We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect Bonaire dive trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BonaireFUN Appartments
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was the first time staying in the Bonaire Fun apartments, having previously stayed in the adjacent Tropicana and Dive Hut (same owners) which are also good. The truck, diving and hotel was sorted out as a package via e-mail. On arrival, we were picked up at the airport by the car rental company without problems and collected our truck. A short drive to the apartment and check-in before starting our dive adventures. At Bonaire Fun, there's a locked gate to keep you secure and each apatrment had a private patio area which was an excellent feature for evening drinks and dive tales. Rooms were spacious and clean, and although we didn't cook, the kitchen was equipped with fridge/freezer, toaster, microwave and 2 gas rings, coffee pot and plenty of glasses/plate etc.. The Thursday night run punch and BBQ at the Dive Hut was excellent - the best value meal on the island for $15pp. The hotel is a couple of blocks walk to Pasa Bon pizza and about 5-10mins walk from the restaurants downtown in case you prefer not to drive in a damp dive truck. Diving was excellent as always. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiquidPixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our arrival to Bonaire was delayed by 2 hours; at 6 am we piled into the waiting taxi arranged by The Dive Hut/BonaireFun Apts. With room ready and a welcome package, we unpacked to freshen up for breakfast. Taking our time enjoying the morning breeze, the adventure about to begin, we sipped our 3rd coffee while peppering Inga with questions of all kinds. She is so kind, full of information and tons excellent suggestions. At 9 am the truck rental agent collected us. 15 – 20 minutes later with keys in hand, full of excitement and anticipation for the next 2 weeks, we headed off to collect our dive gear. Two minutes from The Dive Hut/BonaireFun Apts, Wanna Dive was waiting for us. We booked the dives we wanted, collected our weights and tanks; hit the water to have the park pass attached to our BCD. Time to get some food for intervals. Buying food was so much fun it was an adventure within itself, and I don’t like to shop! Before heading out to a well deserved evening dinner, a cold wet drink was due. We meet Roland & Irene, the best!

Two weeks pasted in a blink! Up at 6 am to load the tanks, replaced by Jeff from Wanna Dive, a night dive, over 3000 pictures taken, new found friends, diving with a Giant Manta named “Sharky”. A MUST DO ~ dive with Susan Porter and make sure you get her book. Then there is BBQ with live entertainment on Thursday nights ~ OMG! Swiss night on Tuesday … ours ended at 11 pm. We traveled over 500 kilometers, saw only 1/3 of Bonaire, 19 dives and a tearful good bye when Roland & Irene drop in before Roland’s birthday celebrations. Homework to complete from Susan for next trip. Some scuba courses to take, identification books to buy and more to learn in 2014 while on Bonaire.

But ~ If you want an all-inclusive, 5 star accommodations, structure boat dives, time scheduled meals, depart your room for maid service, spend tons of your hard earn cash, wear a watch, set your alarm clock, stay to yourself or with the group, email a company who doesn't return emails, thrive on anxiety and stressed. You won’t be staying at the Dive Hut/BonaireFun Apts.


With Roland & Irene, including staff, your stay will be so enjoyable. The Dive Hut gang + Wanna Dive Hut/BonaireFun Apts on Bonaire = the best trip of your life!
• See the parrots & national bird
• Herb garden & “real “ places to shop
• Smiley
• mini lesson about Aloe plant
• Painted skulls, and roof top views
Just to name a few within your new backyard!

Happy Princess diving!
Next trip at BonaireFun Apts is booked for 2014. Count down is on! :)

Room Tip: The best location is the BonaireFun Apts with it's walled with locked gate. Located across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shelleyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our second stay - and hopefully not our last! This visit was as great as the first. Roland and Irene continue to be helpful and friendly. For example, Irene went to her house to get her personal sewing kit so that I could repair my reef boot. We stayed in a studio that was clean and comfortable, just right for us. The other guests were open and friendly without being invasive. The location couldn't be better - very close to the water, dive shop, and town, but very quiet, too. A family sells fresh fish just 2 houses down from our place, and we really enjoyed it! Thank you Roland and Irene, for helping to make this a memorable vacation.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christine89316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We really appreciated our stay at Bonaire Fun in a 1-bedroom appartment. We will be back. Very convenient, quiet and comfortable. We were there for 2 weeks diving. Everything was set-up like mentionned before arrival: pick-up truck, unlimited air, gear room. All the staff is very helpful for any requests. Place is very well located, you can walk to restaurants or the beach. You can even dive just 2 blocks away. Owners are very friendly, thanks Irene and Roland.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Bonaire Fun appartment with the roof terrace. ....do not tell anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MimiDido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our third stay at BonaireFun - and we will go back! Roland and Irene are so nice and committed to taking care of their guests. The place is clean, comfortable, and well-located (3 minute walk to water, 10-minute walk to Kralendyk. The apartments have well-equipped kitchens (and you can buy fresh fish 3 houses down) We like to rent bikes instead of a car when we go to Bonaire and bike to our favorite snorkel spots. This is just a great place for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment. Brought my two teen kids with me. Had a Jeep (need a vehicle to get around the island -- beaches are beautiful and you will want to visit many). Owners were very pleasant people. Really enjoyed the every Thursday all-you-can-eat BBQ. Apts are on one side of a residential street (a few blocks from the main waterfront), bar is on the other side. The apt felt very safe, enclosed behind a gate that was locked at all times - although, I never felt unsafe in Bonaire. Very roomy with two full bathrooms (shower only) in the two full bedrooms. Kitchen is well equipped with a stovetop and a microwave and a full fridge. You could eat every meal in the apartment if you wanted to. Private patio with table and rooftop patio. Apt was so quiet since it is in a neighborhood. Tip: Mosquitoes come out just before the sun sets every night (it rains a little bit almost every night) so bring or buy repellent as your first priority. We bought a natural spray at the local grocery and a spray to shoot directly at mosquitoes. They are so little that they come right through the screens. Kept windows closed and just used the air, came and left quickly through the door. Still had a few to kill each night. Another tip: You will have to buy soap, toilet tissue, etc. Only one roll per bathroom and you provide the rest. Sheets and towels changed twice per week and cleaned once per week. Bring your own beach towel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We like it here. This is NOT one of those anonymous, polished places with a 24 hour reception, a box standard pool, and underpaid staff. It is a very small place with 10 studios in original style, The "pool" is the wonderful, clear, calm blue sea 5 minutes walk away with loads of life to watch. The owners, Irene and Roland, are part of the staff. And they have never been trained to produce meaningless gobbledegook such as "Sir" or "Madam" to every customer, or to add "for you" after everything said. They treat you as a real human being, not as a "customer" receiving a "product".
It is a very friendly place with good opportunities to exchange life experiences and ideas about places to go, where to dive and where to go next in life. Come here with a wish to see a different part of the world.
Hugely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CElbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.0 mi away
The DiveHut
The DiveHut
#5 of 20 in Kralendijk
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#12 of 22 in Kralendijk
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Palm Village
Red Palm Village
#15 of 49 in Kralendijk
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BonaireFUN Appartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BonaireFUN Appartments

Address: Kaya Dialma 12, Kralendijk 1111, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BonaireFUN Appartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BonaireFUN Appartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BonaireFUN Appartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing