We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bonaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire
Certificate of Excellence
SE CT
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bonaire”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my 3rd time in Bonaire, the second time at Blachi Koko. The hosts Latitia and Matthieu are a lovely couple. They gave us tips on which sites to dive, where to eat (which in Bonaire is anywhere) Fabulous restaurants. The air conditioning in one of the bedrooms broke down on our first night there. So Matthieu offered another apartment to my friends that were in that bedroom until the air conditioning was fixed.They gave us a cell phone to use to make local calls. It is in a perfect location next door to a dive shop. Walking distance to town. The fridge had beer, wine, soda upon our arrival. I feel this is a better option than a hotel and very reasonable. Will stay here when we go back to Bonaire which I hope is soon!

Room Tip: We rented the upstairs apartment with a huge deck. Great place for breakfast and coffee in our paja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancindiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having visited Bonaire before, we had previously stayed at one of the large complexes which this time didn't have any availability. What we thought was our loss, was actually our gain when we booked into Blachi Koko Apartments instead! Blachi Koko has so much going for it - the location is perfect (10 minute amble into town but in a peaceful area), it is right on the coast (the sea is just at the bottom of the drive) and right in the middle of the island (which is great for planning your daily diving).

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments on the ground floor and both bedrooms had aircon, were spacious and had plenty of clothes storage space – there was a good sized safe in one of the rooms. There was also a seating area, a dining area, a large sized bathroom with shower and a kitchen area - there was no oven, which if you are English does seem a little unusual but there was a good sized fridge/freezer and it was stocked with plenty of plates, pots & pans, cutlery, utensils, and condiments. There was maid service every other day. We also had our own private cabana and there was a shared (locked) drying area for hanging your dive kit overnight. A BBQ was available for our use if we wanted it. Both the apartment and the garden areas were very well maintained.

Matthieu and Laetitia are the perfect hosts - even though we had hired a vehicle which we collected from the airport Leatitia still took the time to come and meet us at the arrivals gate to make sure we didin't get lost on the short drive to the apartments. When we explained that our luggage hadn't arrived with us, Laetitia was quick to find us some toiletries to allow us to freshen up - add this to the beer, wine and soft drinks that were waiting for us in the fridge and our luggage troubles were quickly forgotten!

We will definitely be visiting Bonaire again, and without a doubt we will be booking back into Blachi Koko!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Blachi Koko is run by two wonderful, helpful, caring people that will do their best to make sure that your trip is stellar. Laetitia helped book all our activities before we even left while Matthieu was kind enough to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. The location is fantastic; just a few minutes walk into Kralendijk and right next to the water. We snorkeled at the little beach right behind Blachi almost every day we were there. It is almost next door to Divi Flamingo, where a lot of the dives and snorkels leave from which was really convenient.

There were just a couple of little things that kept this from a 5 rating - honestly I am giving it a 4.75 because the negatives were so minor. The first is that our room (an upgrade at no charge, which was a very pleasant surprise!) had just been repainted. Because of this, the plantation shutters on the windows could not be opened/closed (whichever was the oposite of the shutter when we got there) since they had been painted over. The workers were still there, and we decided to put sheets up over the windows to keep them from being able to see into the room. A/C is only in the bedrooms, just as an aside. Also, there was no working clock in the room. We used a cell phone as an alarm for the early morning activities like snorkeling and fishing and that problem was solved.

This is a lovely property that is well taken care of by two amazing people. You cannot get better when it comes to location since it is quiet but super close to the capitol. The water is stunningly beautiful and even in six feet of water there is plenty to see. The kitchen was perfect and had everything we needed. Utencils, spices, olive oil, ice cubes, even some nice cool drinks were all stocked before we got there. We had a chicki hut just outside our room, which was a great place to cool off during the day. After catching a huge wahoo we were shown where the grill was and given full access to it for our use. This was located by the lock room for dive gear, a blessing if you are bringing your own or renting for the duration of your stay.

Like anywhere else on the island, the bugs were a constant but that is something that is the same on all the ABC islands. We brought organic bug spray which the mosquitoes laughed at. Good thing Laetitia and Matthieu had stocked the room with real bug spray! We rented a moped just a few minutes away from our room and had a ton of fun with that. When I got a little dive sick our hosts were concerned and caring, asking the following day if I was feeling better (which I was). Matthieu was kind enough to wake up at dawn and take us to our very early flight out, saving us the hassel of having to rent a car or get a taxi which are very expensive.

All in all, I have to agree with the glowing reviews. Blachi Koko is more like staying with good friends at their vacation home then renting a room. Between the great people, awesome location and all the nature (hummingbirds, iguanas, song birds and everything else), we really got the feeling we were getting the best of Bonaire and that all definately started with Laetitia and Matthieu. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Blachi Koko to any and all.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but the second floor apartment may provide a better breeze. Only the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMI T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first time to Bonaire and didn't know what to expect. We booked at Blanchi Koko after reading reviews on line and felt lucky we did so. The apartments are walking distance to downtown and next door to the Carib Inn which has a fantastic & affordable dive program. We did two boat dives daily and went all over ( north, south and Klein ) -- most other dive shops just do Klein. We didn't rent a car but instead rented a scooter and took it all over the island.

Air conditioner work well. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, pots, pans and dishes. Good size fridge. Maid service every other daily. Very quiet. Nice porch to enjoy the breeze. Large safe holds laptop. Only very minor complaint is the pillows aren't very comfortable. But all in all a great find.

Owners are super friendly and very helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyPanda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect in all respects. Clean, well maintained, close to town yet far enough to give a secluded feel, friendly hosts, area for dive gear with rinse tank, everything needed to cook meals in the apartment, nice ramada for relaxing, birds and iguanas. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Quiet, centrally located, all the amenities for self catering. The host family, Matthieu and Laetitia, are helpful, charming, and hardworking. We were allowed to check in early, which was helpful after our long trip, and provided with a few little refrigerator basics to get us started. We have been to Bonaire several times, so we prefer to do our own cooking most of the time. The small kitchen unit was very well stocked for our use with all the right utensils, so I felt at home. The grounds are well kept, nice BBQ that we used, and did I mention, clean? Very pleased with this small inn, and will hopefully stay here again...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrysherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just back from my 5th stay at Blachi Koko and have now stayed in all of the units. The apartments are all comfortable, the garden is beautiful, it is a short walk to downtown Kralendijk and all of the restaurants and there is access to the ocean steps away. The owners are very hospitable, I still think back to my first stay, after a long air journey, I really appreciated the cold beers that were waiting in the fridge.

Room Tip: Try to get the second floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Toronto_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.1 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
584 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire

Property: Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire
Address: Kaya Alemania 1 | Great Location, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blachi Koko apartments are truly unique, reflecting the inviting influence of Caribbean colonial living, in a private setting, offering a very special alternative to traditional hotel experiences. Proprietors, Matthieu Foudraine and Laetitia Sernaglia have carefully renovated and restored this classic Antillean colonial property, creating 3 two-bedroom apartments and 2 one-bedroom apartments. Each residence is appointed with a private kitchen, full bath, air-conditioning, and contemporary furnishings, accented with colors and styles elegantly influenced by Matthieu and Laetitia's worldly travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blachi Koko Apartments Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing