We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, personal and everything you need!”
Review of Djambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Djambo
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Relaxing, personal and everything you need!”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had a great time at Djambo. Dick & Liselotte and Martin & Ilse are the owners, they're very friendly and one of them is always around to answer your questions (they live on the property). The rooms are very spacious, have a great kitchen and are super comfortable. We were on the second floor and had the perfect caribbean breeze... My husband I especially liked how the room was set up, with the bedroom being able to shut off completely (if you wanted to turn on the ac at night) and the kitchen/dining/living area being more open air with big sliding doors that overlooked the pool/courtyard.

I believe that most of Djambo's customers are from The Netherlands, but I would highly recommend Djambo to Americans. Especially if you are an American who prefers a smaller boutique hotel, rather than an all inclusive or a large resort.

One other thing that we found really great about Djambo was that they offered a dive package, which was the room, the rental of a four-door truck and unlimited tanks through a local dive shop, Dive Friends. Djambo's location is also great for diving. They are just south of town near all of the great southern dive sites... But they are still close enough to the city center for a walk downtown to eat...

Other details to mention... the pool is great, large and SO refreshing after a day of diving. And it's so fun to sit at the bar with a drink and chat with the other guests and the owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLC80303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
127
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a real paradise. Djambo is a new appartment complex, with really nice appartements. It's a very clean and an intimate complex. The bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is complete. There is a safe, WIFI. and a very good airconditioner. You have a really nice terrace where you can enjoy the nice view over the swimmingpool, palmtrees and the bar. The Bar is opened every dag. The owners are always in for fun and are very nice. They also know the best places to be in Bonaire. They can give you advise where to dive, where to snorkel or where you can eat at best. Djambo is located nearby the airport, the centre of Kralendijk and the sea. We are comming again next year. To the owners: thank you for making it a perfect holiday and we' ve enjoyed your company!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonaire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our holiday in Bonaire. Bonaire is truly a beautiful place to be. We stayed with 2 families at Djambo in their brand new 2 bedroom apartments. The location is excellent nearby kralendijk city centre. Djambo is the perfect place to relax and to enjoy the beautiful large pool. The apartment are brand new and have airconditioning in the bedrooms. Wifi is provided aswell. The organize every wednesday a barbecue wich is a must do- enjoy the nice food and relax at their cosy bar.

We really enjoyed our stay at Djambo the owners are the best! They were very helpfull and told us the best locations and must see on Bonaire.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathijsdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just perfect! Good location, apartments are great, clean and very nice staff.
I will definitely book here again for my next trip (business or leisure) to Bonaire.

Marloes

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloesCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Djambo is a new resort and suitable for all kinds of trips, one thing stands out, it is very relaxing and a beautfull designed place with lots of eye for the small details. The kitchen is fully equiped, isolation is great, you cannot hear any noises, which can be handy if you're there on a business trip. The bar is open from 5 PM till 7.30 so after a hard day's work you can have a relaxing drink. All good restaurants are in walking distance, the airport is a 5 minute trip. I love it and am looking forward to returning next week.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjaRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville,tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Djambo is a recently built, complex close to town and is halfway between everything. The fully furnished open air kitchen overlooks the swimming pool with sliding louver doors that can be fully opened or closed depending on the sun and amount of privacy required. A room safe is located in the closet. The entire complex is spotless. A rinse tank is located out in the parking area with wheel barrels available to take your dive equipment to a locked storage area on the other side of the swimming pool. The Pool was a relaxing place to unwind and cool off from a tough day of diving. The bar is next to the pool, free wireless internet is available in the bar area.
A great advantage of Djambo is that Martin and Dick the co-owners live on the property and at least one is available at all times to ask questions about the diving and other island interests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

As a Windsurfer I like to visit Bonaire and if you're there more frequently, the financial side is important too. The brand new Djambo offers a great quality-pricing balance.

The centre is at walking distance, spacious clean rooms with a nice 'open livingroom' concept, large pool, nice pool bar. Your own safety-deposit box gives you a safe feeling.

The owners themselves live on the premises and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible without being too present. They can provide many pointers - handy! The car they organized for me was dropped off at the complex and was competitively priced.

You can do your own thing at Djambo, but also without a partner it is a good spot to be: the social pool bar opens at 5pm (well, Bonaire time: 5:15..) and the owners are always in for a chat.

Great spot, I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djambo

Property: Djambo
Address: Kaya Finlandia 11, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Djambo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Djambo consists of 15 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom apartments. All apartments face the good sized swimming pool with sun deck. The pool is centrally located as well as the cozy bar: Djambar. Enjoy, laugh, drink or read a book, it is all possible. We have fresh water tanks to rinse your water sports gear and there is a locker on the premises. There is free Wireless Internet for the guests of Djambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Djambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djambo Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing