We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the pizzas station.”
Review of El Palenque

Ranked #412 of 790 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Only the pizzas station.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The only food court what is working properly is the pizzeria, because dont even try the pork meat,one of the worse quality in Cuba,standart services, not to clean,I personally pass by wiht my wife in a middle of a route to my hometown in Havana , they a little grocery stores inside with decent selection of basics need.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorge a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    76
    42
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“"Middle of the road and going down hill"”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

First time in Cuba, I thought "quick, afforable & reliable" ...after my third time back I would ONLY return "IF" I had a time constraint & needed something on the run!

It's hardly "clean" their are fly's buzzing like no tomorrow all around the pork and the side dishes and what not, YUK! I am sorry, but that is hardly conducive to eating your food thinky it's all good.

Pros-
Quick, realible & affordable. The location is great. The parking is real spacious & their pizza's are not too bad.

Con's-
Certainly not personable. Not up to par with cleanliness. Fly's are a complete distraction, stay away from the grill where the pork is cooking...you will see things that you rather not!

Verdict:
This place needs to TLC...it was so much better, I can ONLY hope it improves. If so, I will return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Good Tasting Food in Havana!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A large group consisting of Canadians & Cubans arrived for an evening of dinner very reasonably priced with good food delicious desert (the flan and the ice cream). We were served extremely quickly - all 33 of us - and were entertained by a trio singing whatever we requested! The ambiance was great! A great time was had by all. Washroom was ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGS_July2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fair restaurant,very bad cafeteria.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Restaurant is good only if you expect to eat something very normal,but the cafeteria services is really bad, no restrooms on hand,more than 35 minutes for a burger and soda,place is not standart clean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorge a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place for a standby”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The food here is... normal. Its not amazing, but its not bad. We find this is a great location to get something good, when you don't know what you really want. Pork and pizza to go. Its not the best in Havana, but its good and reliable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trippy667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palenque also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing