We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flamingoes, beach, cliff jump and snorkel”
Review of Boca Slagbaai

Boca Slagbaai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the western coast, this beach features has bright yellow 19th-century buildings and good swimming.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“flamingoes, beach, cliff jump and snorkel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A lovely stretch of beach with restroom facilities (a rarity at snorkel sites). The briny lake behind the beach was filled with flamingoes both times we visited. Facing the ocean, there is a great overhanging cliff the children enticed me to jump from. This site is part of the national park tour, accessible only by the park road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dae28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth it - would rate it a zero if that was an option”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a day on Bonaire where we couldn't dive for 24 hrs before our departure, so decided to see the rest of the island. The National Park was a huge disappointment and regret.

There's nothing to see inside the park that you don't see everywhere around you on the drive (on paved roads) to get there. Once inside the park, you're subjected to the worst maintained dirt road (and I use the word 'road' generously) that you've ever seen. At best, it will rattle your entire skeleton, and at worst, very possibly result in a broken axle, wheel or suspension! No kidding - beware! Also check your rental contract, because many say that the insurance is void if you go off paved roads.) The 'road' in the park is also one-way, so you can't even turn around after 5 minutes, when you realize you've made a huge mistake - which means you're stuck for 90-120 minutes of bone-rattling misery, and that's if you're doing the 'short loop'.

I don't know how much money they collect very year from the $25 park fees per person, but they obviously haven't spent a nickel of it on road maintenance in the park - for years. The condition is shameful, and someone should do something about it. Where's all that fee money going?!?! Perhaps to the barely responsive, rude 'attendant' in the office at the park gate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting area”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I must have visited this NP at least 10 times in the past 4 years. Not only is this a very interesting geological area, with ancient lava and coral formations and dense vegetation alternated with bare sections and cacti fields but there are also many species of birds to be seen. The park can be toured by 4-wheel drive, but there are also 2 hikes near the entrance that offer very beautiful views. A challenging hike deep in the park is the Brandaris hill: a mere 700 ft but don't underestimate this climb!
Birds routinely seen are caracara, various flycatchers, yellow warbler, tropical mockingbird, bananaquit, troupial, yellow oriole, pearly-eyed thrasher and many more; at the salinas there are various herons, plovers, egrets and, of course, the flamingo.
In addition to the many bird species there are iguanas, a special type of tree-lizard and once I also spotted wild pigs.
A marvel for nature lovers!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out in the wild”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Organised by Tropical Travel, a six hour trip, picked up fro hotel.
Only two other tourists were in the 'group'. The van was driven by the guide, a charming woman who drove very well, and who could tell us a huge amount of interesting info.
It was very clear that she loved the island, and wanted to share this with her guests.
She showed us awesome coasts, turquoise bays, huge black limestone rocks, old light houses, a variety of trees, flowers, cactuses and some tiny white beaches, with pink flamingos and other birds, such as the white bellied heron.

She explained the function of the plantation... That is what this park actually was.

We drove slowly on the bad roads, full of potholes.
But, man, what beautiful trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Into the wilds of Bonaire - on bad roads”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The map given at the gate is very helpful, as it says how long the two routes should take driving. Minimum time is stated at 1 1/2 hours (for 24 km.) The long route is 2 1/2 hours, for 34 km. Much of it has be done at a very s-l-o-w speed, as the potholes and rough road will otherwise eat up your vehicle (watch out for the goats and occasional donkey as well!) A highlight of our trip to the park was seeing dozens of flamingos in the wild at all the bodies of water passed on the short route. The museum at the entrance was very worthwhile. There are some dive sites along the western shore, and other side trips off the main road. We didn't go down any of those even-worse roads. So a trip to the park could easily take up a whole day if one wants to really explore. Much of the scenery along the road, however, is the same, so it does get old.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Slagbaai also viewed

Bonaire, Caribbean
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Boca Slagbaai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing