We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Resort Bonaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Resort Bonaire
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spend two weeks at the resort from Feb. 8-21 and had a great time. The staff really worked hard to please us. The property is a little dated but they are trying to improve all the time. We stayed in the ocean front Grand suite that was amazing! The room is huge! We suggest because of the mosquitoes you need to keep the windows closed and that will help tremendously. Our windows didn't work well but the maintenance were good at trying to fix them. The food was good and had great salad bars. We tried to eat healthy and there were many options for us. I feel that the stay was a good value for your money. The all inclusive was great! Justin that worked with management in the restaurant was very helpful wanting to make sure we were enjoying the food. We are sorry we didn't get to say goodbye to him. He was great! We plan to return in the future.
Judy K

Room Tip: The grandsuites ocean front are very nice. Second floor near the beach volley ball court was also ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madrugadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your message. We are thankfull for your words. Nice to hear your stay was very satisfied and you liked our all inclusive concept! We would like to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

DIVING. The dive shop staff is wonderful and goes out of the way to help with your every need. However, we were not impressed with the layout for the diving activities. The dive shop is located at the far end of the lagoon. The larger boat that is typically used for the morning two-tank dives can't get under the bridge to get to the dive shop, so your gear is trucked around to the dock. The diver locker room is cramped and difficult for equipment access when multiple divers are trying to get to their equipment at the same time. Even though the resort prepositions air tanks at two points along the beach for beach dives, it is a long walk from the dive lockers with all your gear, especially your weights, to get to the access points. There are two points for walk-in, and both are difficult access through rough coral. There is one point for walk-in from a pier and down some steps. The steps are very slippery and require considerable care to avoid a fall.

FACILITIES/ROOMS. Our friends stayed in one of the premium suites, which have been completely renovated and are quite nice, and we stayed in a junior suite, which has had the bathroom renovated. In both the premium and juniors, the bathroom renovation includes an open end shower which, unfortunately, is too small, so be prepared for your shower mat to be soaked at the end of your shower. If you stay in an unrenovated room, lift some weights before your stay as you will need plenty of strength to slide the patio doors. We found the entire resort to be in a state of decay and disrepair, with numerous areas out of service. The plank walkways throughout the complex require that you keep a keen eye where you are walking as there are many areas where the planks are either rotten or are lifting. I've seen other reviews about all that they are doing to improve the resort, but we saw no ongoing renovation activities; just routine maintenance.

MAID SERVICE. The service for our junior suite was barely adequate. On one occasion the maid showed up when we we're getting ready to head to the dive shop. We asked her to return after we left, but she never came back. On two other occasions they didn't change out our towels so we had to call to have them brought in. The light in our closet burned out and I asked the maid to have it changed but that never happened.

ALL INCLUSIVE. If you want to eat a lot of mediocre-to-average food, and drink a lot of alcohol, it's a good deal. Meals are all buffet style. No variety to breakfasts. Lunch and dinner offer more variety, but none of the meals were memorable. The best part of the all inclusive is that they have plenty of free bottled water.

SERVICE STAFF. Other than the problems already identified with the maids we found all of the resort staff to be friendly, outgoing, and helpful. The restaurant staff is exceptional.

LATE CHECKOUT. Normal checkout time is 11:00 AM. Since our flight was not until 3:30 PM we asked for late checkout until 1:00. It wasn't a problem, but they charge $10 per hour, which was a new one on us.

Overall Comment. With the all inclusive, this resort would appeal for a budget conscious family, but you must take care to keep your children safe in the common areas. We did not find the resort particularly appealing for serious divers. This resort is either on the front end of a miraculous recovery, as demonstrated by the renovated premium rooms, or it is in the midst of a slow death. As divers we wouldn't stay there again unless they made drastic changes to the dive setup, and then only if all of the other renovations come to fruition as well. The resort does have a great beach area.

Room Tip: The only good rooms at the present time are the premiums.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your message. Thank you for your comments. As you know and maybe saw, our resort is in a renovation right now so were trying our best to make this resort new and were noticing the details where we should work on. We always appreciate comments so we can work on it so we hope to see you again for a nice diving holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have been back from the Plaza Resort for 48 hrs and I'm ready to return based on what I saw first-hand, and conversations with the new owner of six months about his visions for the resort's future.

Prior to leaving for Bonaire, I did not research the Plaza Resort because we traveled as a group of 11 divers. Our group leaders chose the resort based on its location to the airport, quality dive operation, all-inclusive options, activities, and overall convenience. The group leaders had been at this same resort 15 years earlier when it was the only resort on the island and they saw large improvements in Bonaire overall and noticed expansion at the Plaza Resort.

First impression was that the staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and patient but the place seemed in need of a little TLC. There was an un-used bar area and we later found an un-used restaurant area (more on this later). Many of the fountains were not working but otherwise the plants and areas were clean but in need of updating. I was a little worried but grateful to escape the bitter winter up North so anything would be good.

Our room was AMAZING! We had a Premium Suite on the marina side. Apparently the new owner has prioritized the renovations of room interiors over exteriors. When we opened the door everything was brand new! The layout was open, the designs simple and modern. The bathroom was spacious with a tub, shower, vanity and the traditional separate room for toilet, bidet, and 2nd sink. There was plenty of storage, a small frig, and a storage safe.

There was one active restaurant and one active beach bar. I don't know the whole story of why they stopped using both restaurants and both bars. I don't know whether it was over-capacity or some storm damaged them and they got accustomed to relying on just one. However, there are plans to re-open them both at some point. The lobby area and some rooms are separated by a bridge over the marina to a 2nd area with rooms, the beach, bar, and restaurant. The owner plans to sell the "mainland" side as condos and keep the other side as a resort week-to-week. There are grand renovation plans being worked out but no specific time frame was provided to our group.

Every night the new owner would work his way through the dining area and ask how guests if we were enjoying ourselves. He asked if we saw any problems or had any suggestions. Whenever we thought of something he'd pull out his iphone and jot down our suggestion or issue. His presence was readily felt as he was easily spotted walking around the resort, interacting with guests, and even joining in a little beach volleyball. He took us very seriously and wanted to be sure we had a good time.

The beaches are beautiful white sand and the house reef is a few yards out and teeming with a healthy variety of fish and wild life. The dive store would easily coordinate scuba tanks at convenient locations throughout the resort for shore dives. A quick note, a few folks in our group did do some shore diving. While there are MANY locations to choose from, some are tough with full Scuba gear and would be better for just snorkeling. My husband & I stuck to the boat for diving and the beach for snorkeling.

We came without our two children but saw a few families and I think we will be returning with the kids. There was a play area with swings, a wonderful pool area, and a few family-friendly amenities
.
I'm giving them a rating of 4 stars based on what they are like right now and the encouraging plans for the future. I feel a rating of 5 stars should be reserved for when they are fully renovated. I'd be glad to return and see them again after renovations.

Room Tip: The premium suites on the Marina side are great for the diving crowd. We were up to enjoy some warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Jennifer,

We are delighted seeing your great message about our resort. We appreciate your positive comments. We hope to welcome you soon again. Friendly Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is by far the best beach resort on Bonaire. Actually, it may be the only public beach resort on the calm west coast of Bonaire.
It seems like the resort is going through a transition phase. It is very large and has many large unused spaces. There were buildings of guest rooms that didn't even seems used.
They recently switched to an all-inclusive format which was super easy and friendly. With your wrist band, you just ask for any thing you want. All the food was only available in one restaurant located at the southern end of the resort. The beach bar was super easy and it seemed like every drink was part of the all-inclusive plan (they didn't carry any dark rums though).
Every staff member was very friendly, though sometimes forgetful and needed to be asked twice for something. It seemed like a large portion of the staff were from the Netherlands orginally and speak Dutch along with some English.
The pool was very family friendly and the beach was nice and large for Bonaire. The waters offshore offered the best snorkeling on the west coast of Bonaire with lots of coral heads and marine life especially as you snorkel south along rocks and the old pier.
With a marina behind the guest rooms, there can be a mosquito problem at night and in the morning, especially if it has rain or there is no wind.
The restaurant only offers buffet for each meal as part of the all-inclusive plan. They did a good job of providing variety and changing daily menus, except at breakfast. I'd say the food quality was average. The main negative for the coffee drinking crowd is they only have one coffee machine and there is a long line every morning.
We thought being near the airport would be very noisy, but we rarely every heard the planes.
As for the guest rooms, I'd go with the highest quality waterfront room available. And request upstairs to avoid the mosquitos. The mattresses were quite hard and the pillows were horrible.

Room Tip: You definitely want an upstairs, waterfront room to avoid mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your message. We are very thankful for your nice words in your message. We are currently having a big renovation that's why you're right seeing places which were empty or not occupied. We are busy nowadays to fill them up with new facilities. See you again at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. Kindly Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

At first time, we read some regular old reviews and friends from the Island told us that the hotel had bad times, but we can confirm right now, that the hotel is spectacular and the service is #1, everyone work there to make your stay as good as it can be.

This hotel have everything you need to stay and don’t go anywhere else, but if you want to know the town rent a bike or a scouter (even walk is very close) and do the trip, you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: The hotel beach is wide so any room you choose will be close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio_Serrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive message about Plaza Beach Resort. We are thankful that you as our new guests seeing our resort full of new facilities and great service as important marks. Feel free to post photos photos of your holiday to our facebook page. Spread the Plaza Beach love with our other followers. Friendly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Location: Great for shore diving when you get down to 60 feet. Coral is mostly dead in the shallows, reminding me of Punta Cana. Dive staff friendly and helpful. Great boat dives, reasonable priced

Rooms: Large and roomy if you get a junior sweet, however, rooms full of mosquitoes and areas of the property, has a smell of raw sewage, especially in the 3000 series rooms.

Food: mediocre at best. Plain and overcooked, however most all inclusive resorts have buffets that consist of the same mass produced tasteless menu.

Price : Average at best would look elsewhere for better value.
Service: nice and friendly staff but property needs work.

conclusion: this is not a four star resort, 3 at the best, I would give it maybe based on diving and size of rooms 2.5. Needs work and improved menu.

Room Tip: chose the junior suits 2000 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejs1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for message. Thank you for the comments. Unfortunately you hadn't a satisfied stay. Comments and ideas are always welcome so we will gather this. We are currently in a renovation period so your comments will be used and improvements will take place. Kindly Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Did a lot of research prior to making reservations for a dive trip to Bonaire. Narrowed the search to three then selected Plaza Resort. Having read every review available several times over I was a little unsettled but decided the advertised packages fit what I was most looking for and first hand reports by close friends of other venues didn't overwhelm me. I am of the opinion that those who have complained probably wouldn't have been happy anywhere and would find something to complain about no matter what. Arriving late in the evening we had no problem checking in quickly, getting to our room and unpacked. We stayed in a suite with ocean view on the first floor. The room was spacious, clean, a/c was good and the shower hot. Plenty of towels, a patio and it was very quiet...although the resort was full. If you're expecting gourmet meals this is not the place, but if you want a wide choice of options at all meals the food was filling, varied, and service good. No complaints. Afternoon cocktail hour was relaxing and plentiful. The dive shop is not overwhelming but they have the basic needs, equipment, and facilities. The dive crew from boat captains to dive masters were attentive, jovial and willing to help anyone needing assistance. The dive sites were excellent...we dove the Salt Pier, a wreck, several reefs and many beach dives. Beach diving right from the hotel is excellent...out from the restaurant is best. One recommendation is that if you plan to rent a truck, car, bicycle or any other means of transportation do it before arrival...after you get there is too late!

Room Tip: We had a grand suite on the ocean side...no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Resort Bonaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your message. We are very thankful for your positive words in your message about Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. Visit our facebook page with all kind of new information and photos. We hope to welcome you soon again. Kindly Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.9 mi away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
603 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#15 of 22 in Kralendijk
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Bonaire

Address: J.A. Abraham Blvd 80, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kralendijk
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $295 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort Bonaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoyment without limits, an all-inclusive vacation at Plaza Beach Resort Bonaire. This resort offers 126 spacious air conditioned oversized Suites, both Junior Suites and Grand Suites located either next to the Caribbean Sea or next to the marina laguna. Everything is included: from a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet in our restaurant with sea view to water sport activities, a diving school and a cozy beach bar. With the best beach on Bonaire and a beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing that will stop you from having a vacation to always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Plaza Resort Bonaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort Bonaire Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Hotel Bonaire
Plaza Hotel Kralendijk
Plaza Resort Bonaire Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing