We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to scuba dive, relax and enjoy Bonaire.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We rented 8 apartments for a destination wedding. Great rooms, all with ocean views and comforts. Excellent service, and diving instruction/support.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhite_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Let me preface this review by stating up front that we did stay in the penthouse apartment, so I don't know what the rest of them looked like, but accommodations aside, if you are a diver, this is the place to stay.

1 - The dive shop is well equipped and has a very professional and accommodating staff.
2 - It's partnered with the biggest dive shop on the island (Buddy Dive) so you have access to their shop and resources as well
3 - One of the best reef's on the island is just outside your door.
4 - You really have unlimited tanks and they are both on the dock and by the road so you can just drive by and grab them.
5 - They have good rinse tanks for both equipment and cameras
6 - They have a 'wet room' so you can lock up your gear at night and not have to haul it in and out of your room.

But here is the real kicker... Belmar is SMALL. why is that good? As a diver, we have all been on that dive boat, crammed in like sardines descending on a dive site like a pack of wolves. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN AT BELMAR. Because the resort is small, you dive with very few people (6 was our maximum) when you do a boat dive, and there is almost no one diving from the Belmar dock on the reef just outside your door.

The lack of divers on their 'home reef' means that it's pristine and you don't see the type of wear on the more heavily dived shore sites!

This was simply the best experience of any dive resort I've ever stayed at :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boyd_Stowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We've been here twice and will absolutely return. Good dive center and house reef. Guests are mostly form USA and The Netherlands. Rent a car, you will need it to go to Kralendijk and the supermarket and also of course to do some fabulous shore diving.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thkl070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We booked a studio and ended up with a 3 br.(#19) Master br with bath and 2 rooms and bath upstairs with 2 twin beds each. Airco in br only and its hot! Kitchen and bath need some elbow grease, the bathroom had some mold and kitchen could use an update. We spent most of the time on the huge balcony with an awesome view of the ocean. Kitchen is stocked with dishes, dishwasher soap, coffeemaker, etc. May need paper towels if you want. Bed not the most comfortable, but it was quiet and convenient. Staff was helpful and nice and had no problems with check in or out. You do your dive orientation and checkout at the house reef which is nice, look for the seahorses. Tanks onsite and can exchange at Belmar or Buddy Dive. No problems with security or petty theft while diving during the day. (If you see 2 for 1 specials with Buddy Dive, you need to pre book with them.) Do the Salt Pier night dive early in the week, we did it on Thursday and it was crowded with yahoos shining flashlights in your face. One dock was under construction but you could still use it for diving. Boats cannot dock yet due to a "design flaw". All in all we had a great time and Belmar was convenient for divers and those that want to hang out in the sun by the pool or dock.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Don't bother. For starters, the unit we stayed in had white tile on the floor throughout. Not only was it dangerously slippery but looked filthy all the time. The coverlets on the kids' beds were pee stained and gross. The complex sits right on the road so you hear every truck and car go by. These resorts don't get it. The management is stingy so don't expect more than the exact number of towels per person and surely don't expect any response to any needs or requests. The units are not stocked with anything- no dish soap, paper towels. Takes the fun out of it completely. Just aggravating.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oecanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed at the Belmar for a week in apartment #10. The property itself is located just south of the airport and is very easy to find. The only place to eat in walking distance is Roomers - which is right across the street - so if you want variety, you have to rent a car and go into town, which is a grand total of 5 minutes away. Nothing is very far on the island.

The staff was helpful and friendly. We had trouble with the wireless Internet connection for a couple of days so they took it off the bill. The Internet only works outside the apartment on the patio and can be flaky at times.

Speaking of outside, we got attacked by mosquitoes so bring some mosquito spray.

The apartment was basic but comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, we just had to provide the food and condiments (there wasn't even salt and pepper). The views of the sunset are wonderful from right on your patio at the and you can snorkel right off the pier.

All in all we had a wonderful time and would stay there again if we make it back to Bonaire.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevo_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

First time in Bonaire and stayed at Bonaire. Everything was great. Timely pick up at the airport and was upgraded to a 3 bedroom from a two bedroom at no cost when we arrived because the two bedroom was not going to be ready till the next day. Gave us the 3 bd for the duration of our stay. Very helpful dive staff with great recommendations for dive sites. Cleaning crew came every other day but did not really "clean" but just changed towels. All in all a great place to stay and definitely will return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.6 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
80 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
4.2 mi away
Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort
3.4 mi away
Buddy Dive
Buddy Dive
#6 of 22 in Kralendijk
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Oceanfront Apartments

Address: EEG Boulevard 88, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: $242 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Oceanfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and intimate resort with a colorful garden and of course, spectacular ocean views wrapped around terraces and balconiesTake leave of your everyday stress and step into an exclusive resort that refreshes your body and soul!Now we have made it even easier, try our Drive, Dive and Stay packages and Surf Away Packages. Or any one of our three diving packages - unlimited shore diving, 1-tank boat dives, or 2-tank boat dives. Not to worry we have non-diver rates as well.Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire offering first class accommodations to scuba divers, sun-seekers, snorkelers, birdwatchers, nature lovers, and especially the "get away from it all" vacationer. Enjoy shore diving from our resort anytime of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Belmar Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Bonaire
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing