We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Donna & Giorgio

Donna & Giorgio
Ranked #31 of 127 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We live in the NYC area and frequently dine out at great restaurants. Donna & Giorgio can hold a candle to the best of the best. We dined here twice for dinner during a recent two week stay in Bonaire, and each meal was nothing short of superb. At the time of writing, the restaurant is open for dinner two nights per week - Tuesday and Friday.

The restaurant is small and the lighting is low. We loved the atmosphere, which was eclectic with mismatched personal touches all over each wall. I prefer this funky decor to some of the sterile, ultra-bright, ultra modern restaurants on the island.

Donna was on site offering menu tips and wine recommendations. She is friendly, approachable and lovely. Overall, we had wonderful service and felt very welcome here.

Now on to the most important aspect of this review - the food. The cuisine here is expertly prepared, fresh, inventive and delectable. We did not have one morsel that fell short of outstanding. I had pasta on both visits, and my husband had meat dishes. We also had the avocado salad, which was possibly the best salad I've ever eaten. The menu changes nightly and consists of 3-4 appetizers and 6-7 entrees.

I'm looking forward to dining here on my next visit to Bonaire.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv4travelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    67
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Aruba
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food tasted like it was warmed over”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The dining room was too dark and messy and felt more like a pub instead of a restaurant. I ordered a pasta dish with lamb, and it tasted like bad Dominican food. I found the hallway to the restrooms much more interesting than the dining room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Asmodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality was good, quantity was not”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

For the price, I expected more. My wife had the pasta and meat sauce, she said it was good, but felt short of being excellent. I had ordered what I thought was a sandwich, which was more of a salad on a piece of pita bread. Was no where close to what I expected. It was okay, but nothing I would go back for.

It was however a very cute place and the staff was very friendly. Everyones taste are different, so I would still recommend people try this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy4925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian options!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here and really enjoyed it. I had a sandwich and my boyfriend had the eggplant parm. Both were really good. It's a quite, small place with very little seating. The waiter was very nice and helpful when we asked about vegetarian options.

Helpful?
Thank merrillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mixed experience.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My lasagna was wonderful..but my husbands lamb shanks were fatty...have been there before for lunch which was excellent. Limited offering for dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna & Giorgio also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Donna & Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing