We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Dives!!”

Bonaire East Coast Diving
Ranked #4 of 65 Tours in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Bonaire East Coast Diving is a specialized dive operation on the famous east side of Bonaire and we’ll be happy to share it with you. We’ll take you out for a different – better! – dive experience. Expect to see the most exciting creatures Bonaire has to offer, which you can hardly find on the leeward side of the island. Spotted eagle rays, stingrays, sharks, green moray eels, and lots of turtles are no exception on the east coast!
Nashville,TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Dives!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having done only shores dives in Bonaire, doing a boat dive with Bonaire East Coast Diving was a wonderful change. The two-tank morning dive was easily one of the best experiences we've had not only in Bonaire, but also as divers. The amount of turtles and rays we saw exceeded the amount we have ever seen in any one spot. This will definitely become on a tradition!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosietn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    24
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A good choice for diving variety on Bonaire”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

East Coast Diving offers that road less travelled on Bonaire, diving the less popular and less accessible east coast. Strictly diving from a boat, they depart from Sorobon, using a zodiac with a maximum capacity of ten divers. Ten is not a huge group, but when the dive trip is fully booked (as it was for our dive), the boat is quite fully packed, with little room to move. With eight people it would likely be much better.

The ride out to the dive sites can be choppy, depending on the wind and the waves; if you are prone to seasickness you might want to reconsider this. But for those who are not, it's not too bad, depending on the distance to the selected dive site.

The east coast diving itself is a significant contrast to the usual west side, with more pelagics and large fish, as well as turtles (which are an uncommon sight on the west side). In our case, though, visibility was not particularly good, so spotting any large fish in the distance was a challenge. We did see some rays and turtles, as well as large groupers -- and a huge lobster.

The dive guiding was OK (Fred was the better guide), but not spectacular. Again, a smaller group on that day might have resulted in more personal attention.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dives on Bonaire!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We dove with Hans and Fred on April 17th and had a blast! We dove the White Hole and one other site (I forget the name). The White Hole dive was spectacular - best dive I've ever done and I've been traveling around the Caribbean for 13 years. We saw about 125 tarpon, a huge Goliath grouper, a school of about 10 other grouper, a couple of eagle rays and 10-15 turtles. We lost count of the eagle rays and turtles we saw between the two dives.

Their service is also excellent and they make diving in the rougher seas easy. If you're going to Bonaire, it is well worth a trip to the East Side!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSproull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service. Amazing Diving”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Been diving on Bonaire for last 5 years. East Coast Diving is as good as they get. The customer service is excellent. And you see more marine life and pristine reef with them on this side of island than anywhere else on island. Hans, the captain and dive guide, is great. He is all about you having a positive experience. Diving Bonaire and not diving the east side with East Coast Diving is a tragedy in sense that you are missing the best part.
-Harold

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome dives!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We dove with East Coast Diving on 18 April 2013. What an amazing experience! First, the winds were up but the process they use makes it easy to exit and enter the boat before and after the dives, even in high swells. The guides were great, attentive but not controlling. Saw spotted eagle rays, tarpon, turtles, turtles and more turtles. We love diving Bonaire but this was our first time on the East Coast and we will definitely do it again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaire East Coast Diving also viewed

 

Been to Bonaire East Coast Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing