We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonrisa(Kralendijk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
285
46
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
46
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssenior suiteprivate piervip divingnice dockstayed in a junior suitefishliving roomabsolutely stay here againfull kitchenice makerclose to the airportdinner reservationsbottle of champagnelounge chairslocked storagerental carsnorkel trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 342 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just finished a week at Bellafonte. Great location, a little out of the hustle and bustle of town, but still only 5-10 minutes from anything. Our suite had air conditioning in both bedrooms and the living room, which I highly recommend.

There are a number of great things about the resort. The staff, first and foremost!! Yuri was great and helpful in person and email. Shayla (May be misspelled) who met us upon our arrival was fantastic. Full tour of the grounds, the rooms, directions to places. Michael the evening security person was friendly and loved to visit.

The room (204) was spacious and the AC units kept it nice. The bed in the small bedroom was like a memory foam mattress and pillow and was very comfortable. Hot water supply was so so for 4 adults all finishing diving at once, but we managed. Very large balcony overlooking the dock and ocean.

There was a fair amount of construction going on while we were there. 3 big negatives to me:
1. On our last day (where we could sleep in) construction began at about 0630. Way too early as it echoed into the room.
2. There was a great deal of work being done in the room next door, while we were relaxing after diving. A little difficult looking at the ocean and relaxing, while a masonry drill is hammering the adjoining room.
3. Roofers left a large scaffold in place right next to the entrance we had to use. It was difficult to navigate around this with dive bags and suitcases. Due to the constricted space, rubbed against the wall and put a large, deep scratch on the face of my dive computer.

Yuri was asked about the scaffolding and he explained the workers had left it and he had been trying to get the matter resolved. The scaffolding was gone in a day.

Overall, it was a very god place to stay and would go back there in a heartbeat. They can refer you to a great dive shop (Dive Friends). You are close to dive sites, downtown, grocery stores, but not in the middle of all the busy places.

Room Tip: 204 was a good unit. The view was blocked (and shaded) by some large palm trees. Good shade on the balcony, but not an unobstructed view. I liked the shade.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gruntcop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 8 days at the Bellafonte with little to no issues. Though there was some construction that tore up the parking lot and some of the rooms it didn't really bother us much.

We were originally put into room 203, but the water heater in that room is the size of a small teapot. After some complaints, Yuri graciously upgraded us to a junior suite (room 204). The suite was awesome with A/C throughout. Large bedrooms and modern kitchen. Full-size fridge, dish washer, etc. The balcony was very large and was shaded. Though this restricted views a bit we could watch sunset from the pier in back.

Dives to the South are easily accessible from this hotel and the reef in the back itself is diveable with some great life - we found a red seahorse back there! The dive "locker" isn't so amazing but it does the trick and keeps your gear safe.

Great staff, great location. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rv0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really liked this small hotel! Very clean and the people were really accommodating. We had a few appliance issues, (which were eventually fixed) and they were remodeling several rooms, so it wasn't as quiet as we had hoped for on several days, but this should be remedied soon. Our only disappointment was that we had requested, months in advance, a room on the third floor and we were bumped down to the second floor, due to renovations.

Room Tip: We would suggest any of the rooms on the corners. And the third floor probably had the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a week diving in Bonaire and stayed at the Bellafonte. Due to a SNAFU with our reservation we had to switch rooms but the front desk and housekeeping staff were great and worked hard to fix it promptly. The facility was very well maintained and perfect for us and our two teenage children. The only negative was the rollaway bed that we had in the kids' room. The mattress was thin and uncomfortable.

We ate breakfast and lunch in the room almost every day, mostly because it was convenient, very comfortable and the view cannot be beat. We did afternoon dives, a night dive and some snorkeling off of the house reef. It's not a top five site but if you don't feel like loading up the truck with the obligatory 300# of gear, there are some nice fish, eels and three of the biggest lobsters I've ever seen, right in the neighborhood.

Lastly, there is no restaurant on site. It is really a condo-for-rent facility, but that doesn't do it justice. Everything was tastefully appointed and of good quality, and plenty of good restaurants were a seven to ten minute drive away.

Room Tip: 401A is very spacious for four travelers, with a large wrap around deck, with great views of the sea and the airport (that may not be great at O'Hare but the twenty planes that land at BON each day provide entertainment and were not distracting at all).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrueBlue337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellafonte, General Manager at Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We enjoyed making your stay on Bonaire memorable. We hope you return to Bellafonte and let us make your next stay perfect as well.
Dennis Kellner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is my second time back on Bonaire in 15 years so much has changed. I stayed at one of the many dive resorts the last visit and this time wanted a quality room with cleanliness and a quiet environment. Bellafonte was exactly that.
I cannot vouch for all rooms but our third floor senior suite was AMAZING and on point with EVERYTHING we were looking for. Cleanliness, spacious, an amazing view, quiet and a functional kitchen. We were definitely pleased and enjoyed our 10 days on this beautiful island. The staff was very helpful from the maid service daily to the managerial staff.
Thank you Yuri ( manager) for making our trip such a memorable one.
The shore diving was superb and we will definitely be back and will stay at the Bellafonte.
Looking forward to our return and you cannot go wrong with this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redsanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews