We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Fun”
Review of The DiveHut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The DiveHut
Ranked #5 of 21 Kralendijk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at Dive Hut on 4 visits anywhere from 7 days to 10 days. Irene and Roland , (the owners) are working hard to please their guests and are always friendly and helpful. This is a reasonably priced place but with high end service . We are avid divers and will continue to visit Bonaire, this hotel meets our needs. Hot water, ac, clean rooms, resteraunt , bar, secure units, conveniently located with large dive locker and rinse tanks and lets not forget cable tv. Rooms are nicely decorated but not lavish. Perfect for us.If you are looking for good diving with a pleasant place to stay, this is it.

Room Tip: We like the studio units because of the kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

It's simple yet very comfortable. The Dive hut is well located (walking distance to city centre, but in a very calm area so you sleep well all night long) and offers everything a diver would want in terms of infrastructure. We stayed at the studio (with small kitchen) and it was very handy as could prepare some snacks for in-between dives. Roland and Irene were simply the best, friendly from day one and it was clear to me their operation is about our satisfaction; they make you feel good about the entire experience. I recommend the Hut, and I leave my tip: Don't miss the barbecue!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although I'm familliar with the Hut, this was my first stay with the new owners Irene and Roland. The improvements they have done made a big difference for me. It's cozy, functional, clean and budget friendly. Parking is close and the new gear room with rinse tanks is a great addition. The best part (IMO) was getting to know the whole staff and most of the other guests. You usually don't get to do that at a large resort and I consider it one of the Huts best assets. Irene, Roland, Suzy and Yolanda were great hosts and truly interested in "how was your day?". After a 2 week stay, I got hugs and kisses and handshakes when I left. For me, that's what the Hut is all about. If you don't want or need frills, this hotel and the folks that run it will be a pleasant experience. All you need to do is give them the chance to prove it.

Oh, ask Roland if he wants to do a dive. He likes the Salt Pier.

John in TN

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at the Dive Hut for 2 weeks. The location is good with only a 15 minute walk into Kralendijk. If you take the route along the promenade it is a really nice walk.
I had a room, no apartment or studio. The room was basic but had a/c, refrigerator and tv as well as wifi which was very useful. There were also a table and 2 chairs. There is almost no space to put your clothes apart from 2 small shelves and a clothes rail with 4 hangers.
The rooms only get cleaned once a week and it really took a week for mine to be cleaned the first time around. Towels were changed twice in the 2 weeks, bedlinen just once.
Unfortunately no possibility to sit outside in front of the room but there is an area in the courtyard where you can sit or ask for a hammock. A pity about the rooftop terrace which would be great if there were any useable furniture and some shade provided.
You can have breakfast for $7.50 consisting of egg, cheese, ham, jam, toast and a piece of fruit plus tea or coffee, juice mostly only if you ask for it. The portions vary according to who is on duty. The dining area is lovely.
Staff are lovely and helpful. I could also keep my room on the last day as I had a late flight which was very nice of them.
If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs as you hear the a/c outside and a lot of dogs barking.
All in all I felt comfortable and would recommend the Hut.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1holidaygirl15_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Irene and Roland and the others helping do a wonderfull job, the area is cozy, studio is good.
On walking distance to Playa, and so nice to be able to rent a bike and tour around.

We enjoyed our stay, with good food and drinks, warm nice people.
Kim & Marie Louise

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great, quiet dive hotel. Our hosts treated us like family. Great set-up for diving. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneWeekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If I could give six stars I would. Roland and Irene are the best hosts hands down. I felt like I was staying at a life long friends house and could not have been more comfortable. The rooms are clean and simple. The Divehut is off of the main road in a nice quite and relaxing part of town. If you want a place to stay where you can come back from a long day of diving and have the best food on the island (Thursday night BBQ) and just relax look no further. Both Roland and Irene went well above and beyond in every aspect to make sure everyone was completely taken care of. Breakfast can not be beat anywhere on the island. There is a place at the hotel to grab a cold drink also as can be seen in the picture. After reading about the Divehut in forums I decided to give it a try from the other common hotels people talk about and I will stay no where other than the Divehut on future visits. They are partnered with Wannadive, excellent outfit, and there is tanks which are restocked every morning at the hotel. Divehut also has a safe and clean place to store your gear in with the tanks. All of the staff there is awesome and helpful as can be also. If you are trying to decide between Divehut and another hotel just stay at Divehut and be impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medicjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.1 mi away
GOOOD Resort
GOOOD Resort
#4 of 22 in Kralendijk
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#12 of 22 in Kralendijk
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BonaireFUN Appartments
BonaireFUN Appartments
#21 of 53 in Kralendijk
105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 21 in Kralendijk
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The DiveHut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The DiveHut

Address: Kaya Dialma 11, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Kralendijk
Price Range: $66 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The DiveHut 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DiveHut Bonaire offers convenient basic accomodations at the most attractive rates on Bonaire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The DiveHut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The DiveHut Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing