We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice food, good live music on sunday's, gentle staff, gorgeous view.
Perfect to "turn off" your mental agenda and concerns.
Makes you feel like a tourist in your own island.
a great progressive job that can only get better. Congratulations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CityCafeBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sorobon was lovely, quiet, and a perfect location for us as windsurfers. The cottages are simple, clean and well equipped and the beach is fabulous. The staff members that we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful. There are a few things we'd like the owners to consider: please make wifi available throughout the resort and in the cottages. We can do without tv, but wifi, especially for families is a must-have. Please consider installing air con in the living areas of some of the cottages. We booked a 2 bedroom, which turned out to be 2 cottages side by side. We really didn't need all that room - our tween could easily have slept on the day bed in the living area if there was air con (and we would have paid a price between the cost of a 1 br and 2 br for this service). We didn't eat any meals at the restaurant because we felt the prices were too high. It would have been fun to stay for the beach bbq night and to meet some of the other guests but it was very expensive. We went to the beach bbq nights at Jibe City and Plaza Resort and both were very festive, well attended, good food, and much, much less expensive. We had a rental car so it was easy for us to get to the supermarket or try some of the inexpensive restaurants around the island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windsurfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I've been to Bonaire 2 times with my family and I really fall in love with it. Of course Sorobon helps me a lot ;) If you want GREAT SEA, great relax and great food...you are on the right way!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Although secluded from any nightlife, Sorobon is a very nice and relaxing beach resort. The cabins are air-conditioned; the beach bar is great; the beach is quite spacious and clean; open air restaurant; and the food is fantastic .

The few drawbacks I feel need to be mentioned are: that the cabins do not have TV (no problem for me, but if you have children it may be an issue); no wi-fi in the cabins, but wi-fi available in the restaurant/lobby area; it's most difficult to keep sand from getting absolutely everywhere (even in the beds); although the restaurant very nice, the mosquitos will eat you alive at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melnfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

While I was at Sorobon I've read the reviews and also the only one negative review where someone complained about sorobon and the new owners. Just to keep my review simple and short, nothing of these things are even near to the truth. Sorobon is great, relaxing and unique. I will be back as soon and and much as possible.

Room Tip: ask for the "direct-on-the-beach" rooms for a little extra you have the most amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bonbiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

As you can see from the reviews here, one tends to either love the Sorobon or hate it. And apart from some relatively minor management issues, I think your experience of the Sorobon depends entirely on what your holiday focus and interests are.

First of all, the Sorobon has a fabulous location. All cottages have a view of the most beautiful turquoise tropical bay you are ever likely to see. The beach is lovely and sandy (something of a rarity on Bonaire), the water shallow (this is probably the only beach in Bonaire without a drop-off), and as the entire (huge) bay is barely waist deep, this is an ideal spot if you have children, especially small children, or if you are an avid windsurfer. There are two windsurfing places next door offering rentals and instruction. They have good shops attached and one has a nice little beach bar with good food and reasonable prices.

It is also an ideal location if you want to lie on a deck chair and work on your tan. The Sorobon is quite peaceful, and the grounds are nicely landscaped, filled with flowers, birds and butterflies. The tiny, amusing Bananaquits joined us daily for breakfast, and we put a little dish of juice out for them daily on our deck...makes for great photos.

We used their meal plan for breakfast and they put on a nice spread. We dined there a few evenings and the food was actually pretty good...**be aware that Bonaire is NOT a good destination for foodies**. Most meals are crashingly mediocre and you get tired not only of the boring food but the Michelin Star pricing. Eating out in Bonaire is expensive, and usually disappointing. So the Sorobon actually compares rather favourably with the local restaurants, and even has kid friendly, inexpensive items on the menu. The pumpkin soup was delicious!

There are two big drawbacks to the Sorobon. The first is the sand flies. We arrived during the "rainy" season and while waiting in the outdoor lobby to check in (our rooms were not quite ready), we were bitten alive. No one suggested we slather on mosquito spray, bottles of which should be on every table. Because a lot of the resort is built on decking over the sand, the sand underneath cannot be raked to break up the sandfly nests. So in spite of reasonably diligent raking of the beach and sandy paths, the place is a sandfly palace. And the bites are horribly itchy. Sandflies make mosquitoes look like...well, flyweights!

The second big drawback is the mosquitoes. A lot of the Sorobon's spaces are open air, and that includes the dining areas and the wifi access lounge area. And since there is a small but persistent risk of Dengue fever in Bonaire, it is very important to minimize your load of mosquito bites. So be sure to have the overhead fans on when you sit and eat or wifi, and don't forget your mosquito repellant. Again, the hotel should have spray bottles scattered about.

Smaller issues were: cottage layouts were cramped and inconvenient, my favourite features being the fact that the tiny fridge door opens into the bathroom door, so if you are using the fridge, you can't get in or out of the bath or bedroom. And BTW, do not come to the Sorobon thinking you are really getting a kitchen. The fridge is miniscule, the cooker is a hot plate, and the kitchen is NOT fully stocked. There is no way mom is going to have any fun preparing family meals in the Sorobon cottages. No way. Add to that no dishwashing liquid, no tea towels or dishcloths. Nope. None. And certainly no dishwasher. So buy a meal plan.

Note too that there are NO grocery stores nearby. If you want to cook for yourself, you need a vehicle to drive into town for groceries. Which you will have to do often as the fridge and cupboard space is teensy.

I too ran into maintenance and safety issues. Our screens were ripped, so we had to keep the doors closed to keep mosquitoes out. The air conditioner was powerful, but it is in the tiny bedroom and blows an icy wind straight onto the bed...no way to have it on and not lie in an arctic gale. That really bothered me...I had to hang a wind baffle. And because there is no A/C in the living area, which is where the only other bed is, our teen was too hot at night.

Hot water is plentiful by mid-day but there is none in the mornings. I take it the water heater is turned off last thing at night. So to wash morning dishes you have to boil your own water. Heavens to Betsey. Surely unlimited hot water is a base expectation at a luxury beach resort?

In spite of having three persons in the cottage and using the second bed, we only ever got two sets of towels. Go figga. The housekeeping crew was wonderful, but they missed the towel count every time.

On a more serious note, one night I was on the dock peering at the fish underneath. I stepped to the edge, and thanks to a completely loose board, was catapulted into the water. Happily, I missed the rocks, and was able to stay upright enough not to bang my head on the dock as I fell. But when I pointed out the nail-less board to management, they looked confused. Every day I checked and the board was just put back in place, never nailed down. What a hazard! Incredulous, I took the board out every night...it was always put back in the morning. But never secured. Someone is going to sue the pants off these guys one day.

Personally, I did not care for the Sorobon. I like to dive and explore, so we left the hotel daily in our rental truck to do just that. I love to snorkel, but found the long walk out to the interesting channel in the middle of the bay tiresome. I much preferred the condos and beaches in town, with full kitchens, more space, and reefs right off the rocky beaches.

My impression of the Sorobon is that it is run by kindly and well meaning persons who have no idea how to run a beach hotel, let alone a luxury beach hotel. It is a great place if you want a perfect beach, and have no ambitions beyond relaxing on a chaise with umbrella drinks. You can't beat it for that.

Room Tip: Rooms #22 and over are a bit more quiet. You MUST take mosquito repellant, shampoo and dishwashing g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank westernwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Bonaire after a wonderful week of snorkeling and windsurfing. We booked our stay at Sorobon Beach Resort through Ann Phelan at Caribbean Wind & Sun Vacations. Ann also arranged our truck rental through Budget, two trips on the Woodwind, and windsurfing gear rental at Jibe City, and answered numerous questions in the months leading up to our trip. We highly recommend her services to make your trip run smoothly.

The Sorobon Beach Resort was the most beautiful spot on the island, a tropical oasis amidst the otherwise dry desert-like terrain. It’s the ideal location for windsurfers, snorkelers, and those who just want to lounge on the beach. Divers might be happier on the other side of the island in and around Kralendijk closer to dive sites. Ann picked what we felt was one of the best “chalets” for us, #25, with privacy, lovely gardens, a beautiful view of the bay, and only steps from the beach and the amazing turquoise water. The chalets are simple but very comfortable, with AC in the bedroom, a safe, a basic kitchen, and dining and sitting area. We loved having breakfast on our terrace each morning accompanied by hummingbirds, butterflies, yellow sugar birds, geckos, and an occasional iguana. Then we’d walk next door to Jibe City for a few hours of windsurfing or head out for some snorkeling. When we needed a break from the sun, we’d come back for lunch and a siesta under the thatched-roof palapas on the beach. There was never any problem getting chairs on the beach, even though the resort appeared to be full. Most of the guests were Dutch, with very few Americans, and several multi-generational family groups, with grandparents, parents, and young children. On the days cruise ships were in port, the crowd seemed to be mostly over at Bonaire Windsurf Place with only a few at Sorobon.

We only ate one breakfast and one dinner in the resort’s open-air restaurant; both meals were good but in our opinion a bit expensive, and with two kids in college, our budget is limited. We shopped at the new grocery store in town and made most of our breakfasts and lunches in our chalet and went out for several dinners in town (Cactus Blue, Plazita Limena, and Paradise Moon, all very good). It’s only a 10- to 15-minute drive into town but watch out for donkeys and goats in the road on your way back from town at night!

For early risers, the sunrises over beautiful Lac Bay are definitely worth getting up for. We also enjoyed sitting out on the beach at night under the stars, sipping rum punch and watching the full moon rise up over the bay. The Sorobon’s pier is a great place to watch young, future world champion freestyle windsurfers practicing their tricks at the end of the day. We also walked straight out from the pier for about 20 minutes for some awesome snorkeling along the reef.

Service at the resort was friendly and helpful, and everyone speaks English. We arrived on the island and 5:30 a.m. and were able to stow our luggage in the office and use the beach facilities until our room was ready, a little earlier than the 2:00 p.m. check-in time. Our room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels, and a very nice member of the grounds crew even came to trim some branches that were scraping the roof our chalet. The beach bar’s friendly waitstaff delivers drinks and lunch to your lounge chair if you desire.

Only two very minor disappointments: there were kayaks but no paddles (we were told they’d been stolen and new ones had been ordered) and there were no microwaves as advertised on the resort’s website.

We fell in love with the windsurfing on Lac Bay and the snorkeling around Bonaire. Compared with other islands, Bonaire is very relaxed and comfortable— no beach vendors hassling you to buy necklaces or drugs; no concerns about safety; easy driving, parking, and finding your way around; friendly, helpful people; very low key. We hope to come back someday soon and we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else but the Sorobon Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhipple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
4.2 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
80 reviews
4.5 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
609 reviews
6.7 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
4.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#8 of 22 in Kralendijk
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort

Address: Sorobon 10, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $143 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil and private surroundings. Brightest hue of turquoise in the Caribbean. Sunshine and warmth every day of the year. This is how you will remember the Sorobon Beach and Wellness Resort – 15 adorable bright blue chalets tucked in-between palm trees and lush gardens on the charming island of Bonaire. With a rich history of more than 25 years, the resort invites everyone who search for unrefined enjoyment in nature and unconditional love for serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorobon Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Sorobon Beach, Wellness & Windsurf Resort Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing