We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Bonaire!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
NY
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay in Bonaire!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Bonaire Oceanfront apartments for a week. The apartments have everything you need for a wonderful stay in Bonaire! They have a beautiful view of the water and a great pool. The location was perfect! The apartments are just a short walk along the waterfront into town. There is a dive shop on site which makes getting your dive gear very easy. Lastly, the Sunrentals team was amazing! They helped with everything we needed to get ready for our stay. We loved Bonaire and will surely be back in the future! We definitely will use Sunrentals again when we return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nykrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
43
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here at lest ten times over the past several years. It has become progressively better over this time.

This is not a five star hotel. Never will be.

What it is is a conveniently located moderately priced lodging that is managed by a fairly responsive staff. There is a well maintained pool on site. It is oceanfront, with a small street between the apartments and the water. Many restaurants and shopping are within an easy walk. There is an excellent dive shop on site. The housekeeping staff is very efficient.

The cons are the parking, when all of the units are rented. There simply are not enough spaces for all of the units plus the dive shop. Also the wireless internet is hit and miss. At times it worked great and other times it was completely out until the office opened and they manually reset the router. If you absolutely need internet access, plan for a backup source.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank diverdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a pleasant time on Bonaire last week. The accommodations were what we expected: basic and functional at an economical price. The one bedroom (of which there are 8, plus 4 two-bedrooms with two baths, plus the penthouse) with A/C was just what we needed, and the weekly price under $1,000 the two of us.

The office staff did a TERRIFIC job answering questions, making suggestions, dealing with our inquiries and ideas. They had good suggestions for a medical problem, and a luggage repair, and restaurants.

The location is wonderful: just north of town and a short walk to lots of great restaurants! Also, it's right on the water (although not much snorkeling there...see our review of the Marine park for the latest on shallow water snorkeling off the beach and Klein Bonaire).

We enjoyed the pool and deck. Parking was no problem. Most things worked in the apartment, although it's a bit weather-beaten. Here are some observations:

1. The apartment was clean and the housekeeping staff was diligent in keeping things clean and neat.
2. The A/C worked very well in the bedroom.
3. The TV's worked fine.
4. Wireless was great.
3. Most everything else in the apartment worked (refrigerator, microwave, etc.), although bits fell off now and again, such as a plastic cover inside the top of the refrigerator (broke in two pieces), and the handle on the rear security door lock, and the handle on the outside of the main gate (we put them back together).
4. The dishes and such could do with an upgrade, although they were quite functional.
5. Some of the appliances are a bit creaky, but worked ok.
6. Loved the bird chatter from next door!

We have a rental apartment of our own on the Atlantic Ocean beach in Delaware, USA, and until this year we had a rental villa on St. John, USVI, so we have some idea about what constitutes reasonable furnishings of a resort apartment. This one is quite basic in that regard.

All things considered, we had fun and recommend Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments. And, there are fabulous restaurants on Bonaire...we did a bunch of reviews on them, so check into At Sea, Ingredients, Chez Madeleine's, El Mundo (breakfast), It Rains Fishes, BobbieJan's next door (BBQ on weekends).

Website: www.sunoceanfront.com is useful and accurate. M&C

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are on the ground floor and have direct access to the pool; these also have heavy steel ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiesweareyoutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menan, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This review starts early this year (2013), my wife and I were scheduled to rent the penthouse in April. One week before being scheduled to leave my brother-in-law had to have an emergency heart operation. This required us to cancel at the last minute. Normally we would have lost our entire deposit, but Sunrentals were kind enough to allow us to apply 80% of our deposit to a future trip, which we did in November of this year. This was very kind of them. In terms of the Penthouse it was very nice. It really is a Penthouse. It is located within a five minute walk of downtown, which made eating out very easy. The walk along the water front is something we did every night including watching the evening sunset form the Penthouse. We enjoyed Bonaire very much. Sunrentals, and in-fact all of the people we dealt with in Bonaire were very nice. One thing Sunrentals recommended and we did for the trip in November was to buy trip insurance. Bonaire and Sunrentals is clearly a place I would travel to again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This isn't a review of Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments but of Cas Thomas, a small guest apartment attached to a private villa. It is rented and managed through the folks at SunRentals. For those interested, Sun Rentals offers a wide range of private rentals that are absolutely lovely.

First, let me start out by saying how helpful and nice the lady's at Sun Rentals were in getting everything together for us. Always very very nice and prompt in answering my no doubt annoying emails and accomodating with whatever we needed. Thanks Rianne and Bouke! Very wonderful job stocking the fridge in the full kitchen for us before we came! Thank you.

Cas Thomas' apartment is simple and relatively small but very cute and perfect for a couple. It sits attached to a larger villa that is unoccupied during your stay. While it is more of a "garden" apartment, it is literally 10 steps away from Bonaire's leeward beach and one of the best private seaside patios on the island! Also being "gardenside," the apartment allows guests to open the large and numerous plantaion shuttered windows to allow the refreshing tradewinds to come through the apartment--very nice indeed!

We are avid divers and have been to Bonaire many times. What we didn't expect was how nice we would find the diving directly in front of our Villa. It was so convenient to gear up on the patio, dive from the soft sandy beach right there, then get out, shower at the outside shower, and have a nice refreshing drink. Lather, rinse, repeat... very nice!

The shaded patio has several tables, lights, nice lounges and sofas, sun awnings for later in the day (keeps the sun out of your face), ceiling fans, dining and breakfast tables... hermit crabs, bananaquits and iguanas. What more could you need?

A+ for the friendly staff and wonderful place!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: This review relates to Cas Thomas apartment. Note, the 5-star rating for the "fitness center&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank no_probcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm not kidding when I say that you have the best views of Bonaire from the penthouse of this property. The balcony is gigantic, and you can see the expanse of the endless waters from every inch of the balcony. It could not have been a better view! The apartment is huge, well furnished and the air conditioner in the bedroom is very refreshing after a day out in the hot sun.

The service is also wonderful - the office staff at Sunrentals were very accommodating both from before the booking until we actually left. They answered all our questions and greeted us warmly when we arrived. It is in a great location - downtown is right down the street, there is access to a lot of restaurants and to grocery stores so you can cook when you don't feel like eating out. One small hitch was that the cleaning staff used one of our towels as a door mat to keep the water out when there was a heavy rain - we complained to the Sunrentals and they offered to clean it for us. It was a little disappointing that our personal belongings were used w/o our permission but she promised to instruct the cleaning staff - hope it will never happen again (-1 star for this).

All said and done, the place is great and the dive shop onsite is also wonderful! Rob was really pro-active with us and helped make our diving better. He spent some time in the water teaching us some tricks when he saw that we were carrying too much weights. The end result was great - my husband went down by almost 8 pounds and the diving experience was just brilliant. We rented a BCD and tanks from the dive shop and they were in great condition.

Room Tip: Get the pent house - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

First time using Sunrentals Bonaire. They were great and always prompt with replies to questions. Villa Topaz was just perfect for our needs and was just as advertised. We wanted someplace special to stay on our vacation as we were bringing our daughter and her husband and our two granddaughters to Bonaire for the first time. Villa Topaz was that special place. Our granddaughters loved the pool and it was hard to get them to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
1.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
963 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#10 of 21 in Kralendijk
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments

Property: Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments
Address: Kaya Grandi 65, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Rentals Bonaire has a very interesting package for your upcoming (dive) vacation on the Netherlands Antilles. Book now one of our pretty, just renovate sea-view apartments at our small scale resort Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments.Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments is located downtown Kralendijk the capital of Bonaire. Dive shop and office on premises and are open for all your questions and rentals from 8 to 5, dive tanks and dive locker are available 24/7.Our friendly staff will help you to book all your activities and is most willing to help you and for fill your needs.All 13 apartments have porches and oceanview and a spectacular view over the uninhabited island Klein Bonaire. Our Penthouse and apartments are just renovated.Jump from the pool into the Caribbean sea or take a water taxi in front of the apartments to bring you to Klein Bonaire. In the beautiful tropical garden lies a large and deep pool with nice lounge chairs. Your comfortable one- or two-bedroom apartment has an electronic safe, cable TV, rental phone, and WiFi.The kitchen is fully equipped and fitted with a microwave, blender and toaster and so on. Most bedrooms have twin beds. You can however ask for king-size. All bedrooms and most living rooms have A/C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Kralendijk
Bonaire Oceanfront Apartments Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing