We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herded like cattle”
Review of Boca Slagbaai

Boca Slagbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the western coast, this beach features has bright yellow 19th-century buildings and good swimming.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Herded like cattle”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The park itself is amazing and worth a full day. But the rangers and the staff are unmotivated and very rude. The park closes at 5pm but starting 1.5 hours before the rangers start herding you towards the entrance. The ranger truck followed almost bumper to bumper behind our car and did not give us any privacy to enjoy the surroundings. At the last stop several other visitors who were packing up were yelled at and with hand motions told to leave faster. The visitors were treated like cattle, without any respect. Everyone was planning to leave the park before the posted closing time, but ended up leaving 10-20 minutes early due to the unexpected hostility of the rangers. We saw the rangers locking the gate 10 minutes early and immediately after we saw their truck at the local bar in Rincon. In summary the natural beauty and wildlife of the park is incredible but be sure to have left the entire park before 3:30 to avoid being harassed. This was the most hostile experience we have ever encountered in a national park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank colibritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty treats and cold beverages in the middle of nowhere!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Boca Slagbaai is actually the name of the rest stop/ restaurant/ bar you will find out in the middle of nowhere in Washington Slagbaai National Park, Bonaire. With nothing but iced beverages in coolers, a gas grill and fryer, and a small solar panel, this little establishment is capable of satisfying the desire for cold beers, and a tasty lunch.

The menu is simple... sandwiches, burgers, wings and similar items. Beverages include water, sodas, and several beer brands.

After lunch, we spent time in the beautiful water right outside the door. Some of us ventured up the path to the cliff and jumped into the water from there.

Boca Slagbaai was a real treat. I would make this my destination for a whole day next time we are in Bonaire.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BWDscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
199 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“fun afternoon”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed seeing this park again. It is a great photo op for birds and lizards and some interesting and unspoiled land. Great wave action also. The museum was also nice. We liked the outdoor life exhibit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaribeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Genieten!/ just great”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

An off road trip,rough nature, rough shore's and a wild sea. Such beauty!
Halfway we took our mask and snorkel and relaxed at the christal clear blue water of wakaya II.
What a magnificent place! Went for lunch at Boca Slagbaai on the end of our trip. Sitting outside with a tasty chicken sandwich, enjoying the sea sights or the many pink flamengo's on the lake.
What a great day!
Remember to bring enough water with you on hot days.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Some beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We drove up there to hike but they won't allow you to if you arrive after noon. So we drove the long route. Yes, the roads are bumpy and you go for stretches of seeing only cactus, dirt roads and mountains, but the first 3 stops on the route were breathtaking! It's a completely different perspective of the island. The waves are huge, the current strong and the topography is very unusual for a Caribbean island. You can feel the massive power of the ocean from the first 3 sites. The blow hole was very cool. We ate a picnic lunch at Boka Slagbaai and there are covered patios with tables and a little cafe/bar there to get food and drinks. There were flamingos on one side and a beautiful bay on the other. The museum at the beginning is interesting and explains the establishment of the island. Lots of iguana and goats here and my first time to see wild flamingos. It takes some time to get through the park, so don't go if you're in a hurry!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Slagbaai also viewed

 

Been to Boca Slagbaai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing