We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveler rating
502
345
127
61
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
502
345
127
61
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drive thru pool bar the friday night bbq the reefs air station tank pickup free nitrox great diving manual transmission one bedroom apartment fish rental truck living area unlimited shore diving klein bonaire air nitrox unlimited air
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

I can not even began to say, how wonderful the team of dive masters that were with us. They divided us into groups of 8. Loved that they helped make sure our equipment was what we wanted. They would point out wildlife and use their slate to tell us what we were seeing. Would differently dive with them again

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kneegee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Our family of divers, including 2 dive masters, chose Buddy Dive to celebrate my husband’s birthday. There are many useful reviews here, so I’ll try to offer other points of interest.

First, the birds in the resort area were so refreshing to hear and see. There was a pair of hummingbirds regularly eating in the bush off my patio — just incredible!!

The diving on the Buddy Reef is truly surprisingly great. Perfect for night dives, as well. The BD dock is well equipped and spacious. We used and appreciated the wooden gear lockers - less hassles with our gear! The entry ladders were safe and protected from currents and waves. The dive boats had a separated loading space.

The dive boats were also very comfortable and roomy. While the dive staff was friendly and professional, there is a strong emphasis on divers doing their own work and buddies checking each other. I did notice a few of the boat staff double checking divers’ air tanks being turned on as they were about to giant stride into the water. A special shout out to Nikki and Diego for being awesome!! Our thanks to Martin and Augusto for helping us sort out some complications with our family’s trip package.

The underwater world far exceeded our expectations and the reefs are remarkably healthy. The conservation initiatives are ongoing and coral tree farming areas are just offshore at Buddy Dive, which was fantastic to observe!

The breakfast included in our package was excellent. It included fresh breads, sliced meats and cheese, fruit, yogurt and a table of hot items (sausage, bacon, pancakes, potato wedges, and grits or oatmeal). Our favorite was the omelette station!! The coffee was very bad, but there was several hot teas and juices to choose from.

The food for purchase was exceptionally expensive. The “nicest” restaurant had a perfect water front view, but wasn’t worth the food price. Their casual dining food tasted better — but it was also overly expensive.

We should have gone to the grocery store the first day for supplies. Eventually we went to a grocery market about 5 minutes away and the prices were very reasonable. Alcohol of all kinds was also sold there.

The inclusion of a truck for shore dives is a GREAT idea. Be prepared to buy their CDW insurance ($19.95/day) with its deductible of $565 for any issues. The alternative is to pay a $1,000 deposit — and receive warnings that most American insurance carriers won’t honor coverage for Bonaire because theft and vandalism is apparently a big deal. The trucks are adequate for shore diving. Some of them have a lot of damage and shredded interiors. They do an excellent job of keeping the paint jobs new and refreshed. Many trucks are manual transmission. Two of our friends had significant car engine troubles while driving around. You will be charged for assistance with their trucks.

Note that their waterfront restaurant, Blennies, is under construction, so our ocean front apartment had 7am wake up calls of hammering and sawing. We were in building 4xx. Buyer beware. They’re at least two months from being done. Additionally our dear housekeeper’s supply closet was right next to our bedroom, separated by a hollow thin wood door, with 1 inch open seam at the floor. Each morning, folks gathered to chat with her and the cart made lots of noise — so the couple of days we tried to “sleep in” were impossible with all the noise immediately outside our 1 bedroom ground floor apartment.

Some of our family stayed in apartment 209, it was excellent and had three balconies with good views. Two of them had great ocean views. The top floor had two large bedrooms with raised ceilings and nice bathrooms. The living room was open and spacious.

WiFi is intermittent and unreliable. I’d been assured it was dependably available and high speed. Not true. Unfortunately, I was supposed to teach one session of an online class one evening, and I had to cancel the class half way through.

You receive your bill the day before you leave. Allocate time to go through it. There was an assortment of over billing on our two rooms. Fortunately, they were quick to make the corrections - but the initial tallies were quite unsettling.

We were there for the New Years celebration and had a great time dancing under the tent and enjoying fireworks launched off the dock. We were so close!!

Regardless of the disappointments with the accommodations, the water life is abundant and pristine. I see why many people we talked with go back every year.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank celiafryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We signed up for the TEC REC instructor course at Buddy especially to be taught by Pepe! Pepe was both knowledgeable and educational. We have really enjoyed the course! It was serious material and fun at the same time! Want to become a Padi TEC REC instructor? We highly recommend Pepe!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Scubaconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

So the staff were so rude and Augusto needs to learn how to learn not to publicly chastize clients. We had muck sticks, nobody told us we could not have them, mine was even not out, my wife had hers, she uses it more as a balance and something to do with her hands. Any way they confiscated them and told us we could not get then till we depart. Augusto then chose to chastise me on the dock in front of other families about coral and how his DM vicky saw us poking coral. That is ridiculous since I actually am survey coral and currently writing a research paper on coral bleaching. Will never go back to them rude people

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank GlbalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

Six off us spent a week in early December at the resort it was a wonderful experience, every thing is geared for diving. The resort is first class from top tp bottom. The people are splendid and go out of their to make sure your trip is a success. The diving from the boats was excellent although we only did two of the six we booked with our package because we really liked the shore diving spots and the freedom to dive any time.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank stevenrQ416OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews