We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly restaurant”

Eddy's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 127 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Eddy's!We are a family run and owned restaurant. When you are here we want you to feel at home. Our Cuisine is a delicious melting pot, drawing ingredients and methods from French, Colombian and Venezuelan cuisine, combining them with the native foods and recipes of the island. Come and experience these unique flavors and relaxed & friendly ambiance of the Caribbean.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, friendly restaurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ate here multiple times over two week dive trip and were never disappointed. Great service and wonderful food. This is a family-owned restaurant with every family member sporting advanced professional college degrees. The younger generation seems to be focussing on the hospitality industry -- and doing quite well. We ate there so much that we got to know the family well enough to even risk asking for something off menu (chef's choice), and it was of course delicious!
Eddy's is very convenient to two large dive resorts (Buddy Dive and Captain Don's Habitat), so there are often no cars in the parking lot because guests walk the few steps to the restaurant. If you are coming from further away, do not let the lack of cars deter you. Stopping for a meal will be well worth your time.
Memorable menu items include a really tasty soup (ajuaca if we remember correctly), chicken curry, anything they make with shrimp -- heck, our group of 4 tried almost everything on the menu and couldn't find a loser in the bunch. (We should mention that the Big Ed burger is pretty intimidating in size however. Our diner had it for both supper and lunch). Even the basket of "chips" for the table was memorable and delicious (long strips of fried banana with a pico de gallo sauce for dipping).
We visited Eddy's most often for dinner, but they are open for breakfast and lunch, and even have a swimming pool. There are plenty of tables and parking, and the ambiance is relaxed and inviting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    121
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fine Carib Cuisine”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Tried more reknown Kralendijk places but this was the best. Friendly atmosphere, excellent hamburgers and the better fish platters make you go for their specialties e.g. stewed goat meat & Peruvian cevice. Simply loved it, we came back again and again. Didn't even try the pool or the tenniscourt that go with the restaurant. All the great drinks, super friendly people, value for money!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PVR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the food, the atmosphere, and the service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Wonderful family run restaurant that was our favorite place to decompress. The food is amazing!! Go early on Saturday for a fantastic omelette. You cannot go wrong stopping here

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 8leslieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relatively simple, but very nice”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is the first restaurant I have found on the Island, so far, that serves goat. I like that and had it many times in remote "local eateries" on the Canary islands. So I had no difficulty choosing my main course. Other than that, choices were a bit limited. We (4) shared some appetizers and one of us tried the Bloody Mary entree. I got to sample that and it was very nice and spicey. My cabrito was nice, too. Tasty chunks in a thick sauce that I suspect had some laurel in it, and with surprisingly little fat. From past experiences on the Canary islands I was aware of possible bone fragments (there they just chop up larger pieces with a meat axe resulting in sharp bone splinters). Here, too, there were some fragments, although much less so. Just eat carefully and there's no problem, though.
Service was very friendly and quick, and prices were absolutely reasonable (around $ 110 for 4 without drinks/tip).
The seats are all-wood and may become uncomfortable after a while, but there was no problem getting a cushion from a lounge chair elsewhere in the building.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and hamburgers”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was some of the best food of our trip. My only complaint would be that we did know what hours they were open. Our Condo was just feet from them and we would have loved to grab evening meals there, but we thought they were only open for breakfast and lunch. Service was fast and friendly. Plently of food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nisswavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddy's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Eddy's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing