We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Dinner with Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Barca - CLOSED

La Barca
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New Restaurant- fabulous food! Reasonably priced
longIsland NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner with Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

It really is amazing that La Barca doesn't have a line of people waiting to enter! Maybe it is because it is slightly north of town, but it is definitely worth the short walk. First off the location right by the water is amazing & the sunset view is breathtaking. As with most places around sunset, bugspray is necessary (which our server provided us with more!).
The service we received was literally the best we've ever had! Duena, the waitress was AMAZING, she was professional, friendly, and made the dining experience one we won't soon forget.
The pizza was BY FAR the best we had on Bonaire- cooked perfectly... we even made a 2nd trip back for it. $5 large glasses of wine & La Barca pasta with spicy sausage were also excellent.
The prices are reasonable considering the waterfront location.
Try to go at sunset & unless something is seriously wrong with you- it will be a great experience!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Last Night Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have a tradition to have dinner the last night at La Barca because we know we will not be disappointed and will have a last day of good memories to take home

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
“Mixed experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

The restaurant looks nice and has a perfect position, right on the shore, so you can enjoy a beautiful sunset.
However, the positive aspects stop here. The food was sub-par (I would strongly recommend against the pizza with potatoes, plus my 4-year old daughter stopped eating her ice-cream less than halfway through!) and the waiter was slow. Most of all, when we had to pay a 75 USD with a 100 USD bill, we only got back 5 dollars! Don't get me wrong, I use to tip, but it's my call when and how much...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belnem, Bonaire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect sunset dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful fish dishes, outside seating, right by the waterfront so bring your camera for the green flash!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank greystoneslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super meal, prices fair, best on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I ate there in March of 2012. The food was great. Fresh homeade pasta and the two sauces we had were top rate. I was raised in an Italian family and I am very picky about Itailian food. This was superb. We also had a bottle of Italian Merlot that was very nice and reasonably priced at only $20 US. We were suprised that it was almost empty while some of the other over priced and over rated restauraunts we packed. It is only a little further walk from the downtown area and well worth the few extra steps. The service was great and the sunset views are fantastic. This is a true gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing