We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BonaireFUN Appartments
Bellingham WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our third stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our third stay at BonaireFun - and we will go back! Roland and Irene are so nice and committed to taking care of their guests. The place is clean, comfortable, and well-located (3 minute walk to water, 10-minute walk to Kralendyk. The apartments have well-equipped kitchens (and you can buy fresh fish 3 houses down) We like to rent bikes instead of a car when we go to Bonaire and bike to our favorite snorkel spots. This is just a great place for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment. Brought my two teen kids with me. Had a Jeep (need a vehicle to get around the island -- beaches are beautiful and you will want to visit many). Owners were very pleasant people. Really enjoyed the every Thursday all-you-can-eat BBQ. Apts are on one side of a residential street (a few blocks from the main waterfront), bar is on the other side. The apt felt very safe, enclosed behind a gate that was locked at all times - although, I never felt unsafe in Bonaire. Very roomy with two full bathrooms (shower only) in the two full bedrooms. Kitchen is well equipped with a stovetop and a microwave and a full fridge. You could eat every meal in the apartment if you wanted to. Private patio with table and rooftop patio. Apt was so quiet since it is in a neighborhood. Tip: Mosquitoes come out just before the sun sets every night (it rains a little bit almost every night) so bring or buy repellent as your first priority. We bought a natural spray at the local grocery and a spray to shoot directly at mosquitoes. They are so little that they come right through the screens. Kept windows closed and just used the air, came and left quickly through the door. Still had a few to kill each night. Another tip: You will have to buy soap, toilet tissue, etc. Only one roll per bathroom and you provide the rest. Sheets and towels changed twice per week and cleaned once per week. Bring your own beach towel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We like it here. This is NOT one of those anonymous, polished places with a 24 hour reception, a box standard pool, and underpaid staff. It is a very small place with 10 studios in original style, The "pool" is the wonderful, clear, calm blue sea 5 minutes walk away with loads of life to watch. The owners, Irene and Roland, are part of the staff. And they have never been trained to produce meaningless gobbledegook such as "Sir" or "Madam" to every customer, or to add "for you" after everything said. They treat you as a real human being, not as a "customer" receiving a "product".
It is a very friendly place with good opportunities to exchange life experiences and ideas about places to go, where to dive and where to go next in life. Come here with a wish to see a different part of the world.
Hugely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CElbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Been here with 2 friends.
It's a nice place, located 5 minutes from the sea and yellow submarine.
It has approx 10 rooms, and some nice trees and plants between them.
You can walk on the roof, where there are some seats to enjoy the weather.
The total place has a wall around, and a front door which is locked, so everything stays save.
Across the street there's the dive-hut, which seems to rent out this one as well.
It has a bar, and a weekly BBQ for which you at BonaireFUN are welcome as well..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dax J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay. I love their BBQ nights.
Very clean appartment.

Goog place for divers too. Next time we will surely use this accomodation again.
We used their special package including a great car from Voyager Events Car Rental.

Room Tip: For a business trip, this was very nice. Love Bonaire
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 and had a wonderful time. Roland and Irene were regularly around the property and were very friendly and helpful. Roland help to secure me a rental truck at a very competitive rate - everything was taken care of by the time I arrived.

The location of BonairFUN Apartments is excellent. It is close to downtown Kralendijk and it is easy to access all the dive and snorkel spots on the island. The property was also located nice and close to my favorite snorkeling spot on the island, Andrea I and II.

The rates were impossible to beat. Roland mentioned that he has not raised rates in over 5 years. They are very fair owners and won't gouge you. The apartments themselves are clean and well-appointed. I had all the utensils, plates, glasses, etc. I needed and a well-working stove and fridge so that I was able to cook at least 2 meals per day at home and eat out only for the occasional evening dinner meal. This saved considerable money.

I did get bitten a bit by mosquitoes but I sense they are everywhere on the island.

Overall, I would stay here again - a great property. Also, Bonaire was an absolutely beautiful island and not overly developed like Aruba or Curacao. It is my favorite and I will return sometime soon!

Room Tip: Rent a pick up truck if you want to explore Washington Slagbaai National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capebretonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

OK. So most of you are looking for the best bargain when going to Bonaire. My experience
has always been that the best price relates to the lowest service or amenities at any locale.
That is not the case here.

Roland and Irene offer not only the cleanest facilities on the island, but this property serves as
the dive hub for all that Bonaire has to offer. On any given night, the dive instructors and dive
masters gather at "the Hut" to relax after their dives. From all over the island, these instructors
gather at this property to relax and unwind. Do you want to know what the best dive sites are?
Do you want to know where the best critters are hiding? Do you want to know where the best dive sites are on any given day? The dive masters go to "the Hut". You should too.

If you are serious about diving Bonaire, the mecca is this property. You will find that even if
you make the mistake of staying elsewhere, the information you will receive on your next dive
probably origionated at "the Hut".

This is where the locals hang out. I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pool pass is available at Eden Beach for $5 per day. Probably don't need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.0 mi away
The DiveHut
The DiveHut
#5 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropicana Apartments
Tropicana Apartments
#24 of 44 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillside Apartments
Hillside Apartments
#11 of 44 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Chillout Apartments
Caribbean Chillout Apartments
#36 of 44 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divers Paradise Bonaire Apartments
0.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BonaireFUN Appartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BonaireFUN Appartments

Property: BonaireFUN Appartments
Address: Kaya Dialma 12, Kralendijk 1111, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BonaireFUN Appartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BonaireFUN Appartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BonaireFUN Appartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing