We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sailing and snorkeling trip in Bonaire”
Review of Compass Sailing

Compass Sailing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax, sail and snorkel..today! We sail and snorkeling in the marine park of Bonaire and Klein Bonaire. For our cruise ship visitors we offer a special marine park sail and snorkel tour.For hotel guest we have also a Dinner at Sea tour. Aboard you will be pampered with home made snacks and free drinks, all prepared by your experienced chef and captain Wim.See you soon!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful sailing and snorkeling trip in Bonaire”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was a wonderful sailing and snorkeling trip in Bonaire with Wim and Gigi. We arrived on a cruise ship and Wim met us right outside the port. He then drove us to a harbor where we boarded his beautiful sailboat for sailing to Klein Bonaire for snorkeling. The ride on the sailboat is in itself worth a trip. Gigi had a plentiful supply of delicious snacks and drinks throughout the course of sailing. On reaching Klein Bonaire, we jumped off in the waters for an hour long snorkeling with Gigi. Basically, we swam up to the beach, then walked along the beach to snorkel back with the drift of water back to the boat. This was very relaxing as we were essentially snorkeling with the current. We saw many tropical fishes and corals in the underwater world of Klein Bonaire. Having snorkeled in Bora Bora, my expectations were a tad too high but Bonaire fared well in the overall snorkeling experience. Both Wim and Gigi were excellent hosts and we loved their hospitality. All in all, this is a highly recommended trip in Bonaire.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    13
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich Ma. USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Compass Sailing Bonaire Is Terrific!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I recently took a sunset cruise with Compass Sailing Bonaire and I had a terrific time.
This is the second time I have sailed with Wim and Marianne and it was great! They are
attentive and fun to be with. They make sure that their guests have a thoroughly
enjoyable experience. I highly recommend them!

Jeff Croll
Sandwich Ma. USA

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience with Compass”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were a party of 7 (2 families) and we all loved our snorkelling trip with Compass Sailing on the 4 hrs sailing and snorkelling tour on April 19, 2012. We came off from Emerald Princess. My wife doesn't know how to swim but Gigi was so patient with her and assist her all the way from the boat to shore and back and my wife really appreciated her assistance as she enjoyed her snorkelling for her 1st time. Lots of food and drinks were offered duirng the entire trip. Thanks Wim, Maryanne and Gigi for all your hospitality. You made our vacation a very memorable one. I would definitely recommend you to whoever will be visiting Bonaire and had half a day to spare.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kingofsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute a must when visiting Bonaire”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a day on the Compass. Wim and Gigi were perfect as hosats. We stopped for 3 snorkel times and were never rushed back aboard the ship. Each stop we made was outstanding. So many fish and great coral. We would recommend this trip to anyone who would listen. Wim also suggested we attend the Taste of Bonaire later in the week and were glad - we tasted many foods - even Wim's specialty, which was delicious. Gigi is so much fun to have as a guide and very excited to share a glimpse of something we may not have noticed. A great trip and good memories of a wonderful vacation - we are already planning a return which will include the Compass! Phyllis, Karl and Deborah

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling trip..”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Compass had too many people that day...And we were sailed by a boat named Nouagati...owner of which was a Dutch family...Martin, Saskiya and Sil (their 10-11 year old boy)...we sailed for one hour and reached Klein, Absolutely beautiful place to snorkel...Klein is recongized as one of the best places in the world to snorkel..and truly so...so many colorful schools of fishes, corals...one hour just passed in a blink of an eye....we would definitely return to bonnaire for snorkel...after the snorkel we returned to the dock again by sailing back another hour...

Last but not the least I have to mention the wonderful hospitability of this family...it felt to us that we are guests in their house...Saskiya constanly offered us food and drinks...she showed her own cookbook and shared stories of her life...all in our boat immediately felt like we are a family...a 5 star falls short of the experience that we got...highly recommended...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank anirban_basu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compass Sailing also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Compass Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing