We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for visit! ! ”

Ranked #208 of 589 things to do in Cuba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cuba’s largest ecosystem encompasses both swamp and beach.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for visit! ! ”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended for visiting, this is a great place for visiting especially for those who want to see bird's, like to fish and wildlife conservation.

Helpful?
3 Thank otolob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit to Taino village”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited the peninsula de Zapata during may 2013 - our trip included a visit to the Guama Taino village and to the crocodile nursery.
our guide was exceptional and gave lots of interesting details of the area, especially about the wildlife and flora.
the taino village is well laid out to educate visitors about the lifestyle of the first inhabitants.
worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laviajera498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We received a lecture of the area by the director prior to venturing into the area. Our focus the birds. If you are a birder worth the visit, saw many birds only found in Cuba.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wild Natural Park, A must see”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Peninsula de Zapata, Cuba National Park, UNESCO Biosphere Reserve and RAMSAR Convention Site of Importance, is one of the natural areas that must be visited when in Cuba, or even better you should book a week-long trip to it. On the few hotels in the area or in "casas particulares" (hostels) is a delightful experience encompassing a trip seeking for the rural authentic Cuba. There you can be snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, bird-watching, fly fishing, trekking, hiking in caves, and enjoy the mojitos and relax in the beach, the nights are not to exciting, think on this place as the less populated municipality in Cuba. There is also day trips to near towns and lot of activities to schedule with local guides. The environment includes extreme diverse landscapes, beach, rock shores, forests, swamp, flats, caves and cuban sabanas.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank dienteperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Top end birdwatching”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This trip was mostly centred around sitting on the beech in the tourist trap of Varadero with a limited amount of birding involved. The birding involved around a single mid-morning (09:00 - 12:00) trip to the Zapata peninsula with Orestes Martinez El Chino and few stops along the side of the road when appropriate. Birds around the Varadero area are quite limited, with only common species present: Greater Antillean Grackle, Northen Mockingbird, Magnificent Frigatebird, Royal Tern, Caspian Tern, Laughing Gull, Common Ground-Dove, Mourning Dove, Zenaida Dove, House Sparrow, Cuban Emerald, Double-crested Cormorant and Grey Kingbird.

Within the Varadero complex of resorts is a small nature trail encmopassing some mangrove and ´sand forest´. Only a few miles at best and swamped with kamikaze mosquitos, it is worth a walk around at least once. A slow pace is necessary as the area holds some quail doves. Species seen here included, Cuban Vireo, Yellow-headed Warbler, White-crowned Pigeon, Cuban Emerald, La Sagra´s Flycather, Yellow-billed Cuckoo, Antillean Palm-Swift and Cuban Woodpecker.

An interesting section, perhaps only seasonal or even due to recent building work presents itself at the beginning of the Varadero stretch. Opposite the Sol Club Palmeras a section of flat land with bare patches, short grass and small wetland type area of perhaps 1 acre in size exists. This section provided us with breeding Least Tern as well as various remaining migratory waders and a collage of herons and egrets. These included: Little Blue Heron, Great Egret, Reddish Egret, Tri-coloured Heron, Snowy Egret and Cattle Egret. Others included Killdeer, Wilson´s Plover, Ruddy Turnstone and Red Knot. Neo-tropic Cormorant on the Varadero Golf Course.

By far the highlight of the trip was our day trip to Zapata. We had arranged to have El Chino, a local guide take us around for the day. On the way we picked up Antillean Night-Hawk near Jose Smith Comas. I must drive home the fact that we only arrived in Playa Larga at 09:15, way too late for anything decent one would expect. When you condsider this with the quality of birds seen, you can understand how I could not recommend Chino enough. He can be contacted at [--], however I called him the day before, the numbers are as follows, his brother Angel will probably answer: [--]. We jumped in the car and drove a short distance to some wooded forest/thicket. First up some Cuban Trogon. Walking the trails followed with a Yellow-faced Grassquit. Quite the unbelievable after this, Chino heard a Blue-headed Quail-Dove calling, a few minutes of quite searching and we had a male sitting at head height a few yards into the tangle. The species then came quicker than we could buy them, Cuban Tody, Black-whiskered Vireo, Grey-fronted Quail-Dove, Great Lizard-Cuckoo, Cuban Pygmy-Owl, West-Indian Woodpecker, Cuban Woodpecker, Fernandina´s Flicker (after 20 minutes of having the bird 5 yards away and not being able to see it!), Cuban Pewee, Logger-headed Kingbird, Red-legged Thrush, Cuban Bullfinch, American Kestrel, Tawny-shouldered Blackbird, Shiny Cowbird and Black-cowled Oriole. Chino then took us on a rambling drive into the middle of a forest, set us up under and tree and told us to focus the telescope on a particular branch - 10 minutes later a male Bee Hummingbird perches and sings - quite extraordinary. Chino took us back to his nick of the woods, Calitone, next to Playa Larga and invited us for lunch. The porch at the back only 3 feet from the bay of pigs! Lobster for lunch. While the amenities are basic, in fact nothing that we westerners would generally be happy to eat near, the authenticity beats any ´local experience´ money can buy. With lunch costing 20CUC for my brother and I, as well as the morning with Chino only 15CUC each, a large tip was certainly required.

Chino further told us where to look for certain birds on our return. We stopped at the obligatory Boca de Gaum to look for Red-shouldered Blackbird which duly obliged as well as Cuban Blackbird, Smooth-billed Ani, Limpkin and Northern Jacana.

As one will notice in Cuba, signposts and logical road directions are completely absent. We got lost travelling from Varadero to Zapata twice. Even on the way back we went around in circles for a while. The easiest way to conquer this is to pick up one of the local Policeman who are hitching towards your intended direction.

While lost, (we were in the vacinity of Torriente I believe) we picked up Red-tailed Hawk, Snail Kite, Northern Bobwhite, Eastern Meadowlark and White-winged Dove.

Helpful?
41 Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula de Zapata National Park also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Soroa, Artemisa Province
 
Playa Larga, Matanzas Province
Playa Larga, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Peninsula de Zapata National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing