We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but short reception hours...”
Review of Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonrisa
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but short reception hours...”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Went with wife and 3 friends. Had a 3-bedroom apartment for four nights. Rooms and kitchen/living room area are clean, well equipped and very large, so we felt we had our money's worth within the room. Kitchen was very well equipped, but we didn't use it.
Breakfast was also very good, and saltwater pool scene looked nice (didn't try).
We washed our clothes one day (in the sink/shower), and the staff offered to tumble dry it for us, which was a nice gesture. Also very eager to help us find the best activities.
Speedy and free wireless internet is a plus.


However (this is the bad stuff), having no reception staff after noon is a bad idea, I think.
Especially for the 5 of us, who only got 1 (yes, ONE) KEY for the front door and the apartment.
They only had 2 keys in total, so there was no solution to this. And you might find the front gate locked if you arrive in afternoon/evening/night, and no staff present. So that's why it's extra important to have more than one key.

Location is ok, 8 minute walk from town, 4 minute walk from nearest hotel beach (divi flamingo), 2 minute drive from airport.

I would think there are better options than this.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flamingoKralendijk, General Manager at Sonrisa, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
All information about Sonrisa is on our website, also our office hours. We are closed in the afternoon but reachable by phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
56
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We stayed at the Sonrisa from Jan 16 – 30 for our fourth visit to the Sonrisa and seventh visit to Bonaire. As usual, the staff at Sonrisa (Jacqueline: the manager, Ellen: the assistant, and Sonya: the housekeeper) made us feel welcome and part of the family. The hotel and grounds are well maintained and clean as are the rooms and facilities. Since our last visit they had added a little shelter and light over the entrance gate and a nice size palapa over the picnic tables and grill. We noticed that the trees and other plants had really grown since we first stayed there two years ago.
We stayed in a hotel type room again in the front, facing the pool. Although there is some significant construction work just down the road from the Sonrisa and there were frequent construction trucks passing during the day, when we closed up the room at night and turned the AC on, it was very quiet. We spent most of our days out at Lac Bay windsurfing. (See my full trip report att www.hammocktree.us/ms/trips.html). After a day of windsurfing we’d come back to the Sonrisa, get a bottle of wine and some cheese out of the mini-fridge, add some crackers and nuts/fruits, and have a very nice afternoon “refreshment” out by the lovely pool.
If you have to have an ocean view, the Sonrisa would not be for you, but since we are on the water about all day windsurfing, we don’t really need to see it from our hotel room, so the Sonrisa works great for us. And the beds are VERY comfortable!.
Next time we visit Bonaire, I'm sure we'll be at the Sonrisa again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmateurGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Haque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

a great stay in this nice place with a pool in front of the door... so nice in the evening and everything you can walk to the nice restaurants. Jackeline, it was very nice to meet you and we had a good time, there are always people who want to sit at sea but.... do you make every day the same dive and can you look from your bedroom into the see, no.. we walked and enjoyed the stay at the places in the little town and friendly people. If we come back we have our adress. It is also a safe place and the rooms are nice and I have travelled a lot over the world for my job but this place... great!!!
Thanks and many greetings from Bo and Lies

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We wanted a small, friendly, clean place as a base, and we had not been to Bonaire before. Sonrisa turned out to be very good. We loved having a patio where we could eat, birdwatch, and hang out our wet swim gear on the racks provided. In the mornings, the folks at Sonrisa provided sandwiches, coffee, fruit, and sometimes yogurt for guests. Having a small fridge was nice, and getting to the nearby markets and restaurants was easy. There was a lot of privacy. As a bonus, Sonrisa is near a salt marsh full of flamingoes and other birds that are fun to watch and photograph.
Our room on the second floor got some noise from the main street (Kaya Industria) that Kaya Finlandia connects with. Sometimes the rustling palm fronds provided good white noise.
We are used to parts of the world that are not fully developed for tourists, so we didn't mind Sonrisa's neighborhood, which at this point has quite a bit of new construction going up, along with many small, brightly painted villas (and, yes, Kaya Finlandia is a dirt road, but a good one). We arrived late and couldn't quite tell which intersection to use to reach Sonrisa (following the road from the airport, the correct intersection has a car rental place on one corner and a gas station on the other; in daytime, the Sonrisa sign can be seen up on one's left--turn left to find Kaya Findlandia).
We truly enjoyed our visit and would gladly stay at Sonrisa again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8LittleCatFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Very clean very nice...
The "drive through" of the hotels... you are practically by yourself. The reception opens from 7am to 12 and after that there is no one around.
Other than that... it is truly charming.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelus789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2009

This place was perfect for what I wanted: quiet, secluded, clean, no temptations of food or alcohol or partying.

I came for two weeks of windsurfing. The package deal with Bonaire Windsurf Place, and the discount on the rental car next door was seamlessly taken care of and I was "on my way", on the road exploring the island and on the water relearning the sport, without a hitch.

I work online and had to bring my computer with me for work in the mornings. The WiFi was everywhere and plenty fast and reliable (and I am used to fiber optic connections.)

A little fridge in my room meant I could stock some basics, and every morning I could get a fresh made sandwich and some tea or coffee (yogurt, fruits, etc) down at the front desk and chat with the other guests. Or not.

The center of town is a pleasant 5-10 minute walk away, lots of restaurants and a few bars.

If and when I come back to Bonaire, Sonrisa it'll be.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Sonrisa is a brand new bed & breakfast type hotel with 10 rooms. The cordial owners Jacqueline and Roger make a serious effort to keep the place super clean and professionally organized. The walled-in pool area and court yard with lots of palm trees and plenty of lawn chairs give you the illusion of being in an oasis. This easily compensates for the hotel not being right on the beach, in particular if you are in watersports and spend most of the day in or on the water anyways. The contemporarily furnished rooms have all one needs including quite AC, TV, fridge, etc. and something very rare in most hotels: excellent mattresses for that needed sleep after a long day practicing that carve jibe.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWHMenasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#14 of 21 in Kralendijk
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonrisa

Property: Sonrisa
Address: Kaya Finlandia z/n, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sonrisa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Kralendijk (Capital) with a nice garden and swimmingpool walking distance from restaurants, supermarket and beach. We have eight hotelrooms and two - one, two or three bedroom/bathroom apartments with very comfortable beds. There's also a wetcell where you can rinse and store your dive gear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonrisa Hotel Kralendijk
Sonrisa Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing