We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons Bonaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kralendijk
new york city
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons Bonaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Pros : Best scuba diving (80+ dives) and best scuba outfitters Toucan Diving at the Plaza Resort. Soooo many shore dive sites but must rent pick-up truck to haul tanks and equipment. Best restaurant Mona Lisa. Great sightseeing by car / moped from salt fields to national park. Vibe of island catering to tourist.

Cons : Mosquitos, bring bug spray. Hotel selections. We stayed at the Plaza Resort and was suprised by how old it looked. They are rennovating the grand suites, but staying in the jr suites I thought this is how the b/w movie stars of yesteryear lived. I work for a five star hotel in NYC and maybe in Bonaire standards, but not AAA or Forbes 5 star rating. Staff is great, but needs facelift.

Helpful?
1 Thank BklynFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    319
    160
    87
    68
See reviews for
152
358
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

We recently stayed at Plaza Resort for our fifth time - it's been two years since our last visit and everything was great! The staff was friendly and helpful, the resort itself was clean and welcoming, the diving and snorkeling were great and our room was perfect! We met great folks from all over and enjoyed the happy hours on the beach at the
Coconut Crash, room service, the beach barbecue and the always incredible beach and ocean! I would highly recommend the Plaza Resort to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wrightme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Va.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Have been staying at the Plaza for 9 years now for 12 stays. I and my group that I bring each year always looks forward to the next year. The Dive Shop is great, boats are clean and well kept and the Dive Team is top notch. Yes, hotels do have minor problems and it is not like any others don't. Hey!! its the caribbean, chill out. I've heard stories about the other resorts too.
My next trip is Oct of 2010. Asgar.... your great!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Plaza at least 10 times over the years and this was without a doubt our most disappointing stay ever. As previous reviewers have noted, the Plaza is undergoing much needed renovations, but the renovations are moving at a snail's pace. We were there spring 2008 and they seem to be working on the same 5 rooms they were working on then. We requested a one bedroom villa but were told upon check in that none were available and we were "upgraded" to a 2 bedroom villa. Sounds good, right? OK, it was nice having the extra room, but the room itself was an absolute dump. Both tubs were cracked, rust stains from the drains, moldy grout, thick calcification on the sink faucet head, no stopper for the bathroom sinks. The view was of the side of a ship because the 2BR is on the ground level while the 1BR is upstairs. The closet doors were so eroded you could barely open them, and the room was infested with ROACHES. My husband killed at least 10 while we were there. The dive shop is top notch and have always been responsive and helpful, as was the car rental. But they should have begun renovations 10 years ago. The picture on the web site is misleading as it shows the renovated rooms, not the old crummy ones. I hate this because this was always our favorite place to go on vacation but I am NOT staying in a roach motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubababies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCBScholts, director of sales & marketing at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
We regret to see that this guest experienced her stay in the manor she described in her review, although we do disagree with her statement regarding the speed of our renovations. Between May 2007 and March 2008 we refurbished 64 standard suites (room #’s 2001-2033 and 2101-2133), and between September and early December 2008 we refurbished three of our marina grand suites (rooms 3017, 3018, and 3019) as a test run for the renovations of all grand suites that started in May 2009.

We fully agree that guests should not have to worry about the condition or cleanliness of their room, which is why renovations are currently underway. Some of the villas certainly aren’t new and do require repair work. As renovations continue, I have instructed our staff to make an inventory on the exact state of each room and we will take the necessary actions to ensure our guests always enjoy their stay with us.

As we are situated in the Caribbean right on the water’s edge, we do have an active pest control action plan in place to fight against mosquitoes and other creatures. We feel badly that this guest dealt with bugs, but had she reported this to our front desk, immediate action would have been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kralendijk hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

This was our 6th stay at the Plaza, 7th to Bonaire. The Plaza is in the middle of much needed rennovations. We stayed in a one room Villa which is nice an roomy. Staff is helpful. Nice beach so if you are not a diver. Tipsy Seagull has a great "lobster night."

Toucan Divers are knowledgeable and helpful. 18th Plam is a very easy entry due to their beach.

Down site:
Dive shop is not close to the beach. Hauling dive gear can somewhat be a pain. Athough if you ask the dive shop they will bring your gear down to the site. Very close to the airport so you hear planes land at night coming in. Not often mind you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed there for the past two weeks and was so disappointed. I wished I had made other arrangements, but that's what you get sometimes when you leave it to the travel agent. The hotel makes you walk and carry your laundry and go pick it up at the front desk when it's done. The internet is unusable, virtually nonexistent, most of the staff is friendly but some of them are trainees and not so friendly. The hotel has a casino which has been closed for months. There is a large air conditioned room with a billiard table near the front desk (which is not air conditioned and hot as blazes) but they said the room with the pool table was privately owned and not to be used by guests. The room itself in the JR suites wasn't that bad, half the television channels are snowy, and the TV is rather smallish, the breakfast buffet is quasi American style but not really worth the 15 dollars you have to pay for by the day for a coupon at the front desk or 18 US dollars at the banana tree as it's called. I travel internationally quite often and for a tropical resort I was just unimpressed and in fact irritated by the unfriendly maids, no bellhop to help with the bags (and it's a LONG walk to the front desk or parking lot).

Overall it's a motel in hotel's clothing. Except you can't park near your room at this motel.

Just depressing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whofreakincarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCBScholts, director of sales & marketing at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Oct 27-09

We regret that this guest felt disappointed by their stay with us, but appreciate the feedback as it can only help us to improve and/or clear up any misunderstandings.

Bonaire is a destination that attracts 70,000-75,000 tourists per year. The atmosphere is usually very relaxed and informal. Plaza Resort Bonaire is a four star property that caters to a variety of guests, primarily Americans (mostly divers) and Dutch (mostly rest and relaxation seekers). Because we are not a typical business hotel, there are some limitations to the business services we provide.

One of the services our front desk offers is guest laundry. As we do not allow our bellhops to enter guest rooms when the guest is not present, we do require that guests drop off and pick up their laundry at the front desk. For those visitors that have walking/mobility difficulties, we are of course more than happy to pick up and deliver laundry directly to their room.


Internet access is another service we do provide, although we have been experiencing some challenges with our technical provider for the past few weeks, including reduced connectivity. To compensate for these difficulties, we are offering our guests complimentary internet access until these problems are solved. If this particular guest paid for the use of the internet, we would gladly reimburse him/her.

Our Arawak room houses a billiard table and is also used as a sitting area for our hotel guests (where they can make use of the wireless internet and complimentary coffee station). The sign on the door of this room states that the use of the room is for our hotel guests only and not for visitors from outside the resort, so there must have been some misunderstanding as to the privacy concerning this room. Guests are more than welcome to make themselves comfortable here.

Our televisions are a minimum 32 inches, a normal hotel standard. Had this guest reported the poor quality to our front desk, we would have taken action straight away.


We also have bellhop staff available at the front desk who can assist with luggage. One phone call to the front desk is all it would take.


Finally, our trainee staff are mostly from Dutch origin, so there may be a ‘cultural difference’ in how the different nationalities approach each other. That being said, we have discussed these remarks with the staff to ensure our guests always feel welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Plaza Resort is our favorite resort on our favorite Caribbean island. We come to Bonaire often to relax, dive, and enjoy great food with friendly people. The Plaza Resort rooms are very large, clean, and excellent value for the money. Toucan Diving is on site with diving for all skill levels. Their boats, and their staff are simply outstanding. Unlike many dive destination hotels, the Plaza is very family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaCaribbeanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#3 of 21 in Kralendijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
2.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 21 in Kralendijk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sorobon Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Bonaire

Property: Plaza Resort Bonaire
Address: J.A. Abraham Blvd 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort Bonaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoyment without limits, an all-inclusive vacation at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. This resort offers 126 spacious air conditioned oversized Suites, both Junior Suites and Grand Suites located either next to the Caribbean Sea or next to the marina laguna. Everything is included: from a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet in our restaurant with sea view to water sport activities, a diving school and a cozy beach bar. With the best beach on Bonaire and a beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing that will stop you from having a vacation to always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Hotel Bonaire
Plaza Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Resort Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing