We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Service”
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Dive
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No Service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I went to Buddy Dive to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and were very disappointed with the service Buddy Dive offered. The only portion of the resort that had good quality service was the bar/restaurant. When we checked in the staff did not help us with our bags and we were on the third floor. We did not have a hand towel or a floor towel and had to request this of which we did not have actual "hand or foot" towel for more than half our stay. When we tried to get clean pool towels they did not have any. It seemed like towels were a shortage on the property, which seemed ridiculous. I had to continuously ask the front desk for a hair drier as they did not have enough for all the guests, which I did know ahead of time. One would have thought they could have delivered it when it became available but no, I had to pick it up. Since we were staying in the hotel style room we did not have wine glasses. I asked the bar for 2 wine glasses and they stated they did not have extras and we would have to ask housekeeping. The next morning I left a note for housekeeping for the glasses and did not receive them until late at night. Not so great when you are trying to celebrate your true anniversary at sunset. For a resort that promoted rental trucks, one would think that the front desk could help with directions, that would not be the case! The additional activities offered on the website and by staff when inquired prior to arriving were not available. We tried to rent bikes and go on a sunset cruise and the staff at the activity center had no idea who to suggest and had to ask around. The staff was accommodating in doing this but don't advertise that you offer these services when you don't. Because we thought the hotel offered these things we did not organize it ourselves prior to arriving and then were not able to rent bikes because they were not available on the island at this point. The dive staff was very friendly and definitely took their job seriously, which is very important. Some staff could have been better at pointing out marine life. I also would like to add that on all the dive boats I have ever been, Buddy Diver offered the least service for gear set up. And lastly, the morning we depart at 6:45AM, we head down to grab some breakfast for the ride. I was told I could not have a to go box and I must eat breakfast on the premises, really? It was the icing on the cake and summed up our entire experience. The pluses of Buddy Dive, they have close access to great dive sites, great view, the food was good and the accommodations were very clean. But since this is not a budget hotel, I would have expected some service and amenities! I would not return to Buddy Dive again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    288
    111
    52
    21
See reviews for
123
249
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are looking for a dive holiday Buddy Dive on Bonaire is the place to go to. With their easy tank drive through, nice house reef and dive friendly operation this is a great place to go to.

The rental pickup trucks are a little rough but functional. What rental car are you allowed to drive your car with your wet suit on.

The rooms are nice and are kept clean. Nothing fancy, but you spend most of your time in the water anyways

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well organized dive operation with beater pickup trucks available with your room. Rooms are clean. Food was just ok. Wifi slow and only available near the bar and the check in desk. Nice crew on the dive boats.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Rooms recently refurbished, very nice, especially bathrooms; same after we were moved.

Dive shop and dive operation extremely well run and organized; set up for convenience and efficiency.
Somewhat uncomfortable with the "everyone's gear just goes in this big open room" approach, but it seemed to work:
nothing went missing or was damaged when we kept our gear there for the week. The house reef is gorgeous and we dove here quite a bit. We did three boat dives and all were positive experiences on beautiful reefs off Klein Bonaire.

Front desk seemed at the hotel was always friendly and helpful, but seemed in a continual state of mild disarray: as expected, groups arrive all at once so it took awhile to check in even though we had downloaded forms from their web site and filled them out in advance. Then we had to go back to the front desk for keys to the upstairs rooms, back to the front desk to sign up for wireless, back to the front desk for bar soap, back to the front desk to retrieve the diver information and liability release forms that they'd kept that were actually needed at the dive shop...

Apparently there was a leak in the room below ours and had to move after a couple of days. However, they comped us four dinners to the Friday-night barbecue buffet which was lovely. Grounds and restaurants very nice. We were told wireless might not reach the room, but it did just fine in both rooms throughout our trip. The mosquitoes in the evening were plentiful and hungry: definitely bring insect repellent. We also had a few cockroaches appear during our stay, but apparently this is not uncommon wherever you go on the island (or in the tropics for that matter). We were inadvertently double-charged for rental of BCs and regulators for the week, so go through the bill carefully upon checkout. All-in-all we had a postive experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Located on a reef, this hotel is perfect for divers. Easy access to tanks for shore diving and a good dockside operation make this a must-stay place. Our condo was very nice and convenient. Thebreakfastbuffet was fantastic with beautiful water views. Some places take better care of their divers in the boat -- don't expect extra assistance on a Buddy boat, butFrancesca was a great dive gUide underwater -- she an find whatever is worth seeing.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lthoma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent last week at resort with husband and adult son. They got certified for open water diving with the help of a great teacher named Pasquel. I believe he made their whole experience much better! We would all recomend him! We had a nice 2 bedroom on the second floor. It was very clean. Housekeeping was very good and gave us extra towels and anything else we needed. Our room had a great view of the pool and ocean. I loved sitting out on our balcony. Our air conditioner in room made crazy noises all night and bed was a little hard but i may be to spoiled! I never said anything about air conditioner because everything else was so good that I did not want to complain!The included breakfast was good and we never had to wait. I loved all the fresh bread. We ate several meals at the beach bar and all were good. Yes it is a little expensive but so is most of the food on the island. If you expect fast service anywhere...you will be disappointed. You will have to adjust to island time. (which is very slow and not what we were used to but we adjusted and so will you). We ate at Four Seasons and loved the food and the service. It is on the edge of town and was recomended by front desk when I could not get table at place I wanted to go..Front desk was very helpful in making reservations for us and anything else we needed.We rented one of their trucks and had no problem with it. We rented dive and snorkle stuff and had no problems. The guys went on several boat dives and enjoyed them all.Everyone at the dive shop was very nice and always available to answer any questions we had. We will be going back. I did stay at The Divi Flamingo 5 years ago and it was ok but I liked Buddy more.

Room Tip: All different types of rooms. We liked second floor 2 bedroom with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnice2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just got back from a week of diving in Bonaire. The diving was very good and we enjoyed ourselves.
Buddy Dive is centrally located in Bonaire and makes diving easy. We were very happy with house reef and the resident turtle and tarpon that were always around. While shore diving in Bonaire we saw a lot of turtles, sea eels, sea slugs, rainbow parrotfish, midnight parrotfish, and the regular cast of characters. We were very happy to see a frogfish and even better we got to see a ray trifecta -- sting, spotted eagle, and yes, a manta. This was the highlight of the trip.
Here are the pros and cons for the resort:
Pros: Diving, diving, and more diving.
Location
Free Nitrox
House reef and 24 hours a day diving
Breakfast - simple, reliable, good variety, and included in the price
Gear lockers (except they were dark and damp, they could use lights and fans)
Drive thru tank pick up
Rental trucks - they've all seen better days but they did what we needed them to do
Cons: Restaurant -- food was mediocre and portions were small and expensive (a lunch of chicken fingers (3 very small pieces of chicken) and french fries is $13. The dinners we had only offered a "vegetable" that was a quiche-like blob, no other choice.
Service people -- some were nice, most were indifferent
House cleaning -- our lady did an o.k. job. There was a squished bug in the bathroom and a bottle top on the floor when we got there, and they were there when we left. Only one younger girl was very pleasant, and the rest were unfriendly. If you don't like your job or guests, find a new job.
Septic tank pumping -- there were 3 days we were near the dive shop when they were pumping the septic tanks and it was horrible. I know it has to be done, but do it early or late when nobody is around.
Boat Dives -- don't waste your money. You see just as much from shore as you do from the boats. Our first boat dive crew was useless. Second boat crew was much better. Consensus of our group was to skip boat dives

All in all we would go back and stay again. One last thing to mention about the resort is that the morning we headed home, we left for the airport at 4:30AM. The resort packed everybody a brown bagged breakfast to take with us. They didn't have to do that, and it was appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room off ground level so you can hang your gear off the balcony to help it dry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumby&PokeyDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
2.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
2.0 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Plaza Resort Bonaire
#7 of 21 in Kralendijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#8 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Property: Buddy Dive
Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buddy Dive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing