We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little surprise!!”
Review of Los Nardos

Los Nardos
Ranked #45 of 806 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice little surprise!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Los Nardos on our first evening in Havana...what a treat!! It was relatively easy to find as we were told it is right across the street from the Capitolio Building..and it is. Plus, they have a relatively big sign (by Havana standards).

The food is very good if not quite exceptional. And the portions are very large. You won't break the bank here as the value is excellent.

I don't know if you can make reservations so you probably have to wait in line as we did. However, given the busy street it's on, the wait was quite entertaining!!

The service was very good and the cocktails as good as anywhere else.

We would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!!re yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,330
    929
    327
    125
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An experience not to miss”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Do not be put off by the wait!! In our case it was 45 minutes and I must admit we nearly gave up but so glad we did not.
The restaurant is not easy to find - nearly opposite the left had side of the Capital building, look for the wooded doors with the 'Los Nardos' sign and the queue. It is a privately run restaurant popular with the locals. The decor inside is very pleasant, the staff are very friendly and the food is very impressive. We made the 'mistake' of sharing a starter!! We could not believe how huge it was - more than enough for two. We should have guessed seeing most people leaving with 'doggy bags'! There was a huge selection of main courses, the food was delicious and the prices of both the food and drinks were extremely reasonable.
In all respects it was certainly worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goanywhereduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Famous”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of the restaurants called "paladares" in Cuba that means it is not fron the government and certainly is the most famous restaurant in Havana, the quality of the food is very good and the portions equally, with respect to the price is not cheapand nor expensive is like intermediate, for cubans are very expensive and unaffordable, the service is very professional and the decor is very good, i recommend 100%

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12y5vedado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The highlight of our stay in Havana and worth the wait!!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Right across from the Capitolo building and easy to miss is a hidden gem for food enthusiasts.

We must have waited at least half an hour before we took our sleeping 2 year old in his buggy up the narrow stairs that lead to the second story. It was mid afternoon outside and we were greeted by a candle lit room (or at least it felt that way) and the music of piano accompanied by violins. Another five minute wait before we were seated.

I will cut to the chase.
Mojitos were fantastic.
We had fish stuffed with shrimp and shrimp rolled in peanut crumbs and to be honest one dish is enough for two. But the price is so low that it doesn't even matter.
We ended up having half the shrimp the next day while we walked around.

We were very happy and would love to eat here again if we make it back to Havana.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slawko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Paella overcooked,lamb too. In toilette no toilette paper but lady is still there waiting for money. For what? No paper,no soap.. At the end waiter didn't show us the bill,he just said the price and when we asked to show us the bill it was full of things that we didn't order!! Be careful!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTCTDTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Nardos also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Los Nardos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing