We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and delicious restaurant in Bonaire!”
Review of Appetite - CLOSED

Appetite
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome, and thank you for visiting Appetite Bonaire online.Located in the historic city centre of Kralendijk, Appetite delivers an evening of pure, fresh, contemporary cuisine in a relaxed Caribbean patio setting.Dine a la carte or come and enjoy our signature 3, 4 or 5 course Chef's Menu and let yourself be surprised by the creativity of our kitchen. Pair your meal with one of our fine wines or let our knowledgeable service staff make the decision for you.Appetite...The Dining Experience
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious restaurant in Bonaire!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We made dinner reservations around 7:30 pm and opted to sit outside in the courtyard. I recommend this because there is typically a nice breeze outside which serves the dual purpose of keeping you cool and keeping the bugs away!
Our wait staff was delightful, very attentive, and explained the concept of the restaurant, similar to "tapas," the chef uses fresh ingredients to create "appetizers" that are extremely creative and delicious! The menu selections looked very good, but we opted to do the three course tasting menu, and I would definitely recommend that to anyone. I was afraid that the portions might be too small, and we would still be hungry afterward, but we certainly were not! Everything was absolutely delicious, well prepared, perfectly presented, and explained by the waitstaff upon presentation. For your final course in the three course menu, you can choose between another "main" course or dessert. We chose dessert, and it was fabulous. Homemade mango sherbet, chocolate molten cake, and a raspberry mousse. Yum!
We also opted to do wine pairings with each course, which was fun, and not something you will see at many places in Bonaire.
All said-go check out Appetite, you won't be disappointed, if/when we return to Bonaire, we will certainly go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krnesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    64
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do the tasting menu, you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Walked in at 6 PM, chose a seat in the breezy courtyard. Staff attentive and gave great recommendations. It seems the vision of the chef is to provide a tasting menu to allow versatility and use of fresh ingredients to be the star. 3 courses (all large appetizers) was plenty of food with a dessert to split. Fish, scallop, shrimp and Parma ham in a boulliabaise sauce with mashed potato and asparagus; Smoked beef tenderloin with a Philo roll of cheese, nuts and honey, pinenuts, fresh mango, stewed pears, crouton and greens; Stewed veal over potato gratin in a red wine reduction with zucchini, carrot and endive.
The pace is at your choosing. Tarte tatin for dessert with vanilla ice cream. Would go back again, every day is different. You can ask for foods you would like omitted or those you would prefer - a very delicious and gracious dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Put it on your list”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Anyone traveling to Bonaire should go to Appetite at least once. Make sure you go on a night with a good breeze. We had the 4 course tasting menu and could have easily done with just the three course. The staff was attentive and knowledgable about the food. Put your dinner in the chef's hands and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We satisfied our Appetite twice in one week”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We walked in off the street one night and the food and service were excellent. We liked it so much we went back a couple of days later. Menu is creative but doesn't try too hard. We loved the setting. The tables are comfortably spaced and you're still outside, but off the road.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrueBlue337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find on the main shopping street”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A group of us recently visited Bonaire and not wanting to eat at the resort set out to eat at a local restaurant every evening. Appetite was our hands down favorite. In addition to the standard menu items they offer a tasting menu consisting of appetizer sized plates. The six course selection was excellent. From fresh tuna sashimi to a trie chocolate dessert finish, it did not disappoint. We ate there twice while on the island. Would highly reccomend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottC448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appetite also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing