We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I just returned from my second trip to Bonaire and second stay at Belmar. The location, right on the ocean, couldn't be better. All the apartments are just steps from the water (either the pool or the ocean). This trip, I shared Apt 1 with a friend: an end unit, closest to the water. It has a beautiful lanai with ceiling fans to move the air not stirred by ocean breezes. With the screened windows open in the front door, and the wide sliding glass doors opened to the lanai, a good breeze cools the apartment. The bedrooms (2) are air-conditioned and as cool as you want them to be. The decor was rather shabby but Belmar Staff informed me the unit would be renovated right after I checked out (my luck!). Last time, I stayed in Apt 3, which has already been renovated, and I could see that it is very very nice. The kitchens are well-equipped with all the basics. Although the landscaping isn't exquisite, the flowering shrubbery is attractive.The staff are super-friendly and super-helpful, really top-notch: arranging for restaurant reservations (or just giving recommendations that were spot-on), helping with damaged equipment, providing rental gear. They also arranged pick-up and drop-off at the airport at the crack of dawn when our flight arrived/departed. Our package included a truck, which was delivered to the apartment complex. Diving couldn't be easier: just grab an air tank and drop off the dock in front of the apartments. I rated this property a 4 instead of a 5 because of the tired decor (which, to a minor degree extended to the actual complex itself) and the rather weak housekeeping (every other day they supply fresh, sad-looking towels, the bed linens came loose after I turned over a couple of times, and they mop the floors with eye-watering industrial strength cleaner).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in a spacious one bedroom condo on the 2nd floor unit number 14. The view was beautiful, and there was a nice house reef good for a day or night dive. The condo had the basics needed for self-catering. AC only in the bedroom, but you could open the windows and turn on the fan for a nice breeze through the main living space. Some small things need updating like lighting, dishwasher, etc. The floors also get quite slick when wet because of the type of tile. But overall, it is great for the price and location.
The folks in the dive shop are friendly and helpful. We did a package deal through Larry Friedman at H2O tours- condo, truck, and diving all included with airport transfer. It couldn't have been an easier process. Tank pickup on site 24 hrs a day or through Buddy Dive drive through (their partner dive shop). You could also dive off of the Buddy Dive dock- a nice dive with easy navigation but a little crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenturtle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I always find tripadvisor helpful and thought I'd write a review to help out any who are interested in finding a great place to stay while visiting Bonaire. The Belmar was perfect for our family of six. We stayed in the three bedroom unit and it was perfect for us. There is a nice large living area and a beautiful patio to sit out on, as well.
The office staff is great. Very friendly, helpful and efficient. We arrived via the red eye flight and there was breakfast food in our refrigerator. So terrific! (And the arrival at that hour was so painless. Someone was waiting for us outside the airport and we were brought to the condo. It was great to walk out and get in a waiting van and get to the condo in under five minutes!) We couldn't get an automatic van as only standard are available on the island. My husband was kindly given an impromptu driving lesson by Alejandro, one of the divemasters!
Our youngest son finished his dive certification while on our vacation and Dorte was a wonderful instructor. The boat dives that we signed up for were all enjoyable and the dive boat picks you up right at the pier on sight. Our daughter also did a guided dive to the salt pier which was set up through the dive shop and she really liked it alot.
All in all we can't say enough about the Belmar. It's small and quiet and the grounds are beautiful. There was always a place to sit and relax around the pool and the two docks have steps to walk down if you want to go swimming in the sea. Town is only about a ten minute drive away and the supermarkets are even closer.
The Belmar is very well run and we had a really great trip and we would definitely love to return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Recently stayed in a 3 bedroom condo at Belmar with 2 other couples. As the non-diver in the group, I enjoyed the spacious covered balcony with sea view; well equipped kitchen; great pool; and the semicovered sun deck next to the dock. LOVED that the pickup truck rental was included and brought to the condo for us. Saved hassle of pickup and dropoff, especially given our early a.m. departure. When we figured out how to open the skylight in the upstairs bathroom we were very relieved - otherwise hot and sticky. The divers loved the convenience of getting in an early shore dive direct off the Belmar dock (all bought the unlimited tanks and could pick up tanks right dockside). Belmar was generous with the pool towels and flexible booking the UV light night dive. Although I missed being able to walk into town, the Belmar was well located for the divers to get to the southern part of the island dive sites. We took advantage of the Belmar's partnership with Buddy Dive to dive/eat/pick up a fresh tank for a north side dive one day. Again, I could hang at the Buddy Dive beach bar until they got back from the dive. Buddy Dive's dock was much busier with people and boats so glad we were at the quiet Belmar.

Room Tip: End units seemed to have the most expansive view (but less privacy). Ground floors convenient to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasxtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at Belmar for a week with 3 friends, and we loved the big 3 roomed apartment, and most especially the balcony to chill on and watch the beautiful view. We loved that it was right on the sea, with easy access to it and a home reef to dive on. We loved lying by the pool too, feeding flowers to the friendly iguanas. We loved that it was so peaceful (although we weren't there in the busy season). We loved the staff, who were super helpful, including giving us restaurant suggestions and making bookings for us. We loved that we could get tanks right there anytime of day, or pick up tanks at Buddy's if we were on that side of the island. And we loved the truck we got to use - much newer than we expected. We were a little way out of town, but really not far, and closer to the dive sites in the south. I will definitely be back to Bonaire and most probably to Belmar!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Belmar is our favorite on Bonaire. All rooms are ocean front, with good views of the sunset. Freshwater pool to gather around and tell dive stories. Easy pickup/dropoff of tanks for shore diving. House reef is fun and perfect for night dives; your friends can sit at the pool and watch your dive lights as you wander around on the reef.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We returned to the Belmar on our repeat trip to Bonaire after 5 years. Loved it last time and again this trip.
It offers the perfect combination for a windsurfing - diving trip. It is a short trip over to Lac Bay and it would be nice to stay on the bay, but then you wouldn't have the diving access, the pool, the dive shop and (if I understand the facilities of the Sorobon Beach resort correctly) the air conditioning.
My 13 year old was able to finish his PADI certification (started on line) right on site, pool, testing and open water dives.
Dorte was a great match for him, both helpful and encouraging. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful, arranging equipment and tank rental couldn't have been easier. Butch, the night security guard was very friendly, and oddly reassuring.
The 2 bedroom apartment seems to have been recently refurnished and very nicely. Our unit, #9, was first floor, one unit away from the pool. Everything was nice, the bedrooms (with a safe), the bathrooms, the showers, the terrace, the appliances. Oddly, there seems to be a shortage of eating utensils. Our sons must have picked and opened 10 coconuts during the week, and those were great. The diving off the docks was very good.
The only negative was the musty, mildewy smell. I don't know if it was the bedding or what. It didn't really bother me, I loved the place, but my wife says she would have had problems staying in the other bedroom where is was more noticeable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thimotyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.6 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
71 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
1.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,051 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Oceanfront Apartments

Address: EEG Boulevard 88, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range: $244 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Oceanfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and intimate resort with a colorful garden and of course, spectacular ocean views wrapped around terraces and balconiesTake leave of your everyday stress and step into an exclusive resort that refreshes your body and soul!Now we have made it even easier, try our Drive, Dive and Stay packages and Surf Away Packages. Or any one of our three diving packages - unlimited shore diving, 1-tank boat dives, or 2-tank boat dives. Not to worry we have non-diver rates as well.Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire offering first class accommodations to scuba divers, sun-seekers, snorkelers, birdwatchers, nature lovers, and especially the "get away from it all" vacationer. Enjoy shore diving from our resort anytime of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmar Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Bonaire
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing