We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Port Bonaire”

Port Bonaire Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port Bonaire Resort
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved Port Bonaire”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

This was our first trip to the island and we loved Port Bonaire. The staff was friendly, the accomodations were great and the location was perfect.

We were close to the southern dive sites and an easy drive to downtown and the northern sites. Airport noise was never an issue and we actually liked the fact the we were across from the airport for our early departure flight.

After our first day, our fridge wasn't cooling quite cold enough and the management brought us a brand new refrigerator! Great Service!

The beds were comfy. Be prepared to bring all of your basic kitchen essentials, including salt, pepper and coffee filters. We did find it odd that the 2nd bathroom only included a sink and shower, but not a second toilet.

The pool was nice as was the "house" dive site, 18 Palms.

We'd stay again.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodations
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Riprory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
332 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Port Bonaire Resort was great. Yes it is across the street from the airport, but Bonaire has few flights each day and only once or twice did we hear a plane revving to take off.
The apartments w/kitchen are nicely kept, grounds well groomed, pool lovely, dock and diving facilities top drawer. There is no restaurant, but you are only 5 minutes from the nearest eatery.
Management and dive staff were totally accommodating Our package included a car which was appreciated and necessary for getting around! We would definately return. This was our first visit to Port Bonaire but our 6th visit to this sleepy little island. Don't miss the Donkey Safari tour nearby!

  • Liked — On the water, central location, nice facilities
  • Disliked — Minor airplane noises
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank snivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Port Bonaire this July, 2006. From the outside it is very well kept, and the grounds are very pretty. I found the inside charming, although the walls could use a picture or two. The kitchen was well equipped. We loved the pool area, and got in the habit of hanging out there after a day of snorkeling or diving, at about 4 or 5 pm for a few hours. It was just very peaceful and pretty, and there was some shade if you needed it. The staff was friendly, and the whole place just had a very comfortable feel to it. Housekeeping is normally every other day, which we actually prefer. You can snorkel or dive right off the property - there are ropes to follow that separate you from the boat channel. For snorkelers, Windsock is a quick snorkel away. We had been curious to see what the "airplane noise" would be like, but other than one plane landing and one plane taking off between about 4 and 6am, it was no biggie. You get to the point that you actually wait for them if you happen to be awake, and it happens very quickly, and then it's done. One night either the plane didn't come, or I must have slept through it. This would be a great place for a dive group, or anyone who might enjoy a more intimate low-key atmosphere than The Plaza Resort nearby. Truly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Liked — Just a very low-key, comfortable place, and loved hanging out at the pool
  • Disliked — Not an easy walk to town
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be put off by proximity to the airport
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anatnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in spring 2003. I would not return primarily because the airplane noise is horrible at 4:00 am. The staff was nice and we had no problems with our room. The path to the adjoining hotel needs light at night as it really is quite hazardous. The pool was well kept and my son and I enjoyed fishing from the dock.

Helpful?
6 Thank WATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 6, 2004

I have been there in November 2003. On the outside the apartments looks great, directly at see. The swimming pool in your backyard is good and quiet. The garden well maintained. The staff is very friendly. But in the inside of the apartment almost everything was broke or broke down during our stay. The toaster, the oven, the Venetian blinds where all broke. The airco didn t work well. The doors to the terrace where very difficult to open and the handle from the terrace door in the bedroom was missing. The freezer had so much ice that it could not be opened.3 TV s are a luxury, if they would work and one didn t. The sofa in the living room can be turned into a bed, but you won t be lying very well. The moisture has affected the kitchen en makes every cupboard and wardrobe smell. The dishwasher smelt and water was standing in it; we did not even dared to use it. Everything looks worn. This is just a part of the long list I could make. We weren t the only one with problems. We talked to someone else; she had also a long list of things that didn t work.We had a great time on Bonaire, but Port Bonaire really disappointed us. We thought to have booked a luxuries apartment and on the outside it looks that way. And then there are the things that are represented wrong. One bedroom supposed to have two twin beds, they where normal size. Our tickets said someone from the hotel would meet us at the airport. Nobody came, until we called the reception. On there website and our tickets it says you have to check in at the hotel Plaza, but that way you have to walk a long way with your luggage. Port is just on the other side of the road. There is a small reception on Port it self, only open on office hours. The walking path to Plaza is a dirt road next to the water without light. Don t go there at night.The staffs are friendly, but don t expect immediate action even when it is really necessary. Reception may not always answer the phone and maintenance will let you wait even with an emergency.Unless the renovated the complete apartment, I won t recommend going to Port Bonaire.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.8 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
BnBBonaire
BnBBonaire
#15 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
2.1 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Bonaire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Bonaire Resort

Property: Port Bonaire Resort
Address: c/o Plaza Resort Bonaire | J.A. Abraham Blvd. 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Bonaire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Port Bonaire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Port Bonaire Resort Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing