We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These guys will give you a great dive!”

Bonaire East Coast Diving
Ranked #4 of 65 Tours in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Bonaire East Coast Diving is a specialized dive operation on the famous east side of Bonaire and we’ll be happy to share it with you. We’ll take you out for a different – better! – dive experience. Expect to see the most exciting creatures Bonaire has to offer, which you can hardly find on the leeward side of the island. Spotted eagle rays, stingrays, sharks, green moray eels, and lots of turtles are no exception on the east coast!
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“These guys will give you a great dive!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The guys at East Coast Divers will take care of you and give you a great experience. They are completely professional, organized and courteous.

Hans and Fret each led one of the two tank dives. We were able to see spotted eagle rays, southern stingrays, green morays, and turtles the size of suitcases.

They have an inflatable craft which is easy to enter/exit during the dives. The morning we went was a full boat and it still felt like there was ample space for everyone and their equipment.

It's an experience that is worth the money, $120pp in Dec. 2013. You won't see this type of marine life anywhere else on Bonaire.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    24
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“GO! You'll be so glad you did!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the talk of rough water scare you away from this dive. This was the best dive on Bonaire. We did the 2 tank am dive on New Year's eve.

Hans and Fred run an extremely well organized dive boat. It's obvious they know what they're doing and they make sure everyone is comfortable with the dive plan and getting off and on the boat. They are both awesome guides. We saw a ton of fish and also saw spotted rays,lots of turtles, a green moray out swimming, a giant lobster, and a huge nurse shark.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cork_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dive”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We wrapped up an 8 day dive trip to Bonaire with a two tank dive on the east Coast. Hans, Fred and Bonnie were organized, focused, professional and a lot of fun. This is a spectacular site with multiple sightings of spotted eagle and southern stingrays, countless number of turtles, big fish, Green Morays and even a Grey nurse Shark that we came within 6 ft of .
An incredible experience and will be front and center on our next Bonaire trip agenda

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy and Julia ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Turtle dive”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Had two dives with these folks. First dive we saw spotted rays. Second dive was basically a turtle dive. We saw dozens of turtles.

The owners of the company run the dive boat and they are very organized.

The one thing I would have changed was to skip the White Hole portion of the second dive and spent more time with the turtles.

They run a good business and I'm pretty picky.

I also don't really like guided dives, but it wasn't that bad. I'd rather do my own thing than dive with a group and come up with a group. Just too controlled for me.

The large group also scares the marine life more than just one or two people.

The boat is small for the number of divers they put on , but it's amazingly not that bad.

They have a good routine and I'd highly recommend doing this while in Bonaire. The diving is better than on the West side. There is a lack of large marine life on the West side.

Helpful?
Thank BFGDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, ID
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best. Dives. Ever.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great operation and amazing dives. The guys are awesome, friendly, and take diving very seriously. The boat is great and designed just for diving, so it works awesome. As many others stated, the dives were by far the best ones we have done in our two weeks on Bonaire. The white hole had about 70 tarpon (yes, 70) all just hanging out around us. Then Turtle City had at least 30 turtle that were just hanging out. You could get two feet away from them and they would just lay there and check you out. Very cool. We also saw lobster, HUGE sea ray, manta ray, green eels laying out on the sand, and more. Amazing dives.

The only thing is that because the east side of the island is rough, if you get motion sickness or have a hard time with rough water some Dramamine would be a good idea. The guys do a great job minimizing the time in the rough water by staying in the bay until everyone is ready to jump in.

#1 recommended thing to do on Bonaire!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaire East Coast Diving also viewed

 

Been to Bonaire East Coast Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing