this hotel late at night. A warm welcome at the reception. Help to carry the luggage to the room. The room is small but clean. There is a small refrigerator and a TV. The hotel although not expensive, has a swimming pool, a gym, an internet center, a bar, a small shop. Located 10 minutes from Havana center, $ 10 by taxi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in early Feb, 2013. It was a great place to see Havana from. There's a full buffet breakfast included and it's only $10 to old Havana by taxi. The hotel was in good condition and our room faced West with a great view of the sunset.
The hotel is located in a nicer neighbourhood in new Havana. There's plenty of shops, restaurants and a bank nearby.
I would suggest taking the Old Havana Tour by bus ($19/per) and staying behind at the last stop. This way you get to see Revolution Square, The Capital and major sites and then stay in Old Havana.
Be sure to bring lots of cash and if you have an early morning flight to make sure that you book a taxt the day before. (Taxi to airport, $25)
We didn't have any problems during our stay it's a lovely 3 star hotel.
There's lots of stray cats, they'll eat your scraps but bite you if you try to pet them.

Room Tip: upper floor facing the water is the best, very little city or hotel noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is located in what appears to be one of the better neighbourhoods in Havana. Friendly front desk staff and cleaning staff. Breakfast buffet choices are limited if you are there for more than one week but the items are quite tasty and satisfying! There was a synchronized water show one night - a pleasant surprise! The restaurant by the pool serves large tasty meals really cheap! Great hot showers! Comfortable stay, although maybe a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: The third floor has quick access to the dining room on Flr 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGS_July2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#53 of 79 in Havana
123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#23 of 79 in Havana
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#60 of 79 in Havana
427 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#18 of 79 in Havana
814 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#25 of 79 in Havana
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohly

Property: Hotel Kohly
Address: Ave 49 Esq 36A | Reparto Kohly Municipio Playa, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kohly 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Gaviota Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kohly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohly Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing