We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic is the word”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Djambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Djambo
Certificate of Excellence
langdorp
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“basic is the word”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Appartements with all amenities they announce on their website.
Pro: nice swimming pool, big terrace
Neg: 2 single beds pretending to be a double.bad quality mattress
Furniture basic
No soap
No kitchen paper
No bath mat
Lousy location
Cleaning every 4 days

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mikLangdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
127
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The exterior and layout of the "resort" is very pretty, but the location near a swamp(?) makes for massive numbers of mosquitoes residing alongside the occupants. Then again, the entire island has lots of mosquitoes everywhere. Since the living-dining area is an open space with only sliding doors for privacy, the only real refuge is in the bedroom. Still, the mosquitoes find their way in there. The bedroom is minimalistic and very dark with just one tiny window that doesn't let in much light. While the place claims to be a "resort," it is far from our definition of a resort. It's more like a cluster of apartments surrounding a pristine swimming pool in a middle of a residential/commercial area. The owners tried to create a "beach" in the back with hammocks, but the infestation of sand flies biting you as try to lie on the hammock is not at all relaxing. I've never seen anyone actually lie on the hammock for very long. They do a very good job of keeping the place clean. The owners are quite nice and can direct you to some recommended places for snorkeling and sightseeing. The kitchen is fully equipped with just the basics, nothing fancy. I just wish the place didn't have so many mosquitoes. We spent many nights hunting them instead of sleeping. Note: you are allowed a quota for electricity usage during your stay. If you go over that quota, you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacredtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Djambo came to our rescue when we turned up at our planned accommodation and they knew nothing about us. We were taken to our room on the upper landing (14) and shown the ins and out of it, free wifi, a/c and the safe and then the great kitchen/patio area.
The room overlooked the bar area / pool area and had a great view when the sunset. The rooms were kept clean and towels were changed when ever you put them in the basket outside your door, there is a great area for you to keep your dive gear next to room 5 and there are wheelbarrows to take your kit to the car park where the cleaning station is for all your gear.
Your given 3 keys on arrival, 1 for your room, 1 for the dive storage area and 1 for the gate to get into the complex.
Djambo is in a great location, 5 minute drive to the supermarket, dive shops, petrol station, local shops, restaurant's, and the airport (but the airport noise does not affect you in anyway).

We have never been made to feel more welcome by Martin, Ilse, Dick and Liselotte (sorry if I've spelt it wrong), anything you need they were always on hand as both couples live on the complex, and if you need them out of hours there is an emergency intercom you can use.

There are only 17 rooms built around the pool and bar area and are stocked with everything you need, pots and pans, plates, cutlery, continental oven,4 gas rings, kettle and coffee maker.

We've been lucky and travelled a lot but I can honestly say this is the best holiday I have ever been on, it was so relaxed the diving was great and again the accommodation was fantastic, so much so we are going back in March for another 2 weeks.

Thanks again for a great holiday, see you soon.

Eileen & Billy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Djambo is a unique little resort. It is small and so you do not feel like another number and actually feel a bit like a member of the family invited down for the week. The owners and atmosphere is primarily Dutch, but everyone speaks English and true to Dutch standards they are very hospitable.

Location is not on the water, but is still quite convenient for being able to go north or south on the island and to easily get to a Dive Friend location and getting new air tanks.

The apartments allow flexibility in that you can eat as inexpensively as you like by buying groceries down the street (we found the Van Den Tweel to be nice and reasonably priced for being on an island). You can also eat out as often as you like at any place across the Island and spend all the extra money you saved from your room on meals. Apartments do not have a microwave though, so all cooking must be via stove top or toaster oven.

Djambo also uses air through Dive Friends which is another nice operation. The staff there is quite helpful and patient and their 4 locations that we visited (5 in total) were all quite nice and convenient for swapping out air tanks when headed either north or south for the day.

As still beginner divers (<50 dives) we were a bit more apprehensive in not having a group to go out with or set dives and such like with other resorts. In the end though we are much happier for this experience as we learned so much more and are now much more comfortable diving and thoroughly enjoyed setting our own schedule, pace and dive location not to mention being able to alter as desired for sleeping in later in the morning or taking a long lunch and a short nap.

Overall, a great experience. Can't wait for an opportunity to go back to Bonaire and definitely to stay again at Djambo.

Room Tip: Advantage to the second floor is that it can feel more private to keep your doors open and enjoy a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeTraveler128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Djambo was a wonderful, relaxing place to stay for a week with a great deal on the package with room, tanks, and rental. It is owned by 2 couples who are very kind and hospitable. Place was clean with a full kitchenette on the balcony overlooking the pool-a great place to have coffee and breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to town, the shops, restaurants, and waterfront.
I would definitely stay here again. Great for singles, couples, friends, and families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmeow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at djambo for nearly 2 weeks and loved it. The set up of the complex/resort is very clever, relaxed and above all small and personal. Only 16 rooms all situated around the pool. The
Ayout of the rooms is also very clever. You have everything you need. The is an outdoor kitchen so you can do your own cooking if you want to. The beds are comfortable, comfortable bathroom, a safe. The pool is great, its a relaxed place to soak up the sun when you're not diving or exploring the island. They have special lockers for dive and surf gear. There is even a small bar (try the sangria!).
Djambo is located in walking distance from the center of kralendijk and the big supermarkets.
The owners live on the property and are always at your service. You can tell that they love their jobs.
Great place ro stay, we would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level to easily go ipto your kitchen from your pool chair ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

You feel really welcome in this friendly small resort. The ownwers are always at the resort in case you need something. Nice rooms, fine beds (not too hard), outside kitchen, well maintained, nice swimmingpool. beautiful garden with lots of birds.

Room Tip: appartments at the back of the resort have less noise problem when the bar is open (17.30-19.30)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.3 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bamboo Bali Bonaire - Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djambo

Property: Djambo
Address: Kaya Finlandia 11, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Djambo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Djambo consists of 15 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom apartments. All apartments face the good sized swimming pool with sun deck. The pool is centrally located as well as the cozy bar: Djambar. Enjoy, laugh, drink or read a book, it is all possible. We have fresh water tanks to rinse your water sports gear and there is a locker on the premises. There is free Wireless Internet for the guests of Djambo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Djambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djambo Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing