We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner! Very nice place.”
Review of Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonrisa
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Jacqueline (owner) is very friendly and very dedicated to making your trip the best.

Sonrisa is more a pousada than a hotel in my mind, which is a big plus: you get a much more personalized service by an owner who enjoys her job; you feel a lot of taste and care is put in the design and maintenance of the place which is really clean.

The building, garden, patio are very nice. Check their website, their prices are quite lower that the 200$ currently quoted on Trip Advisor. I felt that it was a good value.

We stayed in a poolside hotel room on the ground floor. It was a standard size for a hotel room. We enjoyed the view on the pool which guests used very little. So we could enjoy it fully! Other reviews mention that the area is rather commercial / in development. On the ground floor, you are definitely isolated from the exterior thanks to the design of the place. Morning & evenings are very quiet. I can't say during the day as we were out enjoying the island but it did not seem to be noisy.

Jacqueline should pitch her breakfast a bit better than a "sandwich and a cafe" as it was really good.

It's definitely a great place for families and windsurfers. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alexandrej28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Sonrisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

While all the reviews here are accurate, there are a few additional things you should know about Sonrisa. If you want to come to Bonaire and see the ocean, Sonrisa is not for you. The place is new and cute (the owners obviously put a lot of love into it) but the surroundings are not as appealing. The hotel is set back about three blocks from the ocean in a relatively underdeveloped area. When we arrived, it had rained, and we had to walk through an unavoidable strip of deep mud to get to Sonrisa's gate. It's lovely inside, if all you want to do is sit by the pool (which is very small, by the way) and read. We were disappointed to find only six pool chairs though, and little shade. If you dive, you will be better off staying at a place on the water, with a dive shop. The rooms at Sonrisa were very clean (always appreciated) but small. The back rooms (they call them the "windy-side rooms") look out on nothing more than a neighbor's backyard and a satellite dish. Overall, for the money, you may do a lot better at another Bonaire hotel, especially if you are willing to pay a little more. Sonrisa wasn't terrible -- as I said, it's new, clean and cute -- but it definitely wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sweetmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We went to Bonaire to visit friends so, we were not looking for the 'resort experience', just a clean comfortable place to sleep. This hotel provided that and more. It's a very clean and well-maintained place. (I do however agree with the reviewer that said that the rooms are on the small side.) The owners take pride in this new establishment and it shows. The daily breakfast sandwich is very good and we enjoyed eating every morning looking out over the pool and the lovely grounds of the hotel. The owner can arrange almost anything that you might want to do, makes all reservations and provides great suggestions and directions to locations around Bonaire. The location close to the airport is great because the flight to Bonaire can be a little long and wearing, so it’s nice to be able to get settled right away. However, we were never bothered by the noise of planes taking off and landing. A grocery store is close by and the mini-fridge that they provided really came in handy, as did the free Internet access. (Calls from Bonaire are expensive so we kept in touch with emails.) Lots of television channels (Most in English, a few in Spanish, Dutch and German I think.) What more could you want? We recommend staying here; it's a quiet and relaxing spot in beautiful Bonaire.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hate2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed with Jacqueline and Roger at the Sonrisa Apartments for 5 nights in June. Our room was beautiful, the grounds and pool area were gorgeous, and the service was fabulous! The breakfasts were quite tasty as well. It really was like a home away from home for us.

We were new to Bonaire with the idea of moving there permanently, and Jacqueline was tremendously helpful in helping us to navigate our way through finding housing, services etc, as English-only speakers. She booked cars for us, had cell phones available to rent for a very reasonable cost, and also booked tours of the island. She even helped us out with advice on shipping when we decided to move over to Curacao!

You could not ask for a friendlier, more comfortable, yet very elegant place to stay in Bonaire!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chantelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steve1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dutchmenBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwindsurfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonrisa

Address: Kaya Finlandia z/n, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $128 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sonrisa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Kralendijk (Capital) with a nice garden and swimmingpool walking distance from restaurants, supermarket and beach. We have eight hotelrooms and two - one, two or three bedroom/bathroom apartments with very comfortable beds. There's also a wetcell where you can rinse and store your dive gear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonrisa Hotel Kralendijk
Sonrisa Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing