We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowalie

Bowalie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bowalie is a luxurious and comfortable cabin sail boat. It's a 12,40m Gibsea 402 Master. This gorgeous sail boat was built by Gibert Marine. The boat's fast, very well equipped and fitted with many conveniences. There's a swimming deck with stairs at the back of the boat so you can easily get back on board again after a refreshing dive. Use the freshwater shower at the back to have a nice shower down. Of course there is a toilet on board and a place for you to change behind locked doors and to store your belongings. A true sailing boat for you to enjoy The Bowalie is well known for top class sailing. It's not without reason that the Bowalie has a track record of two years as winner of the International Bonaire Sailing Regatta in 2010 & 2011, third place in 2012 and second place in Racing Class in 2013. In 2013, the boat has been out of the water for a great overhaul and we are proud to present Bowalie back in the water as a state of the art sailing vessel. Brand new copper based anti fowling, new sails, new paint job, freshly polished deck and many new features. Bowalie is reborn and as new again.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We loved our Bonaire sunset sail on the Bowalie with Liezeth and Walter. What a great couple to spend a couple of hours with and what a wonderful boat...and the views!!! Wow... The food and beverages were perfect, too. Really could not beat this for one of our last evenings on our trip. yep...PERFECT.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Evonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We went back to Bonaire to sail again on Bowalie. And we had angreat time again! Nice sailing, beautiful snorkeling and very friendly couple! Thanks again, hope we can get back again...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The next best thing to owning your own yacht.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

On a recent cruise with Princess, we chose to do some sailing in Bonaire. Bowalie fit the ticket perfectly. Our small family of five adults felt like the boat belonged to us. The yacht only accommodates 8 passengers, so it felt very private. The owners Walter and Liezeth were extremely knowledgeable and very friendly and included all of us in the conversation and answered many of our questions about Bonaire as well as about the boat, which by the way, was beautifully maintained. Our nephew, who is 25, was given the privilege of sailing the yacht. He loved it. Our party was made up of two other guests, a mother and a teenage son and he was also given the chance to man the helm and was just as thrilled. We went snorkeling off of Bonaire and the water was wonderful. A perfect day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is an exellent excursion offered thru Princess Cruise line. Very peaceful. Great snorkeling. Very nice couple sails the yacht. It is easy to visit with others because it is so quiet and peaceful. The morning we went was not real windy at first so we just rode over to a nice spot to snorkel. Very calm waters. About the time we were finished snorkeling the wind started picking up. Perfect for sailing around seeing the sites. There are only 8 people allowed to sign up so I imagine they stay booked. It was a great experience. Highly recommend!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sharonkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
“SAILING AND SNORKELING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We recently sailed and snorkeled for the second time with Walter and Liezeth. They are wonderful host's. I booked through their website http://www.bowalie.com/ since Holland America have their tour listed. We started with a very nice sail and then stopped to snorkel. After snorkeling they had sandwiches, beer, wine and sodas while we sailed back to the marina. I highly recommend this tour while in Bonaire. The max number is eight people so it is very intimate and reasonable in price.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowalie also viewed

 

Been to Bowalie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing