We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice cool spot for a gelato”

Gio's Gelateria & Caffe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A nice cool spot for a gelato”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As we were eating our gelatos outside Gio's today, a couple asked us how they were. In short, Gio's makes real gelato, and it does taste very good -- especially on a hot Bonaire afternoon. Not on par with the best you can find in Italy, but then that's probably not a reasonable expectation anyway.

Of the three flavours we tried, Nocciola (hazelnut) was definitely my favourite, richest in flavour and not too sweet. Coffee and Tiramisu were good, but not quite on par.

$1.75 for a (large!) scoop is a bargain price, or you can get a double-scoop for $3.50 in case you missed having lunch. Cash only, but then what do you expect for a gelato shop? Tables available both inside (well air-conditioned), or outside on Kaya Grandi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,395
    405
    62
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One flavor only - sugar”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I try to avoid bad reviews, but this place was quite exceptional. Staff was rude, and even though three of us tried different favors, we could only taste one - sugar. Not worth money or calories. We thrown icecream as soon as we left the store. Beware, it is cash only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 4everHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good sweet snack on a hot day in Bonaire”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Noticed this place was rated #1 on the island for places to grab some food, even though it is all sweets, but still had to try it. Was not blown away by what we found, but was also not disappointed at all. This shop sits in the heart of the shopping street in the downtown area of Bonaire's commercial district. It mainly plays host of Gelato, a creamy ice creme like desert that is wonderful on a hot day.

Our group tried an assortment of flavors on our visit ranging from Mango, to Lemon Lime, to Snickers Bar Chocolate. All were refreshing, creamy, and good. Price was not too bad and service was quick and friendly. Would recommend a visit for anyone shopping and in need of an air conditioned little shop with a creamy good snack to be found within.

Although we only visited once on our eight day stay on Bonaire, I would visit it again on our next trip to the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank figurephenatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin VA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best gelato I've had”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've had gelato before and always felt it paled compared to ice cream. NOT HERE!
This stuff is excellent. We've been back 3 times - our excuse is we can afford some extra calories after all the diving.
I don't get the comments about portion size at all. For $1.75 per scoop, we thought it was fine, and since we were cheating anyway, we didn't want more.
We've had the white chocolate (very good), caramel (very good), Snicker's (good) and the cookie (good).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccourt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
358 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Absolute must do on Bonaire...I love their Baileys and Coffee favors...we stop in as often as possible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinoBambinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Gelateria & Caffe also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Gio's Gelateria & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing