We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Dive Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wannadive Bonaire

Wannadive Bonaire
Certificate of Excellence
Hee, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Dive Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wannadive is a small, open minded, friendly and flexible diveschool. I've done 2 boat dives and 8 shore dives with them and all the dives showed a different piece of the under water paradise at Bonaire. In one word "beautiful". Plenty of full air bottles were available at all times and gear stuff could be stored either at "Wannadive" or "the Dive Hut". When my dive computer leaked at one O-ring, Bart fixed it within no time and he was happy enough with a bottle of beer in return. Cheers Bart, great service! Julie guided most of the shore dives I've made. When you look at this friendly tiny little lady, you might think, what is she doing here. Funny to see her driving the pick up truck, barely touching the foot pedal, but driving with no fear at all! So be warned and don't under estimate her because she is an excellent and well experienced dive instructor! She was also so kind to loan me a DIN adapter and purchase me a new one as well. Thanks Julie, thanks Bart and the rest of the team. I hope to dive with Wannadive in the near future again and in the meantime...keep up the good work!!

Dominique

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    49
    14
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, Bonaire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and easy-going”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ofcourse everyone has their own experience and is entitled to their own opinion. But my experience was totallly different than the last reviews. I did an open water course with Julia as DM. She was very friendly and made me feel very comfortable and safe. The atmosphere at Wannadive is very relaxed and easy-going. Maybe some think it's disorganised, for me it just felt relaxed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpaul21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“disorganized and not safe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Seriously consider spending a bit more money and diving with someone else. They break a lot of rules, really see this place as an accident waiting to happen.

-not checking certification before diving.
-diving below 60ft for open water cert.
-weights in bcd (Zip pockets) instead of weight belt.
equipment room in complete disorder, saw a few regs on the floor.
-very young staff, not friendly and more eager to party and dive the concern for client safety.
-tanks are not full, usually at 2600psi to 2900psi. O rings on tanks are old and leak.

Not to say all of the staff was bad, just the ones we dealt with seem very young, inexperienced and disinterested in customer service. Maybe just the location at eden beach? Will not be diving with them again. Too many broken rules to feel comfortable diving with. Personally would rather pay the extra $10 and dive with another outfit.

Helpful?
13 Thank bing45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unsafe operation, DM and instructors too young and immature to run the shop.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Wanna Dive had such good reviews and was recommended by the place we are staying at, we thought, hey, this should be awesome!!! Alas, the staff was unfriendly, especially Julia, the shop was extremely disorganized, and like what Julia said, it is really stupid we didn't get an orientation. Indeed, we didn't get one because Julia made us go on a dive the minute we got there. 

We had to get the marine park tags, but we were rushed, so of course there was no explanation of preservation of the park. But isn't it mandatory to get an orientation of the marine park? Wanna Dive asked us right away to drive to salt pier, and there was no introduction and not even a thanks for driving. 

We get to the venue and we were not followed up on buddy check and rushed in the water. Big no no, glad my buddy and I still checked each other. 

Other experiences include disorganization in the schedule. We had booked with our accommodations, that we will do a total of 3 guided dives and the 2nd and 3rd one were not in the book. How do u run a shop when there isn't a schedule?

Sebastian  came to guide us on 1 of the dives. Apparently he is a DM in training. It was his first time leading, and he almost ran out of air. Nice kid, passionate and vivacious, but definitely needs more experience. 

Be sure to check you SPG when u get their tanks. Most of them are only up to 1600- 2800, not 3000 psi. But of course some kid with loud headphones was filling the tanks. 

Also don't listen to the kids on putting the weights in the zippered pockets. What happens if u need to dump them? 

Their water cups are reused, great if they wash them properly. But not when they just dunk them in the regulator tank. 

We had a voucher but Julia and Bas had no idea what to do with it. Luckily Carlos stepped in to tell us they keep it. 

The shop closes right at 5pm. We tried to settle up the bill, but they said sorry come back tomorrow. 

So in conclusion, if u don't care about the safety of your life, go with Wanna Dive. If you do care, then you cherish your only life. 

Helpful?
13 Thank Aceroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

were in Bonaire for 6 days and the possibility of unlimited air at any time was excellent. however most of the members of staff of Eden Beach were not friendly or nice in no time. the staff is very young and I think it should be someone with more authority than children.

Helpful?
9 Thank Nathaliedelpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tredlens, Owner at Wannadive Bonaire, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We do not usually respond to reviews on tripadvisor as we believe in the value of unbiased opinions of guests AND we are confident we do as good a job as possible. Wannadive is a business located on the property of Eden Beach Resort, a property we share with the hotel and Spice Beach Club, each a separate entity. As we also each have our own personell, we'd like to point out that it is not the Wannadive personell being mentioned, but that of Eden Beach, which could mean our own personell, the personell of Spice Beach Club, that of Eden Beach Resort or all. Should it be our personell that was indicated, we would love to get more feedback, as we always strive to improve. Please contact us at info@wannadive.com Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wannadive Bonaire also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Wannadive Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing